We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place at the end of the road”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The Reach is just a block away from the marker the preports to be at the southernmost point in the 48 states. The overseas highway to Key West is over 100 mils long from Florida City and is more commercial over most of its length than I expected it to be. However, it is worth the drive to get the sense of history and charm that has attracted many people to Key West over the years. The Reach is a nice, modern hotel on the south side of the old town area. The room we had was nice and had a balcony overlooking a courtyard. Most of the rooms have balconies. We enjoyed watching brown pelicans dive for fish while having dinner in the outside tables at the restaurant. There is a small pier that enhances the ocean experience.

Room Tip: The rooms with ocean views cost more. Most rooms have courtyard views. Avoid street or neighborhoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanttogotoall50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,431 - 2,435 of 3,734 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

We have stayed at The Reach on a number of occasions and have always been satisfied. This is not to say that this is the nicest place to stay in Key West. We love the location ( on the quiet end of Duval), and most of the staff are adequate. Some are even exemplary, like Ricardo. He recognizes us every year and goes out of his way to make sure our time at the pool is very comfortable (even teaching us how to make 'towel pillows'). He is to be commended.
But some of the wait staff look like they're moving fast, but accomplishing nothing. Either they're inefficient, or understaffed. Also, housekeeping is hit-or-miss. Some days the rooms are done by noon, some days by six. Some times you get turn-down service, and sometimes you don't (even when requested).
The suites are good sized and well laid out, but are somewhat tattered and worn. The carpets are stained and dingy. And this might seem trivial, but the toilet paper and tissues are like sand paper. Buy a couple of rolls at CVS when you first get here.
The restaurant, The Strip House, is a great place for a steak, but is so dark and dreary, it does the place an injustice. Overall, the Reach has always been a very nice place to stay, just don't expect it to be the Ritz. It is Key West, ya know.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Have to disagree with a recent review indicating this is not Waldorf quality. Our room was clean, modern and very comfortable with top-class amenities and comfortable beddings/linen. Staff was courteous and helpful - I think everyone including the cleaning staff greeted us when we encountered them. The location's great - within walking distance of the Duval Street area. Breakfast at the nearby Southernmost Beach Cafe is nice in the morning (and undoubtedly cheaper than the hotel, if you want to save a few dollars). I had seen on the show "The Best Thing I Ever Ate" that the restaurant associated with the hotel offers a 24-layer chocolate cake. While we didn't eat at the hotel, I did venture down there on Saturday night to see if I could get a slice of cake to go. They quickly packaged up a slice and it was divine (and huge!). My only complaint was that, for the life of us, we couldn't figure out how to turn on the in-room espresso maker (a cup of coffee would have been perfect accompaniment to the cake). The next morning at check-out we were told that the on-off switch was at the bottom back of the machine but I swear we looked there and didn't find it.

Room Tip: We didn't have a beach view but who looks out the window when they're sleeping anyhow?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My husband booked three nights at The Reach for my birthday week. We have been to Key West many times and love staying here. This experience has been the first one that we have regretted. The Reach is not Waldorf quality...please be aware when booking.

We arrived on my birthday after 4 pm and we were told our room wasn't ready. We waited an hour and a half for our "ocean view" room. This interrupted dinner plans but we took it in stride. When we finally got to our room, it was not an ocean view. It was a courtyard view and a small dot of the ocean was visable from the balcony. When we tried to inquire, "nothing" could be done. Again took it in stride. The room itself was not Waldorf quality...I've stayed at $89 a night places with better furnishings, linens, and toiletries.

Later on our first night, we would discover food smashed on the underside of one of our pillow cases and a broken alarm clock which took three visits from staff to fix/replace. One bellhop in particular was genuinely sorry and tried to help...other than that and a gentleman behind the counter who sent balloons and chocolates to our room to try and salvage my birthday evening, staff was sadly unresponsive at the front desk. It took three tries to get the front desk to answer the phone one one occasion. And we waited close to 45 mins to have a toothbrush delivered to the room.

We were also doubled charged for parking when checking out which had to be corrected as well. We ended up being given a very small credit for our troubles but at $500 a night (after tax and room charges, etc)...it did not matter much.

I am sad that my husbands very gracious and thoughtful efforts to pull out all of the stops and spare no expense for my birthday were so cheapened by our experience at The Reach. The location is gorgeous, the pool is beautiful and access to amenities and Ducal Street is great. Just beware that you do not get what you pay for at The Reach.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wanderunwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We arrived after a very early flight and were hopeful of an early check in. The reception staff were very accommodating and we got exactly what we wanted only having to wait a short while until our room was made ready.

The room was spacious, clean and well decorated. However it would have benefitted with some additional drawers or shelf space. We rather had to cram in what we'd brought for a five day stay which was a pity. There was sufficient hanging space, a room safe, fridge and a rather good espresso maker once we'd found the "on" switch.

The hotel had a pool and more than this its own private beach that was extremely well served by very responsive attendants who not only set you up with towels and parasol but brought along fruit, sorbet, and cool water during the day. We were particularly well served by Mark who cleaned our sunglasses and was a wealth of information on attractions, sights bars and restaurants.

The hotel is very well located being only a walk away from the lively night spots but far enough away to be not troubled by any noise apart from the waves lapping on the sea shore.

Overall all the hotel staff were great and helped us enjoy a relaxing time in Key West.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank OrionSouthEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 km away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.3 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
5.0 km away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
4.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
1.8 km away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Key West

Been to The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#11 Spa Hotel in Key West
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#18 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $405 - $1,002 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing