We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wanted to stay longer”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dolphin Inn
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wanted to stay longer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Had an excellent stay in jan lovely big pool which was just the right temperature across the road from the beach with a very helpfull owner when we wanted to stay longer he found us other another B&B The self catering units are very spacious & excellent value for money.Initally the windows on the front put us off but that soon changed. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    108
    35
    13
    7
See reviews for
107
185
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
124 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

First, the dolphin inn us not a beach resort or high class hotel. It is a simple, comfortable, clean inn that is located in a more quiet area of Estero Island. There is a large outdoor pool (with a deep end, 8 feet, which is rare!!) A ton of lounge chairs surrounded by foliage (palms, etc). The establishmegavent has only about 20 units and a lot if folks looked long term retirees who were VERY friendly! Staff was as accommodating as could be and very friendly. Owner Travis is awesome and gave me some tips on local flavor including a fishing charter that turned out to be one of the most enjoyable experiences I've ever had (Captain Greg Smith, Fish n Tales was his boat, located behind Santini Plaza @ Fish Tales charter fleet)..

The room we stayed in was a Bayview, which is an efficiency. It was small, with older decor, a 20 inch television and DVD player and cable. The room, despite being older decor is a very clean unit. There was also a fridge, stove top and microwave along with a sink (a kitchenette). Our room overlooked a waterway that could be fished but I would recommend not swimming in it. The back bay area had a lot of comfy lounge chairs and tables for relaxing at the end of the day.

Overall, this place is highly recommended if you need a clean, comfy, value priced place to stay. Is decor is older, but WHO CARES! Props to Travis and his staff who made it even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

With its own dock on one side and 50 yards to a beautiful beach on the other this was a great place to stay. Plus a biggish heated pool with plenty of seating and sun beds and, eating places and supermarkets nearby. We stayed four nights in a poolside ground floor room which was really a studio apartment with two very comfortable double beds, sofa, chair, dining table, shower room and a fully equipped kitchen. Some rooms looked a lot smaller. Being British we did not know what an efficiency was! We now know believe it means no room service, no bed making, no breakfast but clean towels as required.
Take the above into account and expect a slightly worn, more or less clean room and a bit old fashioned decor and I expect you to have a very good time. The place had lots of folk staying who seemed to be returning for their unth visit.
I strongly recommend you DON'T eat at the Movie/picture house next door. Yes you can be served a meal whilst watching a movie. Our meal was probably the worst I've ever been served and we could not even see what we were eating! This place has no connection with the Dolphin Inne.
Yes, our best stay in the States.

Room Tip: Expect a fine welcome and just slightly shabby rooms and you will have a great stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iancrowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ont. cda.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We spent from Dec.26/ to Jan.3 2012 at the Dolphin Inn . The room 6 facing the pool was cleaned and well stocked. The pool was clean also. Terra Nostra
was a great restaurant nearby as was Charley,s Boat house and Pincher,s crab shack and a little gem for breakfast was Heavenly Biscuit. Have been to Flordia 30-35 times but lst time in Fort Myers Beach. The Inn has access to the Gulf across the street. There is a movie theatre right next door. Hope to go there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenda018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parrish, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

If you enjoy a relaxing, quite, getaway, the Dolphin Inn is your best choice on Ft Myers Beach. Although small, it offers all the comforts of home. This was our second stay and truly enjoyed the room on the bay.......

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djm6107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.5 km away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
0.5 km away
Flamingo Inn
Flamingo Inn
#25 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
8.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#11 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.3 km away
Outrigger Beach Resort
Outrigger Beach Resort
#15 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
5.2 km away
The Neptune Resort
The Neptune Resort
#8 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn

Property: Dolphin Inn
Address: 6555 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4499
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price range (per night): $128 - $226
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Fort Myers Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing