We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (860)
Filter reviews
860 results
Traveller rating
645
160
27
9
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
645
160
27
9
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesevery morningpaddle boatsfree kayakssaltwater poolthe cottagesfull kitchentropical plantsbeautiful landscapingwatch the sunsettiki hutliving roomkey westspent nightsold floridacoffee makerstayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 860 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

We booked this holiday almost a year prior to our departure and it was a special holiday because it was my husbands retirement present to me. We knew this was a "self catering" type of holiday but it was impossible to do anything other than make a cup of tea or coffee and that was with difficulty. There was approximately 18 inches of space between the wall down one side of the bed, barely two foot down the other side and the doors to the wardrobe/closet and bathroom were on that wall also. It was difficult to get into the room at night without being invaded by insects so we had to enter the room, close the door then turn the light on which was on a pull cord which was attached to an overhead fan so we ran the risk of injuring ourselves with the fan whilst trying to get some light. The bed was changed once during the week we spent here and that was on the day before we were checking out. Having said this, the towels were changed every day and the bins emptied every day. The gardens are lovely, the complimentary scones delicious but there weren't enough English tea bags to make our complimentary tea and coffee in the morning. I feel we paid a extortionate amount of money for a very tiny room so if you are planning on visiting Bay Harbour Lodge, make sure you either get one of the cabins or ask for the dimensions of your room before booking.

As far as things to do in the Keys, forget it, once you've driven down to Key West that's it really. I would not go down there again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank pamdenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
on_the_island_33, Public Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Pamdenby, we are sorry that your trip to the Keys was a disappointment to you. The Florida Keys are very different from many places in the US that people choose to vacation. Much of the lure of the Florida Keys has to do with the island atmosphere and activities in an around the water. Sometimes guests are surprised to learn that the beautiful coral reefs offshore also prevent the Keys from having white sandy beaches. The views from the Overseas Highway are breathtaking and Key West has its own very special vibe. In Key Largo, and at Bay Harbor, our waterfront location affords guests fabulous sunsets, opportunities to experience complimentary kayaking, paddle boards and a pedal boat all from our small sandy beach, and in general enjoy a secluded tranquil environment. We do have a few very small rooms, pictured on our website, which are described as a "small New York Style Petit Room. Our most affordable, yet small room."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

My husband and I booked a couple of days at Bay Harbor for a quick spring vacation. We were incredibly impressed with our stay. The grounds are beautiful and immaculately kept and include a little beach area. The room was clean and comfortable. The kayaks and paddleboards are free for guests to use. Fresh scones and coffee are provided each morning, and they are hands down the best scones I have ever eaten. Next time, I will book one of the rooms down by the water so I can enjoy that view all the time! You really can't beat it for the price. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but it is nice to be near the water.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
on_the_island_33, Public Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Shannon A, Thank You for your delightful review. We hope you will choose one of our cottages or rooms by the water for your next visit! Come see us again soon. Your scones are waiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

We’ve come here four years in a row for spring break, and each year it is better and better (and it started awesome!). The bungalows are perfect for our family of four, and I love waking up right on the water. Our days consist of slow mornings watching the sunrise, lots of card playing, swimming in the pool, grilling, fishing, and maybe a little kayaking. Time slows down and we can really just enjoy. The guests at the hotel are always lovely and everyone chats and enjoys the grounds together. Bay Harbor is a teeny gem, and I’m thrilled i found it online a few years back. I know we will be back next year!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jodipinkdodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
on_the_island_33, Public Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thank you Thank you Jodipinkdodd. What a beautiful description of your stay with us here at Bay Harbor. Don't we all wish for a vacation where "time just slows down"! Come back and see us again next spring break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

We were in town for a wedding, and we had other couples staying here so we decided to book also. We stayed in the Seaside Cottage and it was beautiful. We loved having a full kitchen and grill so we could enjoy more of our time here. The paddle boat and kayaks/paddle boards were a nice bonus and those scones.... let me tell you... worth it! Our only complaint is that we had our do not disturb sign out until 11am and housekeeping never came back. There were no towels at the front desk so we were out of luck so if I could make one suggestion it would be to keep extra at the desk we could grab if we miss the housekeeping schedule. When you are swimming and out and about typically you’re showering more than once a day so this is much needed. If we are ever back in Key Largo we will certainly return.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Krysten F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
on_the_island_33, Public Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thank you, Krysten F, for your 5 star review. We're so glad you were able to relax at our resort and take full advantage of the kitchen and grill, as well as our watercraft. I'm sorry we didn't have fresh towels for you at the front desk; thanks for your suggestion. Please come back and stay with us again - your scones are calling...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Just returned from a week in unit 17 bayside bungalow. We are so happy to have found this piece of paradise in Key Largo! The room was clean and completely updated. The resort is absolutely beautiful. The foliage makes you feel like you are staying in the middle of a tropical garden. The orchids are wonderful. Peg and the entire staff were friendly and helpful with advice on dining and things to do in the area. Already planning out next trip.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank okeefes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
on_the_island_33, Public Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thank you, okeefes, for your 5 star review of Bay Harbor Resort. We're delighted you found us and described us as Paradise. We work hard to make sure that every detail of your stay exceeds your expectations - from your room accommodations, to our gardens, our beach and waterfront area and especially the helpfulness of our staff. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews