We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great home, great service!”

Review of The Hemingway

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Key West, Florida Keys, Florida

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Needs some attention!”
Reviewed 13 November 2009 for a stay in October 2009

The upstairs front bedroom shower, leaks heavily into the dining room below. The water pours out through the "trak light" fixture. Big leak, obviously has been patched before. Corian style kitchen counter is badly broken, effecting more than 40% of the countertop. Cleaning crew should be fired. Filthy floors, dirty bathrooms, disgusting old sticky stuff under the microwave oven, and mud/dirt covered porches.

It's time for the owner to put some of the rental income, back into the property.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great home, great service!”
Reviewed 2 October 2009 for a stay in September 2009

Thanks again for the way you managed the rental of
the Hemingway Home in the Truman Annex. When we
arrived, the keys did not work and your staff went
to meet us at the home with the right keys even
though it was Sunday.

The house was in tip top shape and everything went
smoothly and without a hitch. I'm definitely
renting with you again soon!

Best regards,

Frank Linero

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Proximity to Old Town
Liked least: No bathroom downstairs
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Do you like bed bugs?”
Reviewed 19 August 2009 for a stay in August 2009
1
person found this review helpful

During our stay we were in a unit in the Truman Annex. This is an area near Duval St with the normal amenities. Our unit had not been maintained very well. The refrigerator was old and did not work well. The dishes were old chipped and cracked and mismatched, the pots and pans were very old, the silverware was new. The kitchen counter was cracked in several places. The toilet leaked in the front bedroom and the door to the balcony was frozen. Most of us were bitten by bugs in the bed and had to visit the urgent care for medicine and dermatologist upon our return home, we are getting better. The pool area was nice and the neighbors pleasant. Duval Street is always fun along with the other Key West activities. I am sure there are units that meet most people expectations but ours was not one of them.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Condition
Travelling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Reviewed 23 July 2009 for a stay in July 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Kitchen
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Quiet location, but still walking distance to all activities.”
Reviewed 11 April 2009 for a stay in March 2009

This was our fifth trip to Key West. On our past trips we've stayed at a full service resort, a Bed & Breakfast and two different condos. We enjoyed each of them, though there were minor drawbacks with each.
The Hemmingway was perfect, four of us stayed here and there were no complaints. It is a very well maintained and quiet complex. When sitting on the front porch it makes you feel more as a resident of Key West than a tourist. It is within easy walking distance of Mallory Square, the seaport, the beach at Fort Zachory Taylor State Park, as well as all of the most popular restaurants and bars. We plan on staying here again on our next visit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 245
/ Night
Make Enquiry
Talk to the Manager
18442957565
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing