We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for millionaires” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great place for millionaires”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Have very mixed emotions about the place. The resort part is fantastic, beach, two pools, lovely towels, great service, I mean the works. It is best beach and pool in the whole island. The room however and treatment of hotel staff was different. The room I had was definitely the worst of the hotel options, clean but old chipped tiles and worn out furniture, uncomfortable bed but we still paid a lot..? Maybe cos I am not a millionaire but 1000+ dollars for 2 nights seems a lot, I either got a rubbish deal or am not thinking like a rich person :-)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrscatalano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,354
    1,681
    966
    504
    346
See reviews for
1,809
3,188
94
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,387)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Our annual Spring vacation took us back to Key West, this time to the Casa Marina. The hotel and property were impeccably maintained, well furnished, and very inviting. Our arrival and check-in was exactly what you'd expect from a Waldorf property: fast, courteous, and accurate.

We had a Flagler ocean view room. The room was of average size, especially considering the age of the property, and had a great view of the property and the Atlantic Ocean to the South. The furnishings are contemporary and the bedding is excellent. The mattress was very comfortable, even for my wife who is picky about mattresses. Each room is equipped with a Nespresso coffee maker which makes for a nice morning wake up. If you run out of the coffee capsules, a simple call to the front desk gets you all you need or want. My only non-stellar comment about the room is the lack of dresser/drawer space. The closet is ample, however, if you're staying for more than a weekend (our stay was 8 nights), you'll find yourself mostly living out of your suitcase(s). The single dresser in the room is mostly consumed by the in-room safe and refrigerator. Bathroom amenities were of very high quality. The hotel is quite and there is no "street noise."

The two (yep, 2) swimming pools are located between the hotel and the beach and are good-sized. Depth is from 3 - 4-1/2 feet. Each afternoon the waitstaff brings around a sample of the "drink of the day" from the bar and at about 2:00 PM a refreshing Popsicle-like treat, both complementary.

The restaurant and bar are located between the pools and the beach and are "open air" areas. The bar area was active most nights and some nights there is live entertainment. Food from the restaurant is available at the bar. The restaurant serves until about 10:00 PM and the bar has an additional light fare menu served until 11:00 PM. Food and drink prices are what you would expect at a high end property and an extremely desirable destination. The bar staff is courteous, professional, pleasant, and engaging (when they're not swamped making drinks). There is plentiful seating in and around the bar area with great views of the ocean. There is a large recreation/activity are that includes a beach volleyball net, beanbag toss, ping-pong table and various other complementary first-come first served amenities. (The hotel charges a flat $25.00 per night resort fee that includes internet access and the above mentioned amenities and others.) Barefoot Billy's is the resort's activities rental center where you can rent waverunners, bicycles, scooters, etc. as well as arrange water tours, para-sailing, etc.

Breakfast is available until11:00 AM and is served both inside and immediately outside the hotel. There is a typical resort menu as well as an available buffet. The buffet includes an omelet station, a wide assortment of pastries and fresh breads, the usual scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon and potatoes, lots of fresh fruit, cheeses and salami, and smoked salmon. I can't remember all the other items, but is short, it's extensive. The price is $25.00 per person for the buffet and menu items ranged from $12.00 - $19.00. The buffet includes your beverages (juices, coffee, tea, milk, etc.) Gratuities are additional.

The nearby (2 blocks) Reach Resort is also a Waldorf property and your room key gives you access (and charging privileges) at that resort as well. The excellent Strip House restaurant is located on the Reach property.

The property is located about 4-5 blocks off of the South end of Duval Street, the main attraction street in Key West. It's an easy walk. It's about a 1-1/2 mile walk from the hotel to the North end of Duval Street and Mallory Square, roughly a 45 minute casual walk. A cab ride to or from Mallory Square is about $11:00. Cab transportation to and from the airport is a flat $8.00 per person. With all the good food in Key West, we opted to walk most times, usually twice a day.

Checkout was simple and our bill was 100% accurate.

A quick note: There is no business center on the property. There are 2 kiosks where you can print boarding passes or briefly check internet mail, but there are no applications such as Word or Excel installed. (After all, you ARE on vacation!) Wireless internet access is available throughout the hotel,

It's not the cheapest place in town with rooms starting at about $299 per night the the peak time when we were there, but it's well worth it. In short, we'll be back.

Room Tip: The Flagler Ocean View Rooms are very nice and have excellent views, though there are no balconies o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MWTRVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andover, ma
Level Contributor
118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

My new daughter-in-law chose this hotel for her wedding reception and a good number of the wedding guests -- including my husband and I -- chose to stay here. The hotel is beautiful as a wedding venue and equally stunning for guests who love the beach and amenities of an upscale hotel. Views are stunning and rooms are well decorated and comfortable. Hotel service is excellent and staff is more than accommodating, helpful and friendly.

As for the reception, the room where it was hosted faced the beach, with exit and entrance onto to both the beach and patio and into the hotel. The room itself, the linens, the setup, etc., were extraordinary. The reception dinner was buffet, and the food absolutely wonderful. It could not have been better if served. Service was excellent. It was very elegant. I would definitely recommend it.

The beach is stunning and staff were quick to place lounge chairs on the beach for the convenience of the hotel's guests. Hotel staff served welcoming limeade to guests on the beach. Patios and bars were readily accessible, and the plantings and landscaping on both the beach side and street side of the hotel were beautiful.

The rooms were quiet and comfortable. Our room, which did not look over the beach, had windows on two sides of the room and, while the view was not extraordinary, the room was filled with light and very comfortable.

There were a few downsides. The first was the room was not ready for us when we tried to check in at 4:30 p.m. They did make accommodations for us, but at the time of check out, the credit committed did not appear on the bill. Additionally, we had a charge made for bike rentals that were not ours. We thought we resolved the credit issues at checkout, but it required a follow-up call, when we noticed that not all the credits had been made on our charge card bill. For two of the three afternoons we were there, the room was being cleaned in the late afternoon -- at the same time we were getting ready for a family dinner and the next night's rehearsal dinner. For our Saturday stay, we left at 3:00 p.m. in the afternoon and were not back into our room until very late, so I don't know when the room was actually cleaned.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barharborvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

My husband, son and I went Jet Skiing with English Tom and want to let you know what a blast we had. Tom stressed the rules and took excellent care of all of us. He even took us further out than usual since it was a calm and beautiful day. It's a must do at Key West! We loved every minute! The Raddatz Family from Lone Tree, CO

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaddatzFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012 via mobile

From check in our experience was far from what we were expecting. Check in was slow and uninviting. The staff didn't go out of there way to welcome us as guests and not once did anyone acknowledge my gold status with Hilton. Our room was not ready when we arrived, which we expected as we were early however it was after 4 PM before we were notified that we could complete check in. The room was nothing special and somewhat rundown. We joked while there that we were staying in the servants section of the hotel. I guess that is what we get for booking a standard room using Hilton Honors points; treated as second class guest. I could go on about other "misses with experience" but it really doesn't serve a purpose at this point. One positive was the outside hotel grounds and location was excellent.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank jb7200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.6 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.7 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 km away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.9 km away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
2.1 km away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040-4768
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#9 Spa Hotel in Key West
#14 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price range (per night): $466 - $896
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing