We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,013)
Filter reviews
2,014 results
Traveller rating
1,813
151
31
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,813
151
31
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine bar eyebrow cottage wine room sunday jazz duval street the main house courtyard room glass of champagne master suite carriage house pool bar lush gardens hardwood floors each morning the cottages yogurt the location is perfect
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 2,014 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

Gardens hotel was everything we expected plus more. Everyone goes out of the way to make sure your stay is enjoyable. Breakfast was perfect, room was beyond nice and the bed was the most comfortable bed i have ever slept in at a hotel. Hotel grounds are beautiful. If you decide to stay at the gardens hotel you won't regret it. It is my favorite hotel I have ever stayed at.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Amie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2018

Love Best Hotel and a 5 star in a review! We are so happy, Amie, that you chose our Hotel! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018

Beautiful individual rooms, each of them with their own sun porch, with much attention for detail. The hotel is 1 minute walking distance to Duval street and the cultivated gardens isolate it from the hectic business of center town.

Room tip: Any room is excellent
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mobilwessbecher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2018

So happy to read you had a great visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

The Gardens Hotel in Key West is one of those places that make you feel special in every aspect of your stay. It begins the moment you arrive and are handed a glass of champagne and continues throughout your stay. There are many things that make The Gardens an exceptional place to stay while in Key West.....the lush vegetation & flowers, the various places around the property where you can sit and read a book, the lovely pool, the poolside bar, the close proximity to Duval St., but the most unusual is the wine room. Upon checking in, you are given a wine card. In the wine room, there are bottles of wine lined up these cases. You insert your wine card in the slot, choose a taste, a half or whole glass of wine, then press the button and the wine is dispensed into your glass! (Picture below)

My only two negatives about The Gardens Hotel are listed below:
1. The pool is surrounded by the guest quarters which have large porches with rocking chairs on them. So, if a guest whose room is near the pool and he comes out to smoke a cigar on the porch while you are relaxing in the pool, then you are forced to breathe cigar smoke, one of the most vile smells in the world.
2. The sheets are two small for the beds. Ours kept coming off all the time during the night. I would expect this at a cheap hotel, not at a five star hotel.

Despite these criticisms, I would definitely go back to The Gardens Hotel!!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SusanP63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2018

Thank you Susan for your comments! We appreciate all feed back. Key West was once the cigar rolling capitol of the world. Cigars are a love hate relationship, you either like them or hate them. If there is ever an issue we always speak to the cigar smoker who is always happy to accommodate and move to the garden areas. I remember speaking with housekeeping who had used queen sheets not king sheets. Our fault and my apologies. I am so happy to read you would return to stay with us! We look forward to hosting you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

My wife and I have been going to the Gardens Hotel for almost 20 years. We have never been disappointed. The rooms are luxurious and the bedding is wonderful. The grounds are one of a kind. We love to walk Key West during the day and in the afternoon retire to the pool which has a wonderful bar. The location is excellent and not far from anything you’d want to do in Key West. There is also a nice breakfast in the morning. When you arrive you’re greeted with a glass of champagne. The Gardens is really paradise. As I have said before —we initially went to the Gardens to see Key West—-now we go to Key West to stay at the Gardens. You won’t be disappointed.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kregertony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2018

Thank you for this review and for being a local! We really appreciate your loyalty!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

My husband and I tried a couple of other hotels on Simonton over the past 20 years, then landed at the Gardens and would never stay anywhere else. It's not really about the rooms (which are lovely), but the whole experience, from breakfast on the patio, to lunch in the garden, to drinks poolside, to jazz on Sundays. We enjoy the best of the island and then come "home" to our own piece of paradise. It's an intimate hotel, and Kate attracts a staff that is always welcoming and attentive.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank lbstarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2018

Thank you so much! Jazz Sundays are the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews