We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay with everything you need.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of valentine house

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Valentine house light and airey
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
40 reviews
Welcome to Valentine house
light and airey
large open plan lovely high ceilings
modern kitchen
lazyboys in front of the T.V
comfy lounge area
bar stools at the bar
double bedroom
double bedroom
front bedroom
sunshine room
veiw of golf course from the pool
The only friendly croc in Florida
Perfect place to chill
veiw of house from the 4th fairway
Time for Tee?
Stunning veiws of the championship golf course
Peace and Tranquility
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Haines City, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LightPack...
1 review
“Good in the photos shown but the villa did not match them in reality.”
Reviewed 30 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My wife and sister and husband booked the villa from 6th until the 27th of September. We arrived on the 6th but we were not able to gain access to the property because we were not told the code of the key box beside the front door to get the keys out. We arrived at the property at around 10pm when it was completely dark and there were no lights on anywhere in the property. No one was able or available to help us gain access which meant we had to stay the night in a motel, the Budget Inn, some 8 miles away and meant we had to rent two rooms at $50 each per night. I was able to send an email to the owner Catrina Machel who lives in the UK to ask for the key box code which luckily did arrive the next morning.
After finally gaining access, I made a survey of the villa and forwarded some information on to Catrina. The following list will give more detail:-
1. None of the lights at the front of the villa worked as the bulbs were broken.
2. Several of the light bulbs on the fittings inside were also broken.
3. The Ceiling fan in the main bedroom was on but made a terrible noise and could not be switched off, although I did eventually manage to do this.
4. There was a small blood stain on the sheet in the main bedroom.
5. The pool area was reasonable but the boundaries had not been cleaned for a long time and there were a pile of cigarette ends in the corner by the entrance door.
6. The drainage area of the pool along the edge of the building was very dirty and black with some parts being blocked.
7. Two sun chairs had been left out and one of them had two broken slats. Neither of these were used by anyone during our stay.
8. There was a BBQ but it was in a disgusting state being full of ashes and bits of food. We did not use it.
9. We contacted the house manager about the lights and all he did was bring around four new bulbs several days later, but he said he could not fit them because he would need a ladder. After he left I fitted them myself, including the one by the front door, which fortunately did work at night. Other than that we had no contact with your manager.
10. I suggest you find a more reliable house manager who will carry out the proper maintenance work for which he is no doubt paid.

Many of these things are very annoying and the owner needs to look at these seriously as continued negligence will only result in the villa getting worse, which would be very sad, as generally it is in a very nice place and continued neglect will cause more ultimate renovation costs. For your information, I am an Architect by profession, so do know about buildings.

We left the villa in as clean a condition as possible and trust that appropriate compensation will be forthcoming for the first night disaster.

Eddie Nielinger,
BSc.Arch. Dipl.Arch (Hons).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting at the table by the pool and going out.
Liked least: The general maintenance of the property and the lack of information prior to our arrival.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2016
When you sent the property address you were also sent the key box number as we do with all guests but you did tell me that you were having trouble accessing your email and this is maybe why you couldn't see the code on arrival at the house I would like to address your points
1. The outside lights are on sensors controlled by an internal switch by the front door and unfortunately exiting guests sometimes turn the switch off
2. I arrived at my house VH on the 27 sept 2016 and I only found 1 bulb out by the garage and 1 bulb out inside
3. The fan issue has been addressed thank you
4. Life happens sorry about that but there is always spare linen in the closet and our linen is washed after every guest and is replaced every 6 months
5. VH house is advertised as a non smoking house so unfortunately cannot comment on the pile of cigarette butts you found
6. The pool and deck is cleaned every Friday maybe there was a storm before you arrived but be assured our drainage is clear and working fine
7. As an architect you must understand the power of Mother Nature and the sun and how it can make things brittle and perish they have since been both replaced
8. I'm happy you didn't use the BBQ because we don't own one don't know where it came from as we don't permit use of them at the property
9. We have spoken to our house manager and his version of events differ greatly from your so we will have to agree to disagree
10. I appreciate your suggestion but how you can even think you can tell me what kind of house manager we need is beyond me maybe you got him on a bad day we all have those but Roger goes above and beyond what we pay him and we are very happy that we met him
11. My friend what you have failed to say is that before you posted this you had already told us that you couldn't access your emails (gaining access) we agreed to give you a free night stay as you said you might return next year you then said you'd been invited to Arizona but that your son and his wife might like to come next year so we extended the jesture to them as a matter of good will yet you failed to mention this conversation which happened before you posted this review but thanks for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming yourselves or your family should you wish to return
Regards
Catrina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guide5630...
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The outside lights on the garage and at the doorway didn't work for 2 days which made it hard to get to the key in the lockbox. One light bulb out of four worked in the living room. The rugs in the bedrooms are stained (see pics). The walls and woodwork need painting. The bathroom fan vents filled with dust (see pictures attached). Mattresses on beds we're terrible you could feel the springs and we're too small, they were full size bed in the master bedroom. Master bedroom should have a queen/king and needs to be higher to accommodate handicapped people. There are spiderwebs on the wall going out to the pool over the sliding glass doors. The towels in the bathroom are too small and have been bleached bleached so many times that they are hard on the skin. Some of the towels we're gray and fraying. I have more pictures but the review only allows 10 to be published.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2016
Unfortunately maybe the last guest had turned off the master switch this has now been addressed so hopefully it won't happen again in the living area there is a table lamp the fan light which has 4 bulbs and the adjacent kitchen area has 2 fluorescent tubes if there ever was a problem with the lights you had Rogers number even though Florida is the sunshine state it still has some pretty amazing weather I.e tropical storms thunderstorms and heavy rain so even though we have the carpets (rugs) cleaned on a regular basis some staining can occur from footfall and luggage due to the popularity of VH major works are time restricted as to when works can be carried out. But let me stress we would never never let our property fall into a state of disrepair and 98% of our guests that stay agree that VH is clean and tidy and exceptional value for money we hold our hands up to the bathroom vents after your stay in June but before your review in September myself and my husband stayed noticed the vents and bought it to the attention of the cleaners
Dear MR
1. We change our mattresses and bases every 2 years
2. We take offence to your assumption that the master was just a full it has and always will be a queen and the second is a full
3. In regards to your comment
(Handicapped people) and our beds needing to be higher it would take a lot more than just making the beds higher to make VH special needs friendly
and we wish we could do that but we have never sold implied of advertised the property as a special needs property.
4. As to your comment regarding the cobwebs/spiderwebs your on a golf course and it could've been worse it could've been a GATOR
5. The towells are cleaned after each guests leaves and are replaced every 6 months as for the size that's guest dependant
Thanks for your feedback
Regards
Catrina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay with everything you need.”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here with my young son and friends it was very enjoyable. The property is on a beautiful golf course that is very well maintained as well as all the streets.
The property is large and specious and very well maintained with people coming to clean the pool weekly beds comfy everything you could need from towels to tin openers the owners have thought of everything will definitely be returning . Thanks .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2016
Thanks for your great review really appreciate your comments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnymark
2 reviews
“Another great stay in Southern Dunes”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We've just left this morning after a two week stay.
This is our second visit at the Southern Dunes complex. Although it is not right beside the main attractions and parks we see this as a bonus because the area is nice and quiet and it only takes roughly 25mins to get to the parks. Having a Walmart and Publix nearby is bonus too.
The villa had everything we needed and more the bonus being the big American fridge/freezer with ice machine!
There were plenty of towels & linen provided as well as ponchos, beach towels and many more.
We would throughly recommend staying here and we are already looking forward to staying at this villa again next June-July 2017 this time longer than 2 weeks

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2016
Thank you for a great reveiw we look forward to welcoming you again
Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurelg1
laurelg1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Met our needs perfectly.”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We visited the area for a race and chose this property for it's location and good reviews. The home met our needs perfectly and was well furnished, spacious and clean. The neighborhood was quiet and well kept. There is a walmart within walking distance as well.

For a group of 5 adults we couldn't have been more pleased. Highly recommend the property and the property owner who was quick to respond to my questions via email.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and nearby ammenities
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
Thanks guys glad you enjoyed would love to welcome you again sometime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing