We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Air conditioning!”
Review of Douglas House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Douglas House
Ranked #33 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2017

In stinking hot Key West the excellent ale conditioning was a godsend in this well equipped and centrally located property which adjoined the main thoroughfare of Key West friendly staff a pool etc gave the place a Caribbean feel

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnL9168HU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
There are newer reviews for Douglas House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 765 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2017

Rooms were very well equipped and big (I had option with sofa). We were there 4 people and we got the entire home for us 2 downstairs and 2 upstairs with separate entrance. Beautiful garden at the hotel with places where you can sit outside and just enjoy. It is walking distance to all attractions in Key West. Very friendly staff. I regret I have not stayed there longer.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

The staff was extremely helpful and called to let us know our room was ready and available for early check-in. We were in town visiting family that lives in the area and had planned for our puppy to stay with them at their house but we were running a little late for our snorkel excursion and decided to just leave here in the hotel room. We booked a villa/apartment style room and it was extremely spacious and the hotel staff was accommodating and let us pay a $25 pet fee for the day. Parking was free which is always a plus and we were right off Duval street and able to walk everywhere we needed to be. Great quiet location near lots of shops and restaurants. I visit Key West every few months or so and will definitely try to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

stayed here before a few years ago with my wife in the honeymoon room, loved it and this time stayed with 2 other family members in the room next to it which had a large balcony overlooking the pool area and enjoyed the pool the complimentary coffee and in a perfect area for the main duval street shopping and eating area.
There was one problem late at night but at no fault of the hotel, we all heard a couple arguing all night and didn't get the greatest of sleep but would not stop us from returning to this lovely hotel and such friendly staff, thankyou so much.

Room Tip: stayed in 2 different rooms here and were both great as i'm sure all the others are.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CanariesSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

Room #6: Stayed 2 nights for our 30th anniversary. Douglas House is in a great location, steps away from the quieter end of Duval St., walking distance to a lot of points of interest. We enjoyed our stay despite a few shortcomings.
PROS: great location, clean room/linens, nice and helpful staff, beautiful/quiet/calming pool area, nicely decorated room and sturdy bed, coffee/tea available in pool area, ice machine, mini kitchen in room with fridge/microwave/sink area, closets and hangers, extra pillows, never ran out of hot water in the shower, in room hair dryer, AC was good and cold. The bed is really firm. Without the extra pillows my shoulders were a little painful the next morning. Used the extra pillows and problem solved. Also, I did not have a sore back like I usually do with my iComfort bed at home. So I learned something here. Parking is free down the block. A premium perk if you know how tight parking is in Key West. We never moved the car the whole time we were there. Beautiful, boutique style hotel, tucked away from all the hubbub, but just steps away at the same time.
CONS: tiny bathroom, even tinier shower. If you are a bigger person, no way can you fit between the sink and shower stall to get in the shower. Ladies, it's quite difficult to shave your legs in there. Broken lamp switch on the bedside table. Had to use the plug to turn it off and on. Weak internet. Never did get the signal to work on my iPhone, but the laptop picked it up if I sat by the window. People upstairs were loud walkers...but not a huge annoyance because it really didn't interfere with us too much. Just be aware people will be above you in this room.
Overall, we really enjoyed the Douglas House and would stay there again in the future, but probably ask for a little bigger room. I did recommend this hotel to a friend with the same caveat.

Room Tip: Rooms on Amelia St side were very quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Beachbumelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasHouseKW, General Manager at Douglas House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Thank You for your review and referral! The lamp has been fixed. I am addressing the other issues as well. Make sure you call us to get personalized help with room selections and the best rates. Our website also has more selection and the best rates as well. Not all of our rooms are available thru 3rd parties.

We look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 km away
Speakeasy Inn
Speakeasy Inn
#7 of 77 in Key West
506 reviews
0.3 km away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,082 reviews
0.4 km away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#14 of 77 in Key West
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Wicker Guesthouse
Wicker Guesthouse
#54 of 77 in Key West
663 reviews
0.5 km away
Alexander Palms Court
Alexander Palms Court
#37 of 77 in Key West
455 reviews
0.3 km away
Southernmost Point Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Key West

Been to Douglas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas House

Address: 419 Amelia St, Key West, FL 33040-3120
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $190 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Douglas House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful, genuine Key West-style tropical oasis awaits you with this historic retreat nestled within the quiet, cultural district of Old Town. Luxurious, yet affordable accommodations range from deluxe rooms to comfortable suites and two bedroom/two bath condominiums. Amenities include heated pool, Free parking, Wi-Fi, coffee & tea daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Douglas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas House Hotel Key West
Douglas House Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing