We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bed bugs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel
Reviewed 24 March 2012

would give a zero star if there was!!! the room is shabby; a/c is quite noisy; and got bite by bed bugs! never go there again

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank milanesezju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 173 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and stayed at this motel and were so very disappointed...the bed had springs sticking up and because all the other places on Key West were full we had no choice to stay...we had to put our jackets and their towels on the bed so we could sleep on this bed. The tv cable keep going out and of course durring the best part of the show we watching to try to go to sleep by...not much sleep in this bed!! It was clean but a very plan room...we did like the shower though...do not go by the pics of the rooms on their web site...they are dated back to 2005 and are not acurate to what they look like now!!! I would not recommend you stay here even though the price is low...now we know why...you get what you pay for!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I stayed here when I had just moved to KW. I think its fantastic that it exists for young travelers on a small budget, in such an expensive paradise. If you are familiar with Hostels, you'll be good...if you've never stayed in a hostel, research what ur getting. Thank you, Sea Shell!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anjalnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My brother and I stayed here in one of the private rooms. I would definitely not return, and recommend staying elsewhere.

Pros:
- nice courtyard
- so-so location
- not totally filthy
- A/C was adequate (in January at night)
- in-room fridge

Cons:
- Very little social atmosphere - very surprising for a hostel in a vacation town.
- Tiny (twin size), ancient, hard beds.
- Alcohol is not permitted in the lovely courtyard, on pain of immediate eviction without refund (is this legal in FL?). Thus the courtyard is much much less pleasant for socializing than it otherwise would be. This was one of a whole list of petty, fascist "rules" guests are required to sign when checking in.
- Floor was kinda dirty - like it had been swept, but not mopped recently.
- No water cup provided.
- Overpriced ($145 including tax) for what you get.
- Super slow office staff.
- Office closes at 8pm.
- They don't answer their phone for reservation inquiries, nor do they return voicemails.
- Location is close to the boring end of Duval Street - the end w/ most of the entertainment is quite a hike.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ubernerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

the staff are very good, but there is very cold at night. We only have a thin bed sheet and the air conditioner is broken. So that I have a little fever.
And the location is very far away from the mallory square.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Weiling50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
3.9 km away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
2,376 reviews
2.7 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
3.2 km away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#44 of 51 in Key West
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.4 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.2 km away
NYAH Key West
NYAH Key West
#23 of 77 in Key West
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Key West

Been to Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel

Address: 718 South St, Key West, FL 33040-4770
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Key West
Price Range: $107 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Hotel Key West
Key West Youth Hostel And Seashell Motel
Key West Hostel
Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing