We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant”
Review of Turtle Kraals

Turtle Kraals
Ranked #119 of 468 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 25
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Authentic Key West Seafood and Sunset Restaurant, along the Waterfront. With Turtle Races every Monday, Wednesday and Friday at 7pm, the only cevicheria in Key West and a Cuban/Caribbean/Family-inspired menu with many items to share, Turtle Kraals exudes Key West charm. Enjoy the indoor 360-degree bar or catch a spectacular sunset from our infamous Tower Bar, overlooking Historic Key West Bight. Had a great day fishing? We'll cook your catch (fillets only please) for you! In the mood for a fun activity? Try your hand at our complimentary bocce courts.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Wonderful location, delicious food, friendly staff and the bocce ball was a nice touch. The fish tacos were great...I had blackened grouper...super tasty

Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean W, Manager at Turtle Kraals, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

We're glad you enjoyed your visit to Turtle Kraals. Our fish tacos are hands-down our best selling item on our menu and rightfully so; they're delicious! Come back and see us soon for another round!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 141 of 1,642 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Turtle Kraal's has a big indoor bar and huge restaurant at street level, but for someone mainly looking for a drink with a view of the Key West seaport, walk to the back and go upstairs to the covered but wide open Skytop bar. There are also tables and you can eat there too but I've never had the food. Don't know how good their oysters are, but Happy Hour menu (4-6:30 pm) says a dozen are $9.50

Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean W, Manager at Turtle Kraals, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write a review! We're glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope that you'll be back to try some of our great food options. The oysters are an outstanding deal for happy hour and are shucked fresh to order. They are generally from the gulf coast and are definitely a huge seller. We'll see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

I was eager to go here from trip advisor reviews and description.....good call. When we first walked by, I thought it was dark and dreary but then we found the upstairs deck and yeah, sunshine and water view.....our server Chris was so friendly and went above and beyond to serve my request. We had grouper sandwich and a burger (I am the one who doesn't like seafood) and both were quite good and the fries were great. We enjoyed it so much, I just had to have a shirt and the selection offered made it hard to pick. It is a def return location if I ever make it back to Key West.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank havefunaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean W, Manager at Turtle Kraals, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

We're ecstatic that you had such a great time in our tower bar! We have congratulated Chris on his accolades from you. Thank you for stopping in and we sincerely hope you find yourself in Key West and at Turtle Kraals again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Went there today. I was parking the car and my wife went to the top deck to grab a drink. The bar tender wouldn’t serve her because he didn’t want kids upstairs. We’ve been there each of the last three years without issue. This year it’s a problem. It’s Easter week with lots of family. Never again turtle krap.

Thank bjulicher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean W, Manager at Turtle Kraals, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

We're sorry to hear that you had this experience. Kids are allowed upstairs but they aren't allowed at the bar itself. This is a house policy as the bar is too busy and too small. It seems that it might have been a miscommunication but we have spoken to the bartender about his potential delivery. We hope you will give us another shot next time you're in the Keys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We stopped three times this year on our visit to Key West. Twice for a snack of oysters on the half shell, on once for a meal. All three times we were seated quickly, and the food came out quickly. Only once did we notice that the service was off just a little, I think they may have been a little short on servers.

1  Thank pmt1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean W, Manager at Turtle Kraals, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Thank you for the great review! We're so glad to hear that you had the chance to visit us multiple times during your vacation and that glad that you had a great time during each visit. We go through a lot of oysters, especially during happy hour, so they are always fresh and delicious! We'll see you during your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Turtle Kraals also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Turtle Kraals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing