We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Key West Trip”
Review of Silver Palms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Palms Inn
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Key West Trip”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This past week my father and I took a trip to Key West and stayed at the Silver Palms Inn - the hotel met all of our expectations (great service, great value, and great location). THX

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hudnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    582
    128
    22
    23
See reviews for
400
874
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Let me say our stay in general was nice. The room was clean with a balcony, a safe for valuables, microwave and refridgerater. Breakfast is provided but its mainly bagels and pastries,The pool is clean with a nice area to sit and enjoy the sun. The location of this place in relation to points of interest is great. You can wailk anywhere and be there in less than 15 minutes. You can rent cooters, bicycles or a pedicab and hey can pick you up. The only complaint I have is after staying 2 nights and enjoying are stay we checked our checking account balance and discover not only did we pay for the room both nights they charge a $100 balance per night in addition.They took the fees out after we left. We don't smoke, there wasnt any damage to the room, we turned in our keys, etc so there is no reason to explain the charges. All the paperwork we siged didnt explain there was an additional charge. We called and were told our bank made an error, then it was a deposit that requires them to to take it out of your account but it might be put back, then someone must have taken it without authorization. This place talks in circles. We asked to speak with a manager and were told we could not,We notified Key West Police Dept to report that our credit card had been used withou authorization. We were provided with a place to call for fraud. They said it hppens often and that can't police the businesses. The sad thing is we planned on staying here again until we realized this unknown fee was taken. Let me reinterate there is NOT any place on g=he paperwok explainingg this charge.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin C, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Dee B,

Thank you for the review of our property. We are glad to hear you
enjoyed our beautifully decorated rooms and decor. We are sorry that
the deposit wasn't understood during the check in. We do let all out
guests know that there will be a security hold on their credit card
during the check-in process and we do in fact take an authorization of
100$ USD (not an actual charge) on whichever credit or debit card you
provide. When signing your registration card under hotel policies the
first line informs that the above signature does in fact approve a
security authorization on to the credit card. After you have checked
out of the room the hold is then released back to your card which can
take 3-5 business days for it return to the account. We hope this
clears any issues or concerns you may have about your credit card
charges and of course at any time you can call to request a copy of
your charges from the hotel. We are here to serve you and hope that
you will reconsider our beautiful hotel when you return to this
beautiful island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We had 4 nights in Key West. the Silver Palms Inn was perfect for our stay. The room was very quiet (pool view) and spacious. Bed very comfortable and good sized bathroom. Free parking a bonus and the location great - we could walk to good restaurants and bars. The pool although small had plenty of sunbeds and was not too noisy! Overall very good value considering the high prices generally in Key West.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlooking the pool are away from the busy road and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed in the Silver Palms Inn in December 2011. It was easy to access, with free parking. Check-in was friendly and easy and our room was modern and spacious. We had a tiny balcony overlooking the pool (and car park).
The breakfast was absolutely perfect - enough choice for even the fussiest of eaters, and good tea and coffee.
We hung around the pool area which was lovely even in December (though a bit distracting to have the car park beside it).
The walk to Duval Street was easy and very pleasant.
The roosters in the morning time were strange but not unwelcome!
Overall, a hotel that was good value for money and that I wouldn't hesitate in recommending.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston-Salem, NC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We spent 4 nights with 2 teens. The junior suite was a good mix of space and privacy. Location is ideal with most sites walkable. Very reasonable amenities and service, with free off-street parking walkable to Duval a premium. Helpful staff, but a notch below what a very personal B&B would offer. Just the same, given our dual goals of a teen spring break where a pool and bikes were key, and a quiet place for a couple, we were pleased. When our needs are the same, we will certainly consider the SPI.

Room Tip: Parking lot/pool view probably more quiet than facing Duval (traffic) or side streets (roosters).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.5 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
4.7 km away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.6 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#44 of 51 in Key West
2,364 reviews
0.7 km away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
1,750 reviews
1.0 km away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Key West

Been to Silver Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Palms Inn

Property: Silver Palms Inn
Address: 830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040-6426
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price range (per night): $236 - $634
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Palms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silver Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Palms Hotel Key West
Silver Palms Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing