We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food! Reasonable!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hungry Tarpon

Hungry Tarpon
Ranked #21 of 91 Restaurants in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 5 - USD 35
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In the Florida Keys you'll find this old Keys-style marina and fish shack "somewhere on A1A." A true conch atmosphere with many tasty delights, here in this Florida Keys restaurant you'll find yourself indulged in the Caribbean-inspired cuisine, the compassionate people and old Keys tranquility that is the Hungry Tarpon restaurant in Islamorada. The building has been standing since 1947 and with a home like Robbie's of Islamorada, plus a fascinating history, it all makes the Hungry Tarpon a part of the tradition since 1976. Enjoy dining on our bayside deck with tiki torches lighting up the night. Relax with friends over our fabulous appetizers and watch the boats come and go. Stroll our open air shops then wander to our sandy beach, melt into one of our bayside lounge chairs and let the sea air wash away the rush of the day.
Linwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food! Reasonable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We came to feed the Tarpon and wound up feeding ourselves too! Several people recommended the HT, so we tried it. The fish tacos were outstanding! The conch soup was awesome! We were told breakfasts were good, so the next morning, we tried it. Try the "Purple Isle." It's crepes filled with lobster and eggs. Ummm! Of course there are the traditional fares. I loved the homemade biscuits w/sausage gravy too. You can sit outside under the trees or in the sun. It's beautiful no matter where you sit. The waitresses are excellent and the service is excellent too. We keep seeing the same people, day aftre day...it's that good.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    595
    317
    130
    62
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best dinner we had during our stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Our experience was a great one at Hungry Tarpon, we arrived around 7:00pm ordered the dinner special and appitizer which was all awesome, (we had eaten at the Lazy Days the night before and the food didn't measure up the the high price...at all). We went back for breakfast the next morning and had no complaints...there was enough food on each visit to share and be full!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank floridabeaches4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raynham, Ma
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Food Average to Poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

My husband and I ate at the Hungry Tarpon while on vacation. We were there (took a kayak tour) during the day and decided to return for dinner. The outdoor eating environment was pleasureable, but the food..........not so much. My husband had a fried fish sandwich. The fish was fresh, but average tasting. The french fries were good. I ordered fried shrimp, cole slaw, and french fries. The waitress brought over a fish sandwich for me, and immediately realized her mistake. She then returned with 3 very overdone fried shrimp and said. "This should hold you for a while." Later, she returned with 3 more shrimp cooked correctly and they were good, but not great. She should have returned with with 6 shrimp, instead of 3 more. I believe the first overcooked 3 shrimp may have been relaced in the fryer and cooked which resulted in the dark hard shrimp. I love Islarmorada, but we will never return to this establishment again. There are too many other good restaurants.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alley48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“How many times can you misplace an order?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

When to Hungry Tarpon last night. Got the best seat outdoors right by the water. Loved the birds, loved watching children feeing the birds, loved the lights in the trees, loved the whole place. Had a friendly waitress. Got our drinks and and looked forward to having a great meal. Wellllllllllll that was the key word to use . . . . .looking Forward . . . . . .everyone was getting served before us and the place was not at all busy. We kept hearing our waitress tell us that is was going to be soon. Finally we got her to go back for about the 10th time and she was told the kitchen couldn't find any order for us. So she ordered it again. And we waited. And she checked the kitchen and they didn't have any order. So she ordered it again. Do you see a pattern here? We asked several other waiters to check but they never came back. We asked the host to check. Finally we got our meal. By the way it wasn't a big meal nor anything difficult --- My husband had a fish basket and I had a salad and cup of soup. Guess what - - - they didn't bring the dressing with the salad. So I waited while we tried to flag down our waitress. Then I waited while my husband went to look for our waitress. Then I waited while another waitress and then the host went to get the dressing and then gave it to our waitress to bring to the table. By the time I got to eat my salad it was warm from sitting so long. You would think the manager or owner would have come to our table to say something. Our waitress did comp our food but it was way past saving the evening. Won't go back and suggest you go there for a drink and the view and skip ordering food unless you like waiting and waiting and waiting and - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kernersville, NC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“We went twice, once for lunch and the next day for breakfast.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We really enjoyed our stop at Robbie's which included feeding the tarpon and lunch at the Hungry Tarpon. I had the fried mahi tacos and my hubby had the fried shrimp tacos. Both were really good and fresh, served with beans and rice. Fun atmosphere with beautiful views right on the water. Went back the next morning for breakfast. I just had a belgian waffle with bacon, hubby had eggs, bacon. It was your basic, good breakfast but the view is just so pretty. Would definitely return.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hungry Tarpon also viewed

 
Islamorada, Florida Keys
Islamorada, Florida Keys
 

Been to Hungry Tarpon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing