We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good option and friendly staff”
Review of Eden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eden House
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Our one night stay here was comfortable. The staff are nice and helpful. There is a small heated pool in the middle of property and a sun deck as well. Parking is a bit tough. The hotel has a handful of parking spots next door which wew occupied at all times. Breakfast is not included but you get 20 percent off at the next door Azur cafe which has really good breakfast and serves lunch and dinner as well.
The rooms are basic and on the smaller side but very clean.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiveAmused
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,011 - 1,015 of 1,784 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed in the apartment and it was a really lovely room with a balcony, plenty of space and great hot shower. The bigger rooms are more expensive so we comprimised and didnt stay as long! Spotlessly clean and all the amenities we could possibly need. Fantastic service, staff could not do enough to help us have a great stay. The grounds are really pretty with hammocks and decks to relax on or a small pool to take a dip in with some sun loungers. Great location, easy walking distance to duval street and mallory square. We tried the recommended restaurant next door, it was nice but expensive for what we got. I would advise walking down toward duval street for better value for money.
We really enjoyed our stay here and would love to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheldon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stayed in room 201 for three nights. Great room. Happy Hour every day at 4. Vaery helpful staff. Within walking distance of Duval Street.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I was really looking forward to this hotel after all the favorable reviews..perhaps I didn't research the actual room enough..we were in 205. This is a tiny room on the main balcony with no space to breathe and traffic of other guests passing all day and night in both front and back of room. I felt as if I was in a youth hostel and couldn't relax at all. There is no safe and the bathroom also tiny. We had no balcony space of our own and the wi fi didn't work in the room. All this would be fine if the room was cheap but we were spending the type of money we would have paid for 5 star accommodation and it just was not worth it. The room is clean however, and the location good. There is no food in the hotel and breakfast next door in the hotel restaurant was delicious but very pricey. The bike rentals are good but don't come to this hotel if you expect to walk everywhere as it is a bit far from the main drag. Finally, we found the staff cold and unfriendly. We were given advice about both snorkeling and restaurants which was inaccurate. When I suggested this to the girl on the desk, she was cold and snooty rather than apologetic which I again did not appreciate. This hotel rather spoilt an otherwise magical vacation in Florida. I do not recommend it and think they have become complacent because of previous good publicity. I actually am not sure I even believe that all previous reviews are genuine. Look for a small b&b in key west rather than Eden house.

Room Tip: Get a big room if you want to stay here with a balcony with swing seat if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ginnydorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edenhouse, Owner at Eden House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Hi Ginny,

I am very sorry that your time with us was so disappointing. For your
sake and ours, I wish you had taken advantage of our unhappy guest
policy. We have this policy because we want guests who want to be
here. Heads-in-the-beds and the almighty dollar has never been the
bottom line at the Eden House. For us, it is our guests having the
best time that they can possibly have. Be it time on the water,
finding some great dining (which Key West has more that it's share),
drinking ones self into next weeK or just relaxing on a hammock reading a
book. If guests want to be here this also makes our job easier and
more enjoyable.

Our reviews on Tripadvisor are from our guests good and bad. If
you had come to the front desk, gotten a refund and found accommodations
elsewhere on the island, we would have one less two star review and
you would have had a wonderful stay on our lovely island.

Sincerely,
Mike Eden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Had a chance to enjoy one of the apartment rooms at Eden House this past weekend. This place is absolutely incredible. The location is perfect, right in the heart of 'old town'. You can easily walk to Duval street or rent a bike from the hotel and explore all over the island. Eden House offers nice beach cruiser style bikes for rent and is one of the cheapest rentals on the island. The staff is super helpful. Ryan, Everett, Elizabeth- all top notch. Everett really helped us in a pinch during his graveyard shift (they even have someone at the front desk 24x7, which isn't always the case in a Key West hotel). Eden House is really quirky, eccentric and just plain cool. The grounds of the hotel are spectacular with tons of decks of multiple levels, hammocks for lounging, swings, chairs, a gazebo, hot tub, heated pool, sun deck, all surrounded by lush tropical shrubbery. Ooh and there's free happy hour everyday and they even give you an ice cold beer when you check in. Eden House truly embodies the spirit of Key West.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank noripcord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
4.7 km away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.5 km away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
714 reviews
5.9 km away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#7 of 51 in Key West
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.1 km away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,183 reviews
1.3 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Key West

Been to Eden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House

Address: 1015 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040-6962
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Key West
#2 Green Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $265 - $611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eden House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax In Old Town Key West! The Eden House's first priority has been to maintain a clean inn, offer a comfortable bed, reasonable rates and have a staff that cares. Next comes the heated pool and Jacuzzi, hammocks, porch swings, waterfalls, sundeck, free off-street parking, café and lush gardens.We will have a cold drink for you at check-in and our daily complimentary 'happy hour' is poolside. Then at 10 PM we will dim the lights and let you get a good nights rest. Our night staff will not put a mint on your pillow but they will walk the grounds to insure that you won't be disturbed. I have owned and managed the Eden House for 27 years. I like to think that my staff and me do the 'little' things that will make your stay in Key West a memorable one. Key West is notorious for it's nightlife. Whether it is a sunset sail, a snorkel or kayak trip or deep water and flats fishing, the waters of the Florida Keys are like no other. Just let us know when you want to go.Grab a good book and a drink and I'll see you in the hammock area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Eden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden House Hotel Key West
Eden Hotel Key West
Eden Key West
Eden House Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing