We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot in Key West!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Speakeasy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Speakeasy Inn
Ranked #7 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect spot in Key West!”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

After reading everyone's elses review of the Speakeasy, we knew we would not be disappointed- and we certainly weren't! This place is truly a gem in Key West- do NOT miss it!
I could not speak highly enough about the staff- they were all lovely, friendly, and made us feel like family from the get-go. The accomodations are comfortable, clean, and in a great location. We stayed in room 3A, and found it to be absolutely perfect! The bed is comfortable, the AC works great, the bathroom was clean (and ladies, there are hairdryers- DON'T make the mistake of packing one, like I did), and we so enjoyed the patio table and chairs outside our room.
The continental breakfast was delicious- great coffee, fresh-squeezed OJ, all sorts of breakfast breads and pastries (with tons of jams, peanut butter, cream cheese, butter, etc.), cereal, fruit and yogurt.
Of course, one of the best parts of our stay- the Rum bar! We really enjoyed the Dark & Stormy's, and there was always plenty of room for us at the bar or the front porch. Though the bar was always hopping, the music and noises were NEVER audible in our room, which was right behind it. This was a plus. A good time is ready for you right outside your door, but as soon as you shut the door to your room- peace and quiet.
Checking in and out was easy, breezy. I can't speak to parking, because we took the Key West Express from Fort Myers. But, if you are also traveling from that end of the island without a car- I would recommend taking a cab. We lugged our bags and hoofed it to the Inn, which was a bit of a haul! But, we stopped in a few shops and bars on the way, and that made it very doable. :)
Overall, a wonderful experience that me and my fiance (we got engaged on the trip!) will never forget. I highly recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    47
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
272
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I've stayed at the Speakeasy at least 6 times now. This is a wonderful spot in Key West for those who don't need to be in the thick of the bars and cruise ship port. Just far enough down Duval for a quieter experience. The innkeepers are very friendly and accommodating, and the rooms are comfy, well-appointed and very clean. Every room I ever rented has a kitchenette, a seating area and either a patio or balcony. Continental breakfast is plus, plus. Breads, fruit, cheese, hb eggs, yoghurt, fresh juice, fab coffee, etc. Rum Bar on site is a great way to end any evening, and never too loud too late.

Room Tip: There are pics online
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderer730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We couldn't have asked or wanted more!!!!! The staff was "OUTSTANDING". Our room was large, clean and inviting. When we arrived, we were greeted by Barb and John, our car was parked and we were welcomed as if we were family. We were greeted every morning with a delicious breakfast - a wonderful selection and everything was fresh . The location is perfect - we were able to walk everywhere but just a short distance from all the loud noise and traffic. At the end of the day, we enjoyed visiting with other guests at the bar. We will return to Key West because of our wonderful experience at Speakeasy and we will definitely stay there again. Some things to see are Hemingway's Home, Trumans White House and sunset at Mallory Square. ENJOY!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pvragel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We came to Key West in February for our honeymoon after getting married on Big Pine Key. From the minute we met Jill in the rum bar, to the moment we were hugging John goodbye three days later, we received the best service ever. I had contacted Barbara a few days earlier to get recommendations on renting bicycles, I told her we had a tour planned first thing the next morning. When we woke the first morning, John and Barbara prepared breakfast almost an hour early so we could eat before our tour! We had so much fun talking to John everyday and had the pleasure of meeting Ann in the Rum Bar. Great drinks and we got a discount for being guests! The Speakeasy is in a great location perfect for all Key West activities! Not only would we stay at the Speakeasy again, we cannot wait to go back! Thanks to Barbara, John, Ann, Jill and Bahama Bob for making our stay the best vacation ever!!!

Andrew and Kim Mason

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmfair01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, IN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Fantastic experience with John, Bob and the rest of the crew at Speakeasy Inn. Welcomed with open arms and treated in a first class manner to all our needs! Enjoyed Saturday evening chatting and having a great evening with John and my wife over a drink or two. Great breakfast, great service, clean rooms and all the amenities you will need for your stay in Key West. Oh, did I forget to mention the Rum Bar? Hmm,,,, 236 rums available when we checked in. I only tried a few, but the knowledge of Bob in picking a rum to exactly suit my tastes and type of drink was a feat I've not experienced. Great selection of rum and the ability of the world class bartender is worth the trip! Who needs the rest of Duval St. with Bob serving! I highly recommend this B & B for anyone! Seasoned or a first time visitor to Key West! The Speakeasy won't disappoint you! Thanks for the great stay! We'll be back!!

Room Tip: Room 1B was great. Quiet, away from the traffic of Duval, nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationMariner475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 km away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
1,613 reviews
0.2 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.2 km away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,679 reviews
3.1 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.8 km away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Speakeasy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speakeasy Inn

Property: Speakeasy Inn
Address: 1117 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-3156
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price range (per night): $145 - $432
Hotel Class:3 star — Speakeasy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Speakeasy Inn is a landmark building located in the Boutique and Gallery District of Duval Street where you can shop or walk two blocks to the beach or a short stroll to world-famous Sunset Celebrations in Mallory Square! This landmark's recent renovation has preserved the original 19th century spirit of Old Town Key West. The decor in these spacious and airy suites is tropical and features hand-crafted queen beds and tables made from original 1876 pine recovered from our recent renovation. It has been restored to perfection, just for your pleasure. Each one, two, or three bedroom unit has a feeling of true Key West ambiance. You'll find collectibles taken from treasure hunts on our tropical island paradise and Havana, Cuba. Guests who require special consideration will find "accessible" units available. Amenities include kitchenettes equipped with a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker, toaster, private bathrooms, a large screen HD T.V., free WiFi and outdoor seating areas. We also offer a complimentary continental breakfast, free samples of our famous Painkiller cocktail and discounts on drinks at The Rum Bar! The Speakeasy Inn was the home of Raul Vaquez, who was a cigar selector at the Gato cigar factory. Raul's true passion was rum-running between Key West and Cuba. It's in that spirit that our lobby features the Rum Bar open daily from 11am to 12pm (or later). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Speakeasy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speakeasy Inn And Rum Bar Hotel Key West
Speakeasy Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing