We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay with Friends”
Review of Atlantis House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantis House
Ranked #1 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Imagine visiting some old friends that invited you to stay with them at their place in Key West, and when you visit, they turn out to be the perfect hosts - warm, engaging, attentive, and really good cooks! That was what is was like for our group of four (two couples) on a recent stay with Steve and Kayla. Both suites were very comfortable, but our favorite space was the deck and pergola where we gathered for breakfast in the mornings, drinks in the evenings, and lots of relaxing in between. Based on the many great comments on Tripadvisor, we indulged in massages by Kayla (we were not disappointed - she is Very good) and had a fresh catch dinner with Steve and Kayla (fantastic - beautifully presented fresh local fish, and yes, the Key Lime pie is to die for!). Outside of staying at this special place, two other favorites recommended by Steve and Kayla were a great meal at Santiago's Bodega (great food, service at atmosphere in tapas style) and a windjammer sunset cruise. Highly, highly recommend Atlantis house!

Room Tip: Both suites are very comfortable. If both are available and you can swing it we'd recommend the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 302 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2012

Staying at Atlantis House was like staying at a favorite cousins house! The Kessler's were very warm and inviting. The guesthouse itself is beautiful, and serene. The rooms are very clean, with comfortable bed and a large bathroom. In the room there is a fridge, coffee maker, a sink and microwave. The location is superb as it is close to all the attractions in Key West. The bikes on site and the pool across the street are very convenient.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

this place is it. It isn't really a bed and breakfast btw, but a guesthouse. A beautiful guesthouse, complete with personality, tasteful decoration, high-end amenities, and hosts/owners who will always be near if you need anything but will also entirely respect your wish for privacy if that is your preference.
Looking at some of the comments related to the number 1 b&b in Key West, although people liked it, some were concerned about thin walls and a small jacuzzi. There will be no such comments under the Atlantis House. You do not hear life on the other side of the walls, and you could swim laps in the jacuzzi {ok-that might be a slight exaggeration}. You might hear the occasional rooster since this is Key West.
We stayed in the Master Suite for 6 nights. This is a large room with a really comfortable king sized bed, large flatscreen with decent speakers, a refrigerator large enough for beer and leftovers, a microwave and coffee maker and small sink. To go with the huge jacuzzi is a great shower, that does not leak onto the floor as I read in a review for a different highly rated place. The are 2 sinks widely separated. Turkish towels are provided, as are robes- high end as everything else here is.
Someone complained about being too far from Duval Street. We are within walking distance of everything on the Island pretty much- This from an old fat retired guy who normally walks only to the nearest refrigerator. Granted, I rediscovered a few leg muscles I forgot I had, but as much as I ate, and as well as I ate, the walking was a good thing. Bikes were available for no charge had we wished to use them.
We were shown the Garden Suite when we expressed curiosity- smaller than ours but also nice- a place to stick friends or family when we return.
The outside patio area is a great quiet place to read/sit- gardens, no bugs {at least in January}.
If you get a chance to try Kayla's key-lime pie, jump on that opportunity. Everyone on the island claims there's is the best. She makes no such claim, but it is.
I cannot imagine returning to Key west and staying anywhere else. The price is very reasonable- I have no suggestions to make re: possible improvements. They seem to have thought of everything.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank swampknot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Excellent stay!!! Steve and Kayla and son are great people. And lets not forget the boxer named nemo!!! Friendly, felt like home. The room was beautiful decorated. The outside pergola was beautiful as well. Love all the live plantings. Breakfast was great. The healthyest things we ate all weekend. The to die for key lime pie homemade was the best!!! The most amazing tropical flower arrangement which was for my husband 40th birthday, just gorgoerous. The bikes were great to get around with out trying to find parking. Can't say enough about what a great weekend we had. Will be back for a stay highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelfreak3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We went to Key west for four nigths and had our best vacation there. The altantis house is the best best guest house we can imagine. Its very close to the water and is also close to the best places in Key west. Furthermore you can take bikes to explore Key West. Thats the best way to come around and enjoy the beautiful island.
We stayed in the Garden suite. It was very nice. The decoration is very lovely and the room is very luxurious. We really loved it!
And the garden was amazing! We felt so welcome and loved to sit there. Also the pool with a view to the ocean was nice =)

We highly recommend Atlantis House!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.4 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 km away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#20 of 51 in Key West
1,378 reviews
2.1 km away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
1.5 km away
Speakeasy Inn
Speakeasy Inn
#16 of 77 in Key West
532 reviews
2.2 km away
Artist House
Artist House
#9 of 77 in Key West
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis House

Address: 1401 Atlantic Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-5003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $304 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis House is a romantic boutique guesthouse with only 2 suites along the beaches of Key West steps away from the Ocean and 1 block from the Key West Marine Park and White Street Pier. Perfect for honeymooners and anniversaries. The owners, Captain Steve and Kayla (LMT & NMT), offer snorkeling, eco-tours, sunset cruises, dolphin watch and fishing trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Atlantis House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis House Hotel Key West
Atlantis House Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing