We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect and Private”
Review of Dream Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dream Bay Resort
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We rented the Deckhouse for a week and it was very nice.Mom had her own bedroom and bathroom which she loved and the setting was gorgeous.We like privacy and relaxation and this had both. The house sits back from the private beach and that was just fine. This is a private vacation home and not a villa. We have stayed in hotels on the beach and they are wonderful if you want a hotel, but this is a home, so don't be surprised when a piece of molding is cracked, a lizard is on the window at night, the iguanas poop on the deck stairs or the hot water is not full blast in a second. The secure gate was a bonus and the home has a key pad for entry so no keys to worry about getting misplaced.We loved having a place for the dogs to go out and the amenities were great. We paddle boarded from the private beach and snorkeled around in the bay. There are bath rooms next to the beach and cute cabanas to sit in the shade. The view at sunset in so pretty and the hammocks were very nice to relax.

Room Tip: Large deck in front, enclosed backyard for dogs, split two bedroom configuration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2016

My husband and I stayed for a week in August. We stayed in the Banana Cabana. We brought our 2 dogs and our 20ft pontoon boat. The cottage is really nice and comfortable, it is a completely remodeled 2 bedroom mobile home. Everything(almost) has been updated. The kitchen is fully equipped for normal cooking. There is a coffee maker, blender and toaster. Gas grill on the deck is great. Very hot in August in the keys and the air conditioners kept the place nice and cool. Also quiet and powerful ceiling fans above the beds. The only thing that has yet to be updated are the mattresses and box springs on the beds. They are obviously old and one of them makes a lot of noise. Not horribly uncomfortable despite their age, but could use an update.
The grounds are beautiful. They are cleaned and maintained daily. Plenty of great little spots to relax in the shade. The little beach is great for a swim, paddle board or kayak (which are provided). The floating boat docks are fabulous. Can't launch here, but can at a nice RV park just down the street. The sunset views can not be beat!!!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank imgatorgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tcln, Owner at Dream Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Our mattresses do get a lot of use, since we stay so busy, and we replace them almost every year. It's time for a replacement in Banana Cabana. We appreciate your feedback and hope you come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed with friends but loved the resort! Nice setup for hammocks and just tables under the palms. Restrooms clean. Great view on the water. Very nice. Would have stayed longer given time. Prices were pretty reasonable from my research.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Beautiful view, beautiful outside property, great location ............but just okay living quarters. I guess I'm spoiled - but when I go on vacation, I want to stay somewhere just as nice as my home or possibly nicer. The villa is a trailer and it has so much potential! Cute colors and enough space but it's the little things that make the difference between nice or just average. Unit has all appliances needed including a coffee pot and blender. Also a gas grill on the porch. We really appreciated and enjoyed what was there. While there are a handful of positives - there also is a handful of disappointments: the noisiest most uncomfortable mattress in both rooms (husband has a BAD back) so this wasn't just uncomfortable and noisy - it was painful for him, a ripped and mildewed shower curtain, rusted a/c vents in every room, and a "check out procedure" note that asked us to strip all the beds and start the laundry. (there is an $80 cleaning fee in reservation). A new mattresses and a fresh shower curtain would go a long way to making just an "okay stay", into a fantastic stay. I don't want to sound like I'm giving a poor review - I just want the unit to be represented honestly so you know when you make your reservation. We stayed in the Banana Cabana, so I don't know if the other units are the same.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BBB305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tcln, Owner at Dream Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2016

I'm very sorry you were disappointed with the shower curtain, the mattress, and the AC grates. We replace those grates frequently. I guess in a saltwater environment they rust faster, but we do replace them every year. I will look into the other issues you experienced. We hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

This April my husband and I joined another couple for a week in the banana cabana and had a wonderful time! Beach was small but lovely with plenty of chairs for lounging, a scattering of tiki shade huts, some decent snorkeling in the grass beds off the beach and along the jetty, and friendly guests. The deck was great for meals and games, good view, dappled shade, private. Has a small fenced courtyard for dogs if you bring one.
We used the kayaks to paddle out a little ways in the bay to explore the mangrove island and were rewarded with Pelicans, cormorants and egrets. Manatee sighting in the marina (in April) was a highlight.
Had a noisy neighbor in the next door trailer park but the cops came right out for the noise complaint and even called me to let me know they had and to call back if it happens again! Thankfully they left the next morning and we did t have any more problems with noise.
Would for sure come back here again if we vacation in the keys again! Can't beat the price or the place.
I wish id brought my skillet and measuring spoons/cups. Bring your own snorkel gear. There was next to no condiments/cooking pantry things so don't count on that (I was surprised compared to other rental houses but I suppose nobody cooks here when they come to be lazy on the beach)
Shady day playing cards under the palm trees by the marina edge was perfect but we also spent many afternoon/evenings on our deck in the mostly shade. Lots of anoles and birds moving about in the little hard with a perfect clothes line to dry towels and swimming gear
There are people who complained about the beach in reviews, the sand brought in from Miami is easy walking barefoot, extends out to the grass beds in the water, and is cleared of sea grass regularly. There are loads of stinging anemone on the bottom on the marina side but not on the swimming beach side. There are a few but they're easy to spot. Local guides told me you can handle them but the sting transfers to thinner skin and will sting you there. We snorkeled three times and didn't get stung. We also took the double kayaks and paddled out to the mangrove island which is closer than it looks! Nice birds out there and the water is shallow enough to see the bottom and the fish most of the way out there.

Stayed: April 2016
1  Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tcln, Owner at Dream Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay! I just wanted to point out that we should have plenty of cooking supplies - pots, pans, and measuring spoons should be in the cabinets and drawers. Maybe you didn't see what you were looking for, and if anything is missing that you need, my staff will be very happy to get it for you. We don't supply condiments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.8 km away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
11.5 km away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,333 reviews
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#10 of 20 in Key Largo
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Pelican
The Pelican
#5 of 17 in Key Largo
644 reviews
1.0 km away
Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina
2.2 km away
Bay Harbor Lodge
Bay Harbor Lodge
#1 of 20 in Key Largo
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Key Largo

Been to Dream Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Bay Resort

Address: 4 Woodward Way, Key Largo, FL 33037-2427
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Key Largo
Price Range: $132 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream Bay Resort is a small, family-owned resort and marina located in Key Largo, Florida. We offer a limited number of vacation rentals with dockage and spectacular views of the Gulf of Mexico. For many of our guests, one of the truly memorable parts of their vacation at Dream Bay is meeting all of the colorful locals that reside here. Friendships are made and guests often wish to stay in contact. Pets are welcome, trailer parking, and boat slips on site. Wireless internet is also available on the entire property, including the beach.Our friendly "compound" includes four rental houses, plus a small marina, which allows for a boat to kept here at no additional charge. A fishing jetty, tiki, picnic tables, and a small assortment of other residents and guests add to the laid-back, "keysey" charm. We are also convenient to Key Largo's main attractions, like John Pennekamp Park, many fine restaurants, sport fishing fleet and shopping. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing