We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ho-Ho-Ho and Bottle of Rum”

Key West First Legal Rum Distillery
Ranked #19 of 130 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Free Tour's at 1pm 3pm and 4pm and now Free MOJITO CLASS Monday thru Saturday at 4:30!Key wests first craft distillery in history for the Florida keys . Free rum tastings and tours are provided daily from 10pm-9pm Monday thru Sunday . Many types of rums being made while you watch and taste. Walk around the property to learn about key wests history. The building at 105 simonton st was the coca cola bottling plant from 1903 till 1983. Look at the 80 year old bottles found on site and touch them. Also offered is direct sale of Rum, souvineers, home , foods and more. Our rum is gluten free, vegan friendly and all natural no,preservatives and tasty!
Reviewed 7 November 2018

I thought I knew all there was to know about rum until I visited the Key West Rum Distillery. We signed up for the tour and tasting. Enjoyed the history lesson, tour of the small facility and bottling room. We tasted three rums which are produced locally. My favorite was the blonde rum! Of course you are able to purchase bottles there as well as apparel and small gifts. Tour lasted about 1-1 1/2 hours.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank dpedersen818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"shot glass"
in 55 reviews
"green coconut"
in 7 reviews
"free tasting"
in 7 reviews
"free tour"
in 12 reviews
"sugar cane"
in 6 reviews
"key lime"
in 15 reviews
"chef paul"
in 4 reviews
"distilling process"
in 4 reviews
"mojito making"
in 3 reviews
"vanilla rum"
in 3 reviews
"fun stop"
in 8 reviews
"tasting bar"
in 4 reviews
"fun experience"
in 8 reviews
"private tour"
in 6 reviews
"informative tour"
in 3 reviews
"duval street"
in 3 reviews
"distilled"
in 30 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Just happened to be passing and popped in out of curiosity. We normally drink Scottish whisky.
We got a talk about the distillery from a very enthusiastic and informative guy. We learnt a lot!
We opted for the shot glass and tasted pretty much everything. The ladies on the desk serving were great and so helpful. As I sit here writing this review I'm thoroughly enjoying a glass of Mad B**ch. We also bought some miniatures and a Mad B**ch baseball cap which I love. I'd definitely recommend a visit to this place..... for adults. Kids would be bored.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank barbaravR8412NN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

The Groupon was $17 for two which allowed us each a goody bag with rum and coke and two shot samples before the door. Friendly staff and fun experience!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank sassysaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

Great place to check out! Cool to learn about rum as well as taste the different kinds of rum! The people there are very knowledgeable and fun! It's a great place to check out...I found myself checking it out on a rainy afternoon and was not disappointed!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Lindzard81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2018

This was a brief, friendly tour in one room, so for anyone who's not a fan of walking tours, this is your place! There was some fun history, and each tour includes one tasting (you can buy a glass for $11 to taste all of the rums). I'm not big on straight alcohol, but their spiced rum is amazing and I want to put it in all the things! Definitely worth the visit.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank bekahchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Key West First Legal Rum Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Key West First Legal Rum Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing