We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunately, the resort is going downhill. We have stayed here numerous times and it seems to be in the decline.”
Review of Equator Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Equator Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unfortunately, the resort is going downhill. We have stayed here numerous times and it seems to be in the decline.”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Having stayed here several times, my partner and myself were disappointed this time around. The room was never mopped during our entire visit. We had to wash our feet before going to bed since the floor was so filthy.
The breakfast has been reduced to stale bagels.
Very rowdy and noisy guests prevented us from sleeping. When the management was contacted, we were told to call the police. No staff came to deal with the situation . We felt we were not treated very well this visi and the request for a 10% gratuity is ridiculous .

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank thomb902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    70
    25
    10
    7
See reviews for
1
164
45
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

OK place. Hopefully you probably won't spend a lot of time in your room. The othe guests are cordial and some are actually quite friendly.

I would only recommend as a second or third choice.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moussedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

The latest trip for me and my partner was December 2010. The new upper sun deck was just added, it's nice, a little secluded. The pool is not really small, but you can't do laps. I just get in the hot tub, switch to the pool to cool off, and back to hot tub. We've met some nice guys, some international travelers and there's always a mix of ages and singles/couples. The staff has always been very helpful and accommodating. The rooms and bathrooms are always clean, although we did have one issue with a smelly air conditioner. Of course, the larger King rooms have correspondingly nicer bathrooms.
I will say I really enjoy the happy hour- free drinks by the pool. It's great after a long day of vacationing, to come back to the resort, relax in/by the pool and have a drink or two while deciding where to do dinner. It seems almost all the guests do this, and it's fun to meet and talk with everybody. A tip- be careful about having an enthusiastic happy hour and then having a free bottle of wine with dinner, as some restaurants offer.
Breakfasts are generally good, I like a light breakfast. The offerings won't challenge restaurant fare, but if you'd like something more you can easily find it within two blocks' walk (I'd go to Island Joe's coffee shop). There's usually one hot item (some sort of egg dish, varies daily) plus fruit, yogurt, cereal, waffles and pancakes. The coffee is also good, and I'm picky.
We really enjoy Key West, and the Equator does enhance our stays there. It's not perfect, no place is. The staff is what makes us come back again.

Room Tip: King rooms have nicer and bigger bathrooms, better for couples. Room #27 is in the main building ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JC_chgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I have just returned from staying at the Equator Resort. I have stayed in Key West on a number of occasions in other gay properties, but after reading reviews on this site decided to try the Equator. I am so glad I did stay here. From the minute I checked in the staff were polite, friendly and helpful. The room was perfect, clean and tidy. There was a really nice atmosphere around the resort. I would definately recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chriswebb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland Park, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2011

My partner and I had such a nice stay the month prior we revisited the Equator again in Oct. The staff is always very friendly and helpful. Once again our stay was very enjoyable and relaxing at this nice resort. We got a chance to stay in a different room this time. Although the room was not as nice asour first visit, it was still a large, clean room. The various rooms we saw were all nice and people with different tastes will like each room for their own reasons. Bottom line is that its a great place to stay, nice location and one of our favorite guest houses in Key West.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 km away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
1,753 reviews
2.6 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 km away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,756 reviews
0.8 km away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,679 reviews
1.2 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Key West

Been to Equator Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equator Resort

Property: Equator Resort
Address: 822 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Key West
Price range (per night): $190 - $433
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all male - clothing optional Equator Resort in Key West meets all your needs and expectations to experience a relaxed and private escape. Beautifully designed and landscaped this high end post modern Caribbean resort invites our guest to enjoy a secure and exclusive all male experience. Offering numerous accommodations options ranging from island views, pool views with private balconies or our private owners suite all our rooms provide private baths. Included in each night stay are: Complimentary Continental Breakfast daily with fresh locally baked savory pastries, Complimentary Happy Hour daily with selections of frozen drinks, beer, wine and liquor options, Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the property and 9 complimentary adult male channels in each room. Only 3 blocks from Duval St and nestled in the heart of Historic Old Town Equator is the only choice for location, comfort and privacy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Equator Hotel Key West
Equator Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing