We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Key West Paradise”
Review of Tropical Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropical Inn
Ranked #12 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Key West Paradise”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We returned from a wonderful 5 days in Key West with our college friends and the Tropical Inn made the trip wonderful. We loved the beautiful gardens and pool and jacuzzi area, it is a bit shady so if you are looking to hang out and get some sun you won't really get that here. We enjoyed relaxing out there in the evenings and in the morning at breakfast. The room was quaint, a bit smaller than we had expected, but it was fine. We stayed in the Bamboo room on the 2nd floor in the main house. We enjoyed hanging out on the front porch adjacent to our friends room to take in the "Key West Sights". The owners were very helpful with reservations and recommendations. The location of the Inn is perfect since it is on Duval St, but not near all of the craziness and noise at night. We will be back!!

Andrea S

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    116
    21
    6
    8
See reviews for
36
670
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mt airy,md
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2012

The Tropical Inn is probably the nicest Bed & Breakfast Inns we have stayed in. The staff was awesome and the accomodations were great. We stayed on the top floor overlooking Duval St.

Our college friends who joined us also made our trip even more enjoyable. Thank You Tropical Inn for a great 5 days in Key West.

We will definately make the Tropical Inn our first chioce next time we visit Key West.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidsonville, Maryland, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This was our fourth year staying at the Tropical Inn and we love it!!!!! The staff as always was friendly, helpful and very accomodating. The courtyard and rooms are beautiful. We would definitely recommend this Inn to anyone going to Key West looking for a relaxing atmosphere in the heart of Duval Street.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmaryland_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This was our second year staying at the Tropical Inn and we were even more impressed this time around. We stayed in their newly renovated backyard cabana, which was luxurious and impeccably decorated. The owners and staff are incredibly helpful and friendly, offering names and phone numbers for every activity and service we were interested in. The Tropical Inn rents bikes (a must-have on the island) through a local company at a great rate, and serve a delicious breakfast with more fruit and home-baked goodies than you can imagine. The Inn is within walking and biking distance to all major attractions on the island, yet it is just enough blocks down from the hubbub that the beautiful and secluded pool & hot tub area feels private and quiet. Overall, the experience is much like staying with family and I would recommend the Inn to anyone interested in a relaxing, convenient, and comfortable visit to Key West. Thank you to Brandi and the rest of the staff for another phenomenal stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms a beautiful and unique, but see if you can get one that opens onto the back patio area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SixRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed in the Gecko Garden Suite for our wedding and honeymoon and it was perfect! We got married in the garden at the Tropical Inn as well. The staff was very nice,friendly and helpful they gave us great recommendations for restaurants and entertainment. They have a nice pool, hot tub and computer to use. It is centrally located on Duval St, you can walk anywhere you need to go. I will be going back! I have to give a shout out to John, Jane, Brandy and Blair they are all great!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 km away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,668 reviews
0.2 km away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,136 reviews
3.1 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,743 reviews
0.6 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.5 km away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Inn

Property: Tropical Inn
Address: 812 Duval St, (City Center), Key West, FL 33040-7406
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price range (per night): $261 - $522
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most romantic bed and breakfast in Old Town Key West. Relax in a tropical garden oasis of tranquility with multiple pools, tucked incongruously away amidst the high energy of legendary Duval Street. This sophisticated yet informal historic inn features comfortable rooms, cottage suites with private outdoor spas, and a delectable, tropical breakfast buffet of healthy choices and delectable temptations. Enhance your Key West vacation with lasting memories -- choose the distinctive ambience of the Tropical Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Tropical Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Key West
Tropical Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing