We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach and facilities”

Bill Baggs Cape Florida State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 467.00*
and up
Seaplane Flight from Miami with Lunch in the Florida Keys
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Named after a Miami newspaper editor Bill Baggs, this state park is part of an extensive barrier island system.
Miami
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice beach and facilities”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Lots of families - go early in the summer before the crowds

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sunkist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    310
    79
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cool lighthouse”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Fun Park overlooking Key Biscayne and Stiltsville.

Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun, but beware of a few things”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Positives first: The rangers were very friendly and informative on local wildlife, history, etc. We rented a quadracycle and had a great time exploring the park on the bike paths. The service at the restaurant overlooking the bay was excellent.

Now, to the reason for a poor rating...the beach here was terribly polluted, as well as full of piles of seaweed. In the few hours we spent on the beach, I filled a shopping bag with plastic and metal garbage just from the perimeter of sand around our beach towels. I was shocked at the great reviews of this beach both online and in the guidebooks we looked at, given that you can't step one foot on the sand without hitting trash of some kind. Not my idea of a day at the beach anyway.

The second problem we had was that the lighthouse tour was promoted 1)on the sign driving into the park. 2)by the woman at the entrance paystation. 3)in the brochure we were given at the paystation. 4)by a park ranger within the park. 5)by the ranger beginning the tour. 6)by guidebooks we had gotten from the library before our trip. NOWHERE in all of these promotions did anyone feel it relevant to tell us that our 5 year old would be banned from going to the top of the lighthouse! I understand safety rules, but I was disheartened to have a crying girl at the bottom of the lighthouse. Had we known this ahead of time, we could've chosen not to do the tour at all, or forewarned her that it would end this way. I can't even fathom a reason not to be upfront with people about this. Given fair warning, I think she wouldn't have been so heartbroken. Communication is key, people!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank BeckyC20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
154 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great beach without the Commercialism”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We were here President's Day Holiday. It was not that crowded.. it is great to watch families gather and a few couples just hanging out. We've noticed that couples like us stay closer towards the dunes.

The beach is nice, but there was more sea grass/weeds on the shore. -1 star for that. wished that they would sweep it out more.. but overall a great place to get some sun without the commercialism. To rent one umbrella and 2 chairs will cost $20.00. We didn't do this though.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank tiglao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indialantic, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It is worth the trip!”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

A beautiful park. So happy it was kept from development!You must climb to the top of the lighthouse for the amazing view.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank gotiger11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bill Baggs Cape Florida State Park also viewed

 

Been to Bill Baggs Cape Florida State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing