We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A perfect getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merlin Guest House Key West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Merlin Guest House Key West
Ranked #31 of 85 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albert, Canada
1 review
“A perfect getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

My husband and I live in Canada. We stayed at the Merlin Guesthouse December of 2011. The location is perfect, the Inn is just perfect. But the best part is the customer service. We always felt welcome. We enjoyed the hot tub at night and loved being able to walk to the best parts of town without being in the middle of the noise. We will look forward to returning with our son next time. Little did we know I was already pregnant at the time! Definitely recommend The Merlin House!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catalina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    176
    51
    20
    13
See reviews for
40
344
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

You really cannot beat the location of this Inn. The office staff was very friendly. My husband and I were in our 20's, we were a little young for the crowd. We stayed in an economy roof, certainly had no frills, but was clean and well priced for where it is. Despite being one block off Duval, it was quiet at night. A little nosier in the morning with the morning cleanup crews rolling by. Breakfast was also, no frills, but sufficient.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ktsaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights, Jan. 22 & 23/12. Even though we arrived early our room was ready. The room was very relaxing and comfortable, having a small deck to sit out on was a bonus that we enjoyed. The continental breakfast included fruit, juice, cereal, yogurt, bagels, english muffins and a variety of bread for toast. What else can you ask for in a continental breakfast! Being able to sit in the courtyard having your breakfast and mingling with the staff and other guests was the perfect way to start the day. The courtyard was extremely relaxing whether you wanted to swim in the pool, read, socialize with other guests or lay in the hammock and watch the chickens you left feeling very refreshed. The location is perfect, we left our car parked on the street and walked everywhere. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackPuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havertown, Pa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Spent a long weekend with 19 friends from Havertown PA at the Merlin Guesthouse. We stayed in a 2 story 2 bedroom one bath cottage, very nice accomodations. Great location, one block off Duval, never used a car, walked everywhere. The employees were great to deal with. I enjoy staying in a different atmosphere than a hotel, especially in Key West, and that has its good and bad points. Clean, neat, no major complaints. I have stayed at fancier guesthouses, but that is the only reason I give 4 instead of 5 rating. I would stay there again although I'd like to try other guesthouses in Key West.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street rooms, I hear they are noisy, but we had no noise troubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

The Merlin is located in the old town of Key West and is within walking distance of all of the sights, the harbor, and restaurants in old town. As in all of old town parking is at a premium. I was fortunate to find a parking space next to the Guesthouse and did not move my car until I was ready to leave. The Guesthouse is an historic property with all of its charm but pleasant rooms with up-to-date bathrooms, comfortable beds, and AC. The continental breakfast is minimalist, but served on the patio next to the pool. My only complaint was the room I was in faced the street and the noise of the cars going by was distracting.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnguy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 km away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#16 of 49 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
0.7 km away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
0.4 km away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.4 km away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#19 of 85 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
0.0 km away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#14 of 85 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlin Guest House Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlin Guest House Key West

Property: Merlin Guest House Key West
Address: 811 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-7445
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price range (per night): $241 - $554
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Merlin Guest House Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merlin Guesthouse is a 22 room boutique hotel in the heart of historic Old Town, Key West within a neighborhood and a short walk away from all the restaurants, attractions and nightlife on Duval street. It is also a nice bike ride away from the beaches and water sports of Key West. The hotel has a variety of guest rooms and suites located in a small grouping of cottages and buildings surrounded by lush landscaping and a private courtyard. The pool area provides a quiet and comfortable place to relax and unwind. Free high-speed Wifi in your room. Continental breakfast served poolside. Upscale amenities. Romantic and relaxing, unique and charming; where modern style & comfort meets a relaxed Key West vibe. Immerse yourself in the soul of Key West at Merlin Guesthouse. Free High-Speed Wifi In Room Free Continental Breakfast Upscale Amenities Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool Historic Landmark Guesthouse Conveniently Located In Old Town Key West Lovely Neighborhood Setting Onsite and Street Parking Nearby Walk To Duval Street, The Harbor & Beaches ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Booking.com so you can book your Merlin Guest House Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Guesthouse Hotel Key West
Merlin Guest House Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing