We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Pool Area”
Review of Westwinds Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westwinds Inn
Ranked #46 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My husband and I chose to stay at the Westwind Inn for our one night stay in Key West. Parking is limited, we were lucky enough to find a spot on the street, directly across from the Inn. If you are not so lucky, there are side streets, and parking garages nearby. The outside of the Inn is well maintained, with many trees, and plants. When we first arrived, I was a little worried that the Inn was going to be very loud, due to the fact that it is located on a somewhat busy street. Once we stepped inside, I realized I was wrong. After a quick check in, we made our way to our room. One of the unique things about this place is that the rooms are similar to individual cottages, which surround two pools. I cannot adequately put into words the beauty of this area. It felt like being in a tropical oasis, complete serenity! The area is completely enclosed with tropical trees, and plants, and beautiful flowers. The pool has a waterfall in the middle. The only downfall I see to the pool area would be for those that want to work on a tan, as the area is mostly all shaded. You will be able to catch some rays by moving your lounge chair around the pool area. The rooms are decorated with a beach cottage theme. Our room had a bed, flat screen, dresser, mini fridge, and a bathroom. The one downfall to the room was the bed. When we walked in we could see two indents in the mattress where many, many other guests have slept. It’s definitely time to invest in some new mattress! The breakfast was served poolside. It included muffins, Danishes, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, juices, coffee, and tea. The staff did a great job of keeping the area clean, and well stocked. We found the hotel to be a peaceful place to return to after a wild crazy night visiting Mallory Square, and attempting the Duval Crawl! If we make it back to Key West we will definitely be staying at the Westwind Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rweaver75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 312 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

Enjoyed the peace &t tranquility while only a short walk from the harbor boardwalk area and downtown. Breakfast is served in lovely surroundings but would have enjoyed more choices like yogurt & granola. Less emphasis on pastries and high carb items.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leahp995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Room (especially bathroom) could use a bit of updating. Tile floor in need of replacement. A/C very noisy and had to turn off at night. Location is great - easy walk to Mallory Square. Continental bkfst was very nice - some homemade pastries, cereal, bagels, fruit, coffee, juice. Pools are small but very clean - one is heated.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakeloverNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed at the Westwinds over the St Patricks day weekend. Our room was comfortable with a lovely high bed. The aircon was very noisey and remained switched off at night. We enjoyed breakfast out in the garden, luckily it was sunny. The overall ambience is one of tranquillity and we felt very relaxed staying there. The location was excellent for all the shops, bars and restaurants. We paid for parking on opur first day but managed to find a nearby "box" for the second. Our only comment would be the price, it really is too high for what you get.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Dave Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Booked two rooms relatively last minute over St Pats day AND spring break! We rode motorcycles down from Daytona bike week with another couple. Pleasantly surprised that we could park our bikes close to us (car parking more difficult I heard). Room nicely decorated and very clean. Two pools to use, we used the heated one and the luscious tropical foliage surrounding it made us feel like we were in our own little paradise. Continental breakfast in the am was good and it was nice to converse with some of the other guests. There is a bike rental store one block over. Also, the port where the catamaran from Ft Myers docks is just 1-2 blocks away. Nice walk over to Duval Street, but have to be a little careful as Eaton Street can be a busy street.

Room Tip: Room 120 affords a lot more privacy, has a little sit down area and kitchenette. Nice area outside r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kjnjplantcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 km away
Artist House on Fleming
Artist House on Fleming
#12 of 77 in Key West
893 reviews
0.2 km away
Island City House Hotel
Island City House Hotel
#15 of 77 in Key West
1,016 reviews
0.4 km away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Albury Court Hotel in Key West
0.2 km away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#33 of 77 in Key West
474 reviews
0.2 km away
Curry House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Key West

Been to Westwinds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwinds Inn

Address: 914 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040-6923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $214 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Westwinds Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting, tranquil compound, charming architecture, lush gardens - Historic seaport district of Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westwinds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwinds Key West Fl
Westwinds Hotel Key West
Key West Westwinds Inn
Key West West Winds
Westwinds Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing