We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Updated Truman Annex Condo”

Review of Finn Key

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Key West, Florida Keys, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
davidvK94...
Dayton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Updated Truman Annex Condo”
Reviewed 13 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Registration on line was easy, good communication from rental agency. Agency is off site so key pickup and drop off is not as convenient as with Compass Realty, a different rental agency, which itself is located in Truman Annex, and which handles more Truman Annex properties. The unit was good, it had had some updates. The Shipyard condominiums are very small (<700 sq-ft) and are getting long in the tooth. The quality of the original construction may not have been the best and not all of them have been updated. This one has a nice deck (though the a/c unit is right off the deck, making it very noisy.) Kitchen has been updated. Very usable W&D. Older single bathroom. The sliding shower door came off its hinges during our stay. There were no tools on site to fix it, and we just put up with awkward shower door function while we were there. We did report the problem to management on departure. It was not a big deal, but maintenance in units like this is hit or miss. While the unit was reasonable clean, you get the impression that the cleaning is pretty superficial. The beds were OK. You could hear people in the upstairs unit, but we were lucky they were pretty quiet. The kitchen was adequately equipped. On another occasion, we stayed in a different Shipyard Condo unit that we preferred, but this one was OK. Location was near the pool, which is a mixed blessing. The location of the Truman Annex is unbeatable. It is close to the center of Old Town action, but being a couple of blocks away, allows for a peaceful, secure, and beautiful setting. This unit was acceptable, but Truman Annex is wonderful.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randrws
Stanley NC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This place had very poor lighting. If you were doing anything in the kitchen you would be doing it in the dark.
There was no comfortable seating for 4 people to sit to watch TV. You had only the sofa and 2 wicker chairs which were horrible.
I gave this same review to the office and they have never even replied.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our home. The lighting and comfort of the furnishings have not been brought up by other guests; every guest has a different idea of what is comfortable. If we had known that the kitchen lighting was an issue for you, we would have tried to address that for you, but the living room furniture not being comfortable to you is not something we could fix, and for that we sincerely apologize.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Finn Key has a fantastic location if you like a more bare bones stay. The kitchen has been nicely remodeled, but was missing a necessary blender. Furniture in living room and 2nd bedroom is on the uncomfortable side - small children would have no problem but the mattresses on the twin beds are quite hard. The sofa and chairs in the living room offer seating that was less than desirable. On the other hand, if location is your priority, this one cant be beat. Walking distance to almost everything Key West has to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location!
Liked least: Comfort level of sitting and sleeping areas
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakkePee
Seinajoki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Want to go back!!!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Great, new kitchen, just fixed!!!
Big patio with grill.
Near pool.
In old town, near Duval Street.
Car no needed, We had bikes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: New kitchen, and near Duval Street
Liked least: -------
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Finn Key is a great place to kick back and relax!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

My husband and I and our 18y/o son stayed over spring break. We liked the fact the shipyard is a gated community. Our favorite time was to kick back and relax on the patio. We also made daily visits to the shared pool.We rented bikes for the week so was easy to get around. Duval street,the beach,the fort and little White House are all close by both bike or foot. The house had everything we needed and the rental agency was easy to work with. We'd definitely return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing