We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Eh-just a beach

We had heard the beaches in Key West are not the best-and that is correct. We wanted to see for... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Sandy5byeweek
,
Cookeville, Tennessee
Best public beach in Key West

Sorry, there aren't any good beaches in Key West. That's not why you visit though, is it? This... read more

Reviewed 30 August 2018
David F
,
Omaha, Nebraska
via mobile
Read all 733 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Key West
from USD 145.00
More Info
from USD 178.99
More Info
from USD 72.50
More Info
from USD 112.00
More Info
Reviews (733)
Filter reviews
596 results
Traveller rating
194
200
126
50
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
200
126
50
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice beach aids memorial key west beaches dog park long pier favorite beach white sand white street pier lot of seaweed low tide public restrooms sea grass rent chairs fish clear water key west garden club water shoes
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 596 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had heard the beaches in Key West are not the best-and that is correct. We wanted to see for ourselves and were surprised at the quality of the beach. It was a little disappointing. We did, however, enjoy the pier and seeing all the ocean life! The views were beautiful, of course, and we did enjoy seeing the planes landing and taking off at the airport and the boats on the ocean. We didn't even go to the beach....

1  Thank Sandy5byeweek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Maybe it's just a seasonal thing, but we visited this beach in early October based on TA reviews and would not come back. The area reaked of rotting vegetation, and there was no way to get into the water without walking through a decent amount of seaweed and rocks. 7 of us came for a beach day, but only 2 braved getting in the water. The rest of us found other ways nearby to enjoy the day (in contrast, the beach bar here is amazing!)

1  Thank bekahchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

Remember that Key West sand is trucked in so beaches are different than other coasts of Florida. Pretty view the day we were there as it was last year the smell is pretty strong of sewage/not sure what causes it on this part of the island. We did see a water advisory in the paper the day we stopped but not posted at the beach. We did not stay so it could have been posted somewhere else

Thank Gator58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

This is a little hidden gem if you’ve got small children. The water is shallow and clear. The woman who runs the chair and umbrella rentals is phenomenal. They even offer complimentary sand/beach toys with your umbrella and chair rental. My daughter got stung by a small jellyfish and the restaurant by the water gave us vinegar free of charge. Everyone was so nice. We had a great experience.

Thank Caitlin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

Really didn't like the beach. The water felt stagnant and there was a really bad smell. The sand was foul. Wish we hadn't gone.

2  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

Sorry, there aren't any good beaches in Key West. That's not why you visit though, is it?

This beach has good sand (likely refreshed after Hurricane Irma) but the bottom in the water is muddy, not sandy. Nice for sunning and easy parking access. Not good for getting in the water. Still the best public beach on Key West.

2  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

The beach is small and very smelly. The swim area does not have a sandy bottom. It is mucky and nasty.

Thank Kurt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

We just stopped by Higgs Beach on our self-guided island tour and had no plans to hang around for a day at the beach . . . thank goodness because this was nothing like any other beach I've ever visited. I knew that Key West is not known for their beaches so this didn't disappoint me however it was a little worse than I expected. The water came right up to the seawall and it was churning with black/brown muck. There is no way that anyone would walk into that water! Behind the seawall was a sandy lot but it was hot as blazes and not very inviting. We walked out on the pier and enjoyed being out on the water but that was about it. There were a couple of guys wind surfing near the pier and I kept wondering how they got in and out of the ocean without going through the muck at the seawall. I guess that will remain a mystery!

3  Thank smdaigle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

Key West is not known for its beaches. Higgs is one of the only ones with white sand (its not natural), but the beach is littered with seaweed and small. Its really one of only two choices you have as far as beaches go though.

1  Thank JoshuaL1866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

There is a lot of parking available at this beach area and it is a really pretty area. However, during our visit, there was lots of seaweed strewn over the entire beach area and it had a horrible odor. I am not that familiar with the area, so this could just be a seasonal thing. So, if it is just a seasonal thing, visiting here would probably be a very nice day at the beach.

1  Thank Celena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews