We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn University

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Inn University
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed here with a colleague while traveling for business. We had not made a reservation or read reviews prior to pulling off of I-75 and checking in. There is some road construction which made getting to the hotel a bit confusing at first, but due to the detour we discovered a back way from the hotel to nearby shopping centers which meant we did not have to go back and forth on the very congested Archer. The hotel feels a little worn, but it is very clean and the people there were friendly. Check-in and out were easy. There was a downstairs vending area with drinks and snack and the room had a small galley kitchen--sink, fridge, microwave. In similar hotels there is often paper plates and utensils in the cabinet or the microwave but not here. It would have been so nice just to have a small basic set of plates and plastic cutlery. Instead there are empty cupboards. Coffee maker and enough coffee for two pots. The room itself was very comfortable with lots of pillows on the bed and a nice blanket in addition to the coverlet. There was a sofa and a desk with chair, tub with shower and nice large mirror in bathroom. The breakfast was okay. They have a coffee and cereal station in the room with the registration desk and then you walk through the dining area and into a third area for the rest of the breakfast items. I think this helps perhaps when there are a lof of people in the dining area but you must do a lot of back and forth to gather the food and your needed utensils. For example, the spoons were with the coffee stations and no spoons in the other area--where you have yogurt in the fridge......but a small thing. I thought the crockpot held oatmeal but the attendant told me it was gravy for the sausage. I was disappointed.They have two wafflemakers, one was out of order, with batter to make your own, scrambled eggs, sausage patties and gravy, little muffins, bagels, bread for toast, various cold cereals, instant oatmeal, oranges, apples, bananas, and yogurt. All in all--about what you get at most free breakfasts at this type property. I liked that the back door that was mid way of the hotel was directly across from the elevator. Most people parked in front so we never had a problem parking by this door and zipping in and out of the room. The room was quiet. I slept well and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeingGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
We are glad to hear you had a very nice stay here at the Comfort Inn West. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    114
    42
    9
    9
See reviews for
152
101
23
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The front desk clerk, Milan, was very helpful. He was very knowledgeable about the area and obviously well trained. We were here for a visit to the hospital and found this hotel very convenient. The hotel itself was clean and comfortable. The price was reasonable and again the staff was great.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dwright0919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
We are always glad to hear from our guests and are pleased our hotel the Comfort Inn West met all your needs. Thank you for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngsville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Very nice hotel. Room was clean and bed was very comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Warm cookies were offered and smelled great. With a travel hotel coupon price was reasonable.

Room Tip: Back rooms get a lot of noise from the interstate. Ask for a front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank connieretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
 Here at the Comfort Inn West we always enjoy hearing from our guests! Thank you for posting such a pleasant review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Check-in went well with very friendly employees. They have fresh baked cookies around dinner, but three times I went the plate was empty.

Bringing luggage in is somewhat a challenge for those with rooms on the ends because of the way parking is laid out. The two end entrances are open to card holders, but don't have formal sidewalks up to them. To get from parking to our room required you to drag bags through mulch and around small bushes. The other end of the hotel was closer to the parking lot of the hotel next door. Might consider formal sidewalks to these doors. Front entry way can be used, but parking is limited.

Rooms are very VERY nice for this level hotel. Four pillows per bed was a superb touch. Bed had a comforter, along with a warm blanket. Nice & cozy. Hotel was very quiet (our room was on the non-interstate side).

Room has a microwave and separate hot water maker for the provided tea and coffee. There is a large mini-fridge, bar sink and counter top. The free in-room safe is a great idea.

Bathroom: Amenities included shampoo, skin lotion and two bars of soap. Plenty of fluffy towels. Tub was pretty clean, although drain was rusted out. Wonder why that hadn't been corrected.

Breakfast buffet was great. Both regular & blueberry waffles. Biscuits with sausage gravy. Toaster for bread & bagels. Hard boiled eggs, yogurt, pastries, muffins, oatmeal, cereal, bananas. Many drink options. Nice job!

Easy walk to numerous restaurants and the Target shopping center next door.

I have stayed in many, many hotels around Gainesville in the past 20 years and this has become one of my favorites in this price range.

Room Tip: Request room on the non-interstate side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gatorzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
We are glad to hear the Comfort Inn West is one of your favorite hotels in the area. Thank you for your review and your thoughts will be shared at our next management meeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stay here every year when we go to Fl. The desk staff is very accomodating and helpful. Andrew was the desk person and was very helpful and friendly.
Rooms are clean. Beds are comfortable. Breakfast is above most breakfasts with a lot of
variety. Good location. If you are a light sleeper, ask to have a room in the front.
Will continue to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 25sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
0.7 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
4.9 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#6 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.1 km away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#13 of 45 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University

Property: Comfort Inn University
Address: 3440 Southwest 40th Blvd., Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#10 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price range (per night): $134 - $345
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the newly renovated Comfort Inn, located conveniently near I-75 & Archer Road (Exit 384)- this premier location provides quick access to the University of Florida, UF Health & Shands, VA Hospital, Shopping and Restaurants. Our 100% Non-Smoking hotel offers complimentary hot breakfast, free internet, pet friendly designated rooms, and complimentary shuttle service for your convenience. The modern amenities and service will make your visit to Gainesville a great experience whether you are visiting family, the award winning healthcare facilities, attending sporting events and the many reasons that bring you to Gainesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Comfort Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Gainesville
Comfort Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Comfort Inn
West Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing