We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven with Rum!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Speakeasy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Speakeasy Inn
Ranked #7 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Westfield, IN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Heaven with Rum!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Fantastic experience with John, Bob and the rest of the crew at Speakeasy Inn. Welcomed with open arms and treated in a first class manner to all our needs! Enjoyed Saturday evening chatting and having a great evening with John and my wife over a drink or two. Great breakfast, great service, clean rooms and all the amenities you will need for your stay in Key West. Oh, did I forget to mention the Rum Bar? Hmm,,,, 236 rums available when we checked in. I only tried a few, but the knowledge of Bob in picking a rum to exactly suit my tastes and type of drink was a feat I've not experienced. Great selection of rum and the ability of the world class bartender is worth the trip! Who needs the rest of Duval St. with Bob serving! I highly recommend this B & B for anyone! Seasoned or a first time visitor to Key West! The Speakeasy won't disappoint you! Thanks for the great stay! We'll be back!!

Room Tip: Room 1B was great. Quiet, away from the traffic of Duval, nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationMariner475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    47
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
272
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Small Inn, 7 rooms, we stayed in 3A. ( 3 nights )
Cont. breakfast included. ( one of the better ones we've had )
Owner helped with parking, off street.
Has small bar, $1 off for guests, all the drinks we had were goooood!!
Nice weather, sat out on the front porch and do some people watching.
Right on Duval, 5min walk to the southermost point and 10/15 min walk to the main drag.
Nice walk through the back streets, have some nice homes.
No complaints at all, nice room (super clean), good prices, and really nice staff.
Highly recommanded!!!!! Had a great time with this adventure.
fyi - no pool

Room Tip: We saw different rooms in the Inn, we were given a tour and did not see a bad room, all looked great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papat65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We only enjoyed the Rum Bar on our visit here. I could not find it listed separately on Trip Advisor. The bartender here was thrilled to give us a lesson on rum flavor, age, and color. He then proceeded to make a lovely drink, a "pain killer" from scratch and with freshly grated nutmeg to garnish. The charming bar was welcoming to sit at, and there was homey outdoor seating as well. The attached bed n breakfast looked just as charming, but we did not stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4forNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Can't speak to the Inn, but the rum bar is fabulous. Been there twice and both times, we've had fantastic service from extremely knowledgeable bartenders. How many bars do you go to where you actually whip out your phone and start taking notes??? Both Bob and the other lady (whose name I forgot) explained all kinds of rums, we're up to many trivia questions on rum and were just nice enough to let us try different things and rattle off their favorites and recommendations so we could try to find some of these at home. The bar itself is intimate and comfortable with an impressive 200+ rums on the shelf. You can get other good drinks there too but I don't order wine in breweries... Try the mojito or the painkiller, especially if you've never had a "real" one before. Also try Bob's root juice just so you can say you did.

One more thing, when we got married several years ago in KW, we learned a tradition that you buy a round for anyone just married or getting married. Others did it for us and now we do it for others, as I consider it high in karma points, especially if a wedding party full of Marines. Don't think about it, just do it. Root juice all around and thanks for everything you do.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank careerm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Nice Bar, Great Bartendar, Excellent Drinks. This is a must!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mebo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 km away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
0.2 km away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
0.2 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
3.1 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.8 km away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Speakeasy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speakeasy Inn

Property: Speakeasy Inn
Address: 1117 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-3156
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price range (per night): $145 - $433
Hotel Class:3 star — Speakeasy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Speakeasy Inn is a landmark building located in the Boutique and Gallery District of Duval Street where you can shop or walk two blocks to the beach or a short stroll to world-famous Sunset Celebrations in Mallory Square! This landmark's recent renovation has preserved the original 19th century spirit of Old Town Key West. The decor in these spacious and airy suites is tropical and features hand-crafted queen beds and tables made from original 1876 pine recovered from our recent renovation. It has been restored to perfection, just for your pleasure. Each one, two, or three bedroom unit has a feeling of true Key West ambiance. You'll find collectibles taken from treasure hunts on our tropical island paradise and Havana, Cuba. Guests who require special consideration will find "accessible" units available. Amenities include kitchenettes equipped with a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker, toaster, private bathrooms, a large screen HD T.V., free WiFi and outdoor seating areas. We also offer a complimentary continental breakfast, free samples of our famous Painkiller cocktail and discounts on drinks at The Rum Bar! The Speakeasy Inn was the home of Raul Vaquez, who was a cigar selector at the Gato cigar factory. Raul's true passion was rum-running between Key West and Cuba. It's in that spirit that our lobby features the Rum Bar open daily from 11am to 12pm (or later). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Speakeasy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speakeasy Inn And Rum Bar Hotel Key West
Speakeasy Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing