We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Key Colony”
other travellers have booked this property
STILTED DUPLEX AVAILABLE!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
STILTED DUPLEX AVAILABLE!
View thru carport to new 30' dock + entire length of 10/11th Sts. canal to OCEAN + GULF! Our rear view at end of canal! And partial ocean views in the front!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
94 reviews
STILTED DUPLEX AVAILABLE!
View thru carport to new 30' dock + entire length of 10/11th Sts. canal to OCEAN + GULF!
Our rear view at end of canal! And partial ocean views in the front!
'RARE' INCH BEACH ocean Membership/our house across street, can't get much closer, up to 6 (NO dogs)
1038 Ocean Dr.W (bottom left side), end of  10/11th St. canal +
closeby Bay/VacaCUT US1 bridge+Gulf!
Lucky us, on limited walk-jog-bike path: connects to 2 rests.+bars,golf+playground,marina+US1!
'RARE' unobstructed beautiful rear canal VIEWS, relax on 4 new loungers or dining table + 4 chairs!
FULLY equipped dock: Fish cleaning table + (not in pic: '17 bait freezer/water hose/shower/lights)
RELAX, DINE, ENJOY beautiful peaceful END      of canal VIEWS!  w/ table, mixed seating for 12!
Rear cov'd patio: table, 4 swivel + 4 plastic chairs + NIP 4 NEW chaise loungers w 2 side tables...
Key Colony Beach at MM 53.5 is mid point for great convenience in touring the FL Keys,near Marathon!
Key Colony Beach Island relative to Marathon area, Sombrero Beach, Vaca Cut boating/bridge to Gulf!
Topical view of Key Colony Beach (with labels) btm.:  Atlantic Ocean, Inch Beach, our rental!
Topical view of southwest side of KCB, with label showing our rental down canal to both Oceans!!!
LR/DR to Front ocean view balcony; Rear 2 bedrooms canal view balcony! (entry door left side of LR)
Entry (L): LR/DR/KIT + hallway W/D closet + BATH to 2 bedrooms, sleeps 6 (rear, not side/front)!
RARE 'Partial OCEAN VIEWS': living space (seats 8+) and O/S balcony w grill (seats 6)!
INCH BEACH ocean membership (R), front balcony or LR seats 6-8 (note: sleeper sofa to R)
KIT/DR/LR sliders to beautiful tropical balcony views across street to ocean!
Dining room (4) + 4 counter height bar stools, O/S sliders to balcony grill, seating + ocean views!
LOTS of WORK SPACE! ALL SS Fridge o/s ice/water, Smooth top/Conv. oven, Microwave, DW + Disposal!
GREAT Open Concept Entertaining!  Bright Clean Kitchen; LR + DR areas for 8: 4 bar stools + 4 chairs
'Rare' hallway to both bedrooms (many walk thru gbrm to get to mbrm), laundry door (L), GBA (R).
Entertainment: JIMMY BUFFET CDs/asst. books, port. CD player w/ charger + misc. games/cards!
RARE MBRM sliders to balcony view down canal, King bed, wall mount 40' TV, dresser w mirror, carpet.
'Rare' large MBRM walk in closet, shelves, hangers, wall hooks, clothes hamper + room for luggage!
MBRM onsuite to LARGE 'rare' 4 pc. master bath w soaking tub under sunny private block window!
MBA bright + tropical 4 pc. w dbl. sinks/ drawers/storage (new white painted cabinets + knobs NIP)!
Large bright 4 pc. MBA: tub;shower;dbl. sink vanity/med. cab: hair dryers,m/up mirrors,1st Aid Kits!
'Rare' medicine cabinet: misc.1st Aid products / bandages for your use while staying here!
'RARE' large soaking tub underneath glass block window: bright + relaxing after long hot day boating
RARE MBA  linen closet w LOTS of asstd. towel sets including beach towels! (save $$$ by not renting)
MBA 'privacy' glass corner shower, 2 sep. robe/towel hooks; full length mirror (towel bar- no pic)!
'Rare' beautiful full length canal views as seen from hall (BR#2); dock lights beautiful at night!
BR#2: Rear canal views, sliders to balcony, dresser/mirror, wall mount cable TV, carpet!
BR#2 option: twins or ASK for king conversion setup (closet- asstd. linens: king + LR sleeper sofa)!
BR#2 closet: Play'n Stay crib/sheet, iron/board, vacuum, blankets, toddler stroller + hangers!
Hall GBA tub/shower combo, 1 sink, drawers, med. cabinet, towel hooks on back of door for 6 guests!
Hall Bath w LOTS of towels in asstd. sizes; Vanity just painted white + knobs added!
Hall closet w '16 Maytag W+D, NO going outside for laundry like some rentals! Plus '17 water heater!
LR 42' LED, internet HGTV, or FL Keys VHS tapes on VCR; (sorry...DVD broken)!
VCR player + FL Keys themed VHS movies, board games, Emerg. Radio/Crank cell charger (DVD broken)!
Portable iPod/iPhone/CD  player/charger...take to parks or beaches, bring own earphones!
Enjoy grilling w/ lovely ocean views: Stainless Steel propane Gas Grill w/burner  (front balcony)...
Relax + enjoy views to Inch Beach/ocean: tropical set pub table/4 swivel chairs!
'17 refinished ALL balcony/step flooring! Access front balcony sliders to roomy LR, DR + Kitchen!
Front balcony toward partial ocean views; propane gas grill,  2 swivel chairs/pub set seating 6!
RELAX + ENJOY lush tropical foliage from front balcony, you're in paradise! Inch Beach gate far R.
More beautiful RARE front ocean breezes thanks to Inch Beach (r)! Pack up beachcomber; get going!
Inch Beach parking lot across to beautiful blue ocean (front door view ) !
Our LONG driveway CONVENIENTLY + SAFELY adjoins rare KCB walking/jogging/biking path steps away!
THIS is INCH BEACH- across the street to our RARE Private Ocean access #1 of 2 memberships (for 6)!
INCH BEACH priv. gate   ocean membership w code (for 6)! Bring towels + chairs (NO more grass area)!
RELAXATION- palm trees, blue skies, sunshine, soft sandy beach + ocean water (NO grass due to Irma)
Zoom in to Tiki Hut w/  picnic table/benches, 1 grill, don't forgot to bring your own charcoal!
CLOSEBY awesome ocean access for strolling, shell collecting, sand castles, swimming + water shower!
HURRY! Soft SANDY INCH BEACH groomed daily of nasty, stinky seaweed , just bring our towels!
Watch off balcony or WALK 1+ blks to BEAUTIFUL nightly sunsets @ Sunset Park on path end of driveway
Walk 1 1/2 blocks to Park for nightly sunsets!  NO fishing allowed on pier! WATCH for crowd + join!
Sunset Park sandy area 
 + viewing pier for nightly sunsets; dog friendly)! NO fishing allowed
WOW! Sunset Park dock facing WEST, lost of sand, Dog friendly with water spicket;  pick up baggies!
Golf clubhouse, restrooms, public basketball/tennis courts, Key Colony Inn restaurant nearby!
Par 3 Golf coarse clubhouse, public basketball/tennis courts, restrooms + more!
View of KCB Public Golf Coarse- Par 3 9 holes, club rentals, fee for tee time!
KCB Tennis courts- pay for court time (near golf- 8th St.)!  Remember to bring racquets!
Childrens Playground equipment next to golf, tennis, basketball courts!
KCB City Park dog friendly! Walk out rental 3 blks, next to Key Colony Inn bar &  restaurant!
KCB City Post Office, pick up here (rental boxes available)!
OPEN! Walk on path to Key Colony Inn restaurant/bar on Ocean Dr. West/7th St., JUST 3 1/2 blk. walk!
CLOSED PERM.! Leigh Ann's bistro was next to marina (on 6th St.)!
Sparkys Bar/Restaurant: destroyed; relocating behind Holiday Inn- 25c shrimp Happy Hour!
Private marina, boat slips/rentals, boat ramp fee, buy bait, deep sea fishing/diving excursions etc!
TBD, CLOSED OR NOT? Dive shop near  marina on 6th St.!
historical 7 MILE BRIDGE, west edge of Marathon toward Key West- search for  'Flagler Railroad'
Bahia Honda State Park view from bridge- west of Marathon 15 mi.- sandy beach, kayaking, fishing!
LOTS of KITCHEN dishes & cups plus glassware (both glass & plastic), coffeegrinder/press, sugar bowl
LOTS of KITCHEN glassware- juice/water, asstd. wine, shot + plastic juice or wine glasses!
Asstd. casserole dishes/baking pans/pitchers/tea pot, even butter warmers/votives
Dry condiments left behind by former guests- check out before you go to store!  Some in fridge too!
Lots of asstd. pans- even a pizza or muffin pan (located  in under oven drawer).
LOTS of silverware (2 trays), corn holders, lobster cracker/forks, bottle/wine openers/stopper, etc.
LOTS of cooking/baking utensils! Plus asstd. casserole dishes/baking pans in cabinets.
MISC. spoons & spatulas next to stove top, plus can opener, tongs, forks, baster, etc.
Asstd. knives, graters, peeler (in drawers & 2 knife blocks) plus fish cleaning kit above fridge!
Need grill tools?  We have those too!
LOTS of pots & pans w/ lids- all sizes, grease splatter (NIP: crockpot, fryer, electric skillet)
Want to bake?  Hand held mixer/beaters, bowls, measuring cup, strainers too!
Crockpot, electric skillet and deep fryer too- and you thought you were on vacation!
Toaster oven combo or 2 slice toaster & waffle maker- feed lots for breakfast!!!
TOURIST DRAWER! Located in dining area- phone book, maps, brochures, coupons, take out menus + more!
Your hosts: Barry + Patty manage this rental- no real estate agents!  Call or e-mail w/ questions!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Key Colony Beach, Florida Keys, Florida

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 94 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pyonker1
Maumee, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Key Colony”
Reviewed 24 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

What a neat place, I could live here forever! Key Colony is such a lovely community,very family oriented. Great to bike or walk the island. Resturants and some shops right on the island. This home was wonderful, had everything we needed for our stay. The home is very well maintained , clean, and very cute! Patty gave us a lot of info before arriving so we know what to do and where to go. Will definitely love to stay here again next year, hopefully longer than a week.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2017
Thanks Pamela! Key Colony Beach is a favorite destination in the Keys for many couples like you, and also families with children of all ages! Our KCB Island amenities are vast, but need to leave our small Island for grocery/drug stores & sightseeing!!! Plus you might read elsewhere, just know that bike/canoe/boat rentals can be delivered/picked up right to the rental!!!

And we always love reading the compliments from our guests and hope they will stay with us for future visits! A few of our guests, after staying with us a few times, have become home owners and one family even rents!
Here's summary:
- wonderful home
- everything we needed for our stay
- very well maintained , clean, and very cute
- a lot of info before arriving so we know what to do and where to go
- definitely love to stay here again next year, hopefully longer than a week

Some of our guests have had suggestions that we have implemented for all future travelers... But as many guests have written in past reviews, the owner's wife has furnished & decorated the rental with her own family in mind so that our guests do not have to go out and buy things, just relax and enjoy our little piece of paradise!!! Some guests have even written that they wish they knew "x" was furnished and they would not have packed it in their car (not the case when guests fly in though)... So is you have a questions about something being furnished or not, just email Patty and ask (I'll email you back)!!!
Palm wishes,
Patty (owner's wife & Rental Property Manager)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llhp
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Keys Ocean Drive the entire month of February, 2017. Our previous 4 winters we stayed gulf side in Marathon, but this year in Key Colony Beach was superior. There seem to be fewer windy days ocean side, and we loved that there were much better walking and biking opportunities in KCB. Inch Beach, right across the street, is a gem, and sometimes I had it all to myself. If one wants to be surrounded by people, the Cabana Club has a very nice, warm pool as well as a beach area. Sometimes it is a challenge to get a chair there, as it's quite busy, but a nice facility with bar, snacks, lunch, chairs, hot tub all available as well. Parking is limited, but luckily we were always able to find a space on the occasions when we drove rather than walked to Cabana Club.
The burrowing owl pair moved back to their burrow at the end of our driveway the first week we were at the duplex, and after the sunsets at Sunset Park, they are the #2 photo attraction in all of KCB! It was enjoyable to not only watch the owls, but also see everyone's reaction to the owls. Since the unit is on the main drag walking/biking path, there was a constant stream of owl-ooglers. (If you want a remote secluded location, this is not the spot for you. But if you want convenient location, this is perfect.)
Many times we enjoyed the sunset celebration and sing-along at Sunset Beach Park, just a couple of minutes walk from the duplex. Also went to the free Sunday afternoon concerts there, and from the pier spotted parrot fish, eels and a foot diameter starfish.
The unit itself is very spacious-feeling, due partly to the vaulted ceiling in the great room, and it's well-equipped. The website photos show exactly what to expect. It has the feeling of a home, rather than a hotel. The gas grill and kitchen appliances all worked well. It was convenient not to need to bring beach towels, beach chairs, insulated totes, etc. Because the duplex is located at the end of the canal, sometimes that water is filled with floating sea grass and debris and is not a pristine view, but that is true with all the canals on KCB, especially at the ends. Other days the wind/waves clear it out and it looks picture-perfect.
Patty is very prompt in replying to emails or texts, usually within an hour. And we received our deposit refund extremely fast.
If we return to Marathon area again, I would definitely want to rent this half-duplex.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2017
Thanks Laura! And for those of you reading this, I have NEVER paid for a review!!!

Laura has painted a great picture of our Island, our rental "Keys Ocean Drive" and our FAMOUS OWL VISITORS! This is their 2nd year at the end of our driveway, burrowing their nest in the sandy soil... They use to live at the corner of 10th & WOD on an empty lot that now has a new house... So they found us, and my many guests have LOVED them as well as enjoy the reactions to guests/lots of cars driving by/strolling along the "rare" Island walking/jogging/biking path right in front of our rental. If no path, folks walk directly on the roads, with 25 MPH speed limits....!

And our location on the Island is convenient for folks with or without boats . That seaweed can linger around rear boat dock at times and other times disappears! But there's nothing like our views, esp. at night, looking down the entire length of the canal- so no looking across the 100' wide canal at neighbors living areas...or them looking over at you! Neighbors are all ground level and we are stilted, affording a covered carport when the sun is hot and great ocean breezes!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalp1
Roswell, Georgia
2 reviews
“Nice house”
Reviewed 23 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Nice clean place. Access to the beach. Although beach was very small but it was nice and private. Well stocked with plenty of linens and kitchen accessories for those looking to do light cooking. Great for families with children. Club was a little crowded but public beach was nearby. I liked the location and the place, only issue for me as I didn't like having to worry about taking out the garbage etc. i am on vacation! Anyone looking for rentals this was nice and the owners were very responsive.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2017
Thanks for your review Shalini. It's always great to read my guests comments. In that way I can correct any problems or inform future guess of what to expect or not...

BEACHES: The FL Keys is not known for their "big" beaches like Miami & the Islands are... Our sand is not native, and brought in... Plus for clarification for all reading this, KCB "groomed" beaches are mainly "private", not public (with few exceptions). Those public beaches for ex. Bahia State Park are natural, meaning NOT groomed of that nasty stinky seaweed that rolls in & out nightly. The B.S.P. reviews state how "stinky" that seaweed is, like "rotten eggs" ugh!!!
Patty, owner's wife & rental manager for Keys Ocean Drive

Unfortunately your trash/garbage is discussed in the contract for all to sign. So the 1-2 cans are rolled out to end of driveway on Friday as truck picks up really early in the morning (most of the time). And then my cleaning gal can roll back can(s) under carport when she arrives to clean on Sat..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbaldwinr...
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect pet-friendly condo in an ideal location!”
Reviewed 20 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My partner and I are both in the Real Estate business and when we vacation we spend an exorbitant amount of research to ensure that we maximize our experience while getting our money's worth. This condo exceeded our expectations and the pictures do not do it justice.The views of the Canal out of the bedrooms are wonderfully lit at night . The living spaces and master suite are very spacious and comfortable.The kitchen is well appointed for cooking and enjoying time together so much so we didn't even leave NYE and had our own little party right there :-).The Colony Key community is by far the BEST place to stay in the middle Key/Marathon area. You can walk short distances to the private beaches, access the private Cabanna Club ( included) are a great plus! You can rent Kayaks , Bikes ~ they deliver them right to your doorstep ! Bike paths throughout the community make for scenic and peaceful rides. The locals within the community all walk down at sunset to Sandy Point ( a 2 minute walk ) to toast their beautiful Key Life. Ride your Bike or walk to the 9 hole Golf Course they provide carts and clubs for you. We enjoyed several great meals at Sparkey's located at the Marina overlooking the waterway also w/in walking or riding distance. Watch the charter boats bring in the days fresh catch or charter a fishing trip on site , it's the shortest distance to where the fish are so less time getting there and more time fishing. After spending the week here we decided it's the BEST location for access to the most . Only 1 hr and 15 min to Key West ~ we drove down with our bikes ( in our truck) and enjoyed the day there , ended with a Sunset Sailboat cruise . Shopping is in abundance everywhere, they have it all here! You will not be disappointed , Patty the owners wife was always responsive and provided more than enough information about things to do , etc. We can't wait to go back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2017
Thanks, your review is thorough & awesome! My future guests love hearing from past renters (as I may be prejudice!)... But to set the record straight, I want all to know that in reading this: I have NEVER paid for any reviews!!! lol-really...

Location is really important when selecting a central vacation spot, and I am like S. when researching where to stay, where to go etc. (my own extensive vacation planning drives my husband crazzzzy but he's always compliments my choices).

And that brings me to this next point, the saying "you get what you pay for". While there may be cheaper rates than ours, many guests have come to appreciate the differences when staying at Keys Ocean Drive! S. & her partner didn't even go out for NYE, and I had emailed her some options prior to arrival! I will offer many planning links/things to do for any guests upon request... Plus my signature line underneath my emails also has a lot of helpful links!!!

And lastly, you are not the first to say that about our photos... and being in real estate I am sure you have seen a lot of great & bad house photos (maybe I could barter a week for a really good professional photographer to stay here, during a slowwww period?)!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Florida
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
Thanks for choosing Keys Ocean Drive for your vacation both times Jane!
And I do apologize for both glitches, I quickly fixed one by phone but the other one had to be compromised a bit....Having TWO memberships is a BIG plus for our rental, and especially I.B. just across the street and CC just 6 block walk on City walking path at end of our driveway! So our rental is a very convenient location to KCB amenties (and there are MANY)! Unfortunately I cannot predict the weather, but I was flexible with these "repeat" guests as to their check in date (they chose to c/i as scheduled on Sat.). Patty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing