We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
85
5
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
5
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews patio cottage the cottages across the street adorable dog secluded place outdoor shower to rinse exceptional property beautiful beach beach chairs great pizza tropical garden favorite spot small dog sized bed great hosts many restaurants within walking distance old florida
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Debated whether to cancel reservation due to the red tide situation but decided to come for an annual visit to Sandy Shores (4 yrs) It was perfect-love love love the cozy Gulf Cottage which is comfy and complete with everything you would need and steps away from the beautiful beach. Despite warnings there were NO red tide symptoms evident other than sporadic sea life on the shoreline which were swiftly picked up by patrolling jeeps in the early morning and they closely monitored the beach to keep it clean. Water was clean - no odor. Myrtle is a wonderful host - welcoming and gracious. I am happy to call her a friend and look forward to a next visit.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Bonnieann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

My husband and I first noticed the Gulf Cottage when walking on Indian Rocks Beach a few years ago, and always wondered what it would be like to stay there. We eventually did stay, just a few days ago, and we weren't disappointed. The cottage is charming and has everything that guests might need for a holiday at the beach. Our hostess was kind and considerate, and responded quickly and helpfully to our requests. The beach was a short walk away, with only a sand dune between it and the cottage. We were able to park our car safely off the road, and there were several restaurants/bars, as well as a CVS pharmacy, within easy walking distance of Sandy Shores, so that we only had to take the car if we wanted to go to the supermarket or explore further afield. Our holiday at Sandy Shores reminded me of the best beach holidays I had as a child, and I would love to return.

Room Tip: Gulf Cottage is completely self-contained and private, and is right next to the beach!
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldFloridaHand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

On our second trip to Sandy Shores our visit was so relaxing, we didn't want to leave. Our cottage apartment had everything we could possible need. The gardens right outside our door were beautiful, with cool inviting breezes and places to sit and have a drink and some shade. The beach is just steps away, and our favorite spot in the morning is the beach chairs overlooking the dunes, to drink our coffee as the sun comes up, or in the evening as it goes down. Mrs. Hall is the perfect hostess and is quick to respond to any need or question that arises. We are planning our next Tampa trip, and look forward to staying at Sandy Shores again.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank rnbirdie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

Sandy Shores is on a beautiful beach, making it a relaxing and peaceful place to spend time. Gorgeous sunsets, starry nights, gardens all over the property, and sparkling clean accommodations make it easy to be there, and hard to leave. Myrtle Hall is such a delightful owner, offering everything to make your visit easier, from lots of towels to an extra beach umbrella or float, and can be called on to provide things you forgot to pack, like a lighter for the grill. She provides lounge chairs for day, tall captains' chairs for star gazing, and is a private wealth of information on the best places nearby, in case you ever want to leave the beach. There are never any bad surprises, just welcoming smiles and assistance. We have loved visiting here each of the last four years, and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cjberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

This was by far one of the most relaxing and comfortable stays we have ever had. Sandy Shores is in the heart of Indian Rocks beach, but it feels like you are in your own private Oasis. The beach and sunsets are fabulous. The owner, Myrtle, is as kind and accommodating a person as you will meet. If you are looking for cozy, romantic, old Florida vacation, this is the place.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Kenneth Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews