We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”
Review of Key West Aquarium

Key West Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 16.11*
and up
Key West Aquarium
Ranked #38 of 168 things to do in Key West
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Meet the undersea residents of Key West at the island’s first attraction. With over a 100 species of fish, turtles, sharks and birds, the Aquarium features a Touch Tank where you can pick up amazing animals. The Atlantic Shores exhibit is a near the shore mangrove environment found in the Florida Keys. See stingrays, sharks, eels, lobster, tarpon, seahorses and colorful tropical fish. Feedings and tours take place at 11am, 1pm, 3pm and 4:30pm every day.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

It is pretty small. Not too much to see. There are a few large tanks. Small ones on the wall, but not that many fish to see. Not worth the money.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Historictours, General Manager at Key West Aquarium, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
I am sorry to hear about your visit to the Key West Aquarium. From your review it sounds as if you did not take part in our guided tour, shark and turtle feedings or visited the Atlantic Shores. We do have a 100% money back guarantee on all of our tours which you can easily access by visiting the customer service area of our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    410
    289
    103
    42
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't Patronize This Place”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I have absolutely no idea who would recommend this place, unless you've never actually visited another aquarium, have never been snorkeling, or have no regard for the ethical treatment of animals. Sharks in shallow 20 foot pools? Hawks in tiny six foot cages? Kemps ridley turtles in shallow pools with no place to hide out of sight? Furthermore, the displays are completely dated, worn, and tired. As someone who has visited some of the best aquariums in the world, as well as raptor trusts and other such attractions, I can say this almost felt like a slap in the face.

Helpful?
2 Thank ASM1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun for an hour, especially in bad weather”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Some fun exhibits - a funky, charming place. We were fortunate to walk in on a tour/feeding, and definitely enjoyed our visit.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank stellar2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A nice place & worth a visit”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

If you are looking for a "big city" attraction, this Key West Aquarium is not it. The facilities are a little run-down, and the exhibits in need of upgrades, but they do important work in the field of conservation and research here and a visit to their aquarium helps to support these noble efforts. Kids will like the touch-tanks. No lines to speak of when we visited. Easy to get to.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank DiscerningFunFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointment.”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We paid $28 for two to get in and its only one little room of some tanks with a sparse amount of fish, a couple ponds with some more fish and a space outdoors with one injured turtle and some more simple fish. It took us ten minutes to view the whole thing and not worth the price. I am hoping the money is used for rehabing sick fish or something to make the price worthwhile but not sure where the $ go.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank lolotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Historictours, General Manager at Key West Aquarium, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
I am terribly sorry your visit to the Key West Aquarium did not meet your expectation. We back all of our tours and attractions up with a 1005 money back guarantee, which you can access by visiting the customer service area of our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Key West Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Key West Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing