We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Unbelievably Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blu Q Catamaran

Blu Q Catamaran
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Blu Q Catamaran, Key West's Premier Sailing Adventures for Gay Men, Women and their friends and family. Offering daily snorkeling, sunset sails, kayaking and Backcountry Island Adventure Tours. Proudly Sailing Key West for over 12 years.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unbelievably Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

My friend and I booked the sunset sail for the day after Thanksgiving. When we showed up we discovered there were only 5 of us booked. The Captain said he should have probably cancelled the trip but took us out anyway because he just wanted to sail that night. It was just an incredible sail. The Captain and his first mate made everyone feel so welcome and relaxed, laughing and providing information. The sunset was gorgeous and I got off the boat so relaxed that I couldn't believe it. I would highly recommend this. Next trip I'll be booking one of the day cruises for sure.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank tmgmdny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    13
    4
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An excellent trip out onto the ocean , professional and friendly , fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We have had so many trips out on the ' blu Q ' every time we go to Key West we go on it about five or six times . To be on the ocean with like minded people , to feel free on the water , to spend quality times with our friends we journey with !

Food and drink service provided are excellent both in quality and service !

Captain Steve , ' What a gentleman with a great personality ' always aware with whats going on , a businessman who has a passion for what he does , his little stories about his journey to Key West on his little boat , the toasting to neptune and heart felt words.

Ships mates , all are second to none , nothing is too much trouble , very friendly and attentive , great sense of humour and a pleasure to be around !

The snorkelling , mangrove visits , the whole journey , quality times have been spent on this catamaran with our very special friends ' The Nashville Boys , loads of love ' , memories that will stay with us forever.

If you have not taken this trip day or night please do , if only just to be yourself and feel free , this is a must for all like minded people , to loose yourself , to have some fun or just for the journey.

It was amazing to see ' The New Year Out ' and 'The New Year In ' on this occasion , the views were amazing , the sunstes were fabulous , what a start to our new year .

A very big ' THANK-YOU' for the journeys

Queen Mother and husband Kevin

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansund, Norway
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Third and fourth trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Two trips this time, One all-male sunset strip (pretty decent, seeing that the weather wasn't too good), with gogo-dancers: one shy the other coy. Steve was a gret Captain agin. We also went on the kayak/snorkel trip. Mo had been promoted from mate to Captain: he does both jobs perfectly!

A great mate too!

No trip to Key West is complete without the BluQ for us!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Treemonisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Best Trip and Crew”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

First time out on the Blu Q. Highly recommended!! Captain Steve was good enough to work me despite not having a reservation (only found out the night before from some new friends). Had a great time. The group on the tour were super friendly. Had a great time snorkeling and kayaking. The tour guide (Cody) was very knowledgable and friendly. Overall - a definite must do while in Key West. Do recommend booking a reservation ahead of time though!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank paulbdallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing must do experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

My first ever all gay boating experience. Captain Steve was the perfect host and Cody......... what can I say about Cody that can be printed?! A really lovely guy who worked so hard to ensure all the guests got the most out of the trip. Plus when he got naked..PHEW!
Captain Steve took us out to a great area where we did some snorkerling, which again for me was a first. They made it really easy and ensured we all got the best from that experience. Following that a great supply of fresh fruit, drinks and then off to another area where we took lunch. A great supply of wraps and salad with once again more drinks and beers, whichever you wanted! It was at this point that clothing became optional and as hard as he worked before this, Cody showed his greatest assets :-)
Then off we went to kayak near the mangroves which was great fun. We were divided into 2 groups so whilst the next group went out my partner and I decided to go clothing optional and also swim in the "79" degrees water!! That was a great experience and by now more than 80% of the guys on board were naked. Drinks were served as and when we wanted and as we made our way back to dock it was great to stand on board naked and enjoy the warm wind. It was right and appropriate that we all dressed before docking. Can't express enough what a great experience this is for gay guys to be with other guys who just want to be normal and enjoy a great day out. Be sure to book in advance to secure your place, I promise you will not be disappointed!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkS1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blu Q Catamaran also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Blu Q Catamaran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing