We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really, this is a "Resort"?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banana Bay Resort - Key West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
Ranked #50 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level Contributor
233 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Really, this is a "Resort"?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Finding reasonably priced rooms in Key West is a challenge at the best of times. I read all the reviews about Banana Bay on Trip Advisor before we booked, so I was sure I would not be surprised. Overall, what I read was pretty accurate. However, the beds, in particular are very old and uncomfortable. Their new television system (with old tvs) has lots of bugs in it still. Each time you turn on the tv you have to manually set the unit to channel 3 first. Also, one night the system went down completely and no-one could help since that night the desk was not staffed. Only a security guard was on duty and he was unable to address the problem. The 'resort' also has wireless internet but the signal was so weak we often lost connectivity. The breakfast was all breads and cereal and a small bowl of apples. The room was large. It was nice to have a balcony to take in the night air. However, it would have been great if it were possible to turn off the balcony light. It had to stay on all night as there are no switches in the rooms. As I said, finding a decent place in Key West is not always easy. Banana Bay is middle of the road and it's definitely not a "resort."

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the waterfront may have better internet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LikethetripFantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    241
    171
    104
    118
See reviews for
96
396
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Place was dated but the room was ok and the bed was clean. Bathroom was ok exempt that the water temperature in the shower would fluctuate from cold to scalding hot with no notice. Sink also didn't drain properly. Otherwise breakfast was simple but good. We took a cab to Duval st. which for the two of us was 10 bucks. Lastly make sure that the hotel charges you for the correct amount. When I got the bill I was overcharged for one of the nights. However after explaining that I was quoted a cheaper price the front desk corrected the problem and explained that they don't have access to notes from the booking. Overall a decent experience.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shyguy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

My friend and I booked a room here for last weekend. We found a deal online and even checked the website to get an idea of what the place looked like and it seemed like a cute little place to stay. We saw pictures of a nice beach area, giant chess, a nice hotel, and they even claimed to have a "tiki bar" by the pool. When we got there however, we were floored and almost in tears of how disgusting this place actually is. It looks like a cheap dirty motel, no giant chess, tiki bar has been closed for years, rooms are dirty (ours even had a giant hole in the wall), and a couple naked fat girls at the pool. Apparently because people complain so often, they wont let you cancel your reservation and charge you no matter what. Fortunately we got out of it and didn't have to stay here but it was a major hassle. We also found out some of the "beach" and "hotel" pictures that they use on their website are from a different beach! They do have a small beach but its right next to a boating dock so the waters too dirty to swim in or enjoy. This is probably one of the creepiest grossest places I have ever been to and I would not recommend it.

Room Tip: choose another hotel trust me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Megan796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timonium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Don't let the pictures on the Internet fool you; the pictures are about 15 years old. The rooms front to a dump pile, the carpet is dirty, the plantation shutters were broken, the tile on the lanai (if you want to call it that) were broken, chipped, and filthy! The grass cloth wallpaper in the room is frayed and tattered. It is very far from Old Town and Duvall Street. Thank goodness we booked through American Express. They credited our account and we stayed at the Truman Hotel - very nice!

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

This hotel "resort" had a room available at a Key West reasonable night. Seeing as this tript was for business I didn't use the pool or beach, but they looked fine.
As advertised it is very quiet being adults only, but my air conditionary could have drowned out a class of 3rd graders on a sugar high. The beds was extrememly comfortable, but the rooms are in serious need of renovation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sacnussem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 km away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#41 of 51 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
1.9 km away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
2.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West at The Keys Collection
0.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
2.5 km away
24 North Hotel
24 North Hotel
#34 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bay Resort - Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bay Resort - Key West

Property: Banana Bay Resort - Key West
Address: 2319 North Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-3835
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price range (per night): $278 - $391
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banana Bay Resort - Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-Story Hotel situated directly on the Gulf of Mexico in a tropical garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Banana Bay Resort - Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Resort - Key West Hotel Key West
Banana Bay Hotel Key West
Banana Bay Key West
Banana Bay Resort - Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing