We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
40
27
5
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
27
5
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tiki hut clean grounds master bathroom plenty of chairs ceiling fan watching the sunset gulf of mexico grocery store ft myers beach lanai units office vacation laundry ensuite pool ocean
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2018

We rented 4B6 & it was lovely - no issues at all. Fantastic views out every window. But the overall experience at Smuggler's Cove was fabulous. The building management folks made our stay even more enjoyable by taking care of our every need. Have a bunch of groceries to unload from your trip to the local market? No problem, they have carts available for use. Supposed to have a beach wedding but a tropical storm is blowing through? No problem, they have a nice conference/party room available for use. Make a very last minute decision to use their adorable tiki hut for the wedding? NO PROBLEM - they took every measure to help our little wedding happen. Even on a Memorial Day Holiday when the office was officially closed. All with big smiles & heart-felt well wishes. Special shout-out to maintenance guru Todd for being so friendly & accommodating. At the end of our trip we had unopened food that we did not want to just throw away. Todd visits the local food bank to make donations so we donated what we were unable to use. The grounds are immaculate, the pool is clean, the elevator worked & the people are wonderful!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank afielder2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We stayed in 5A1. We loved the corner unit for the extra light from the windows. The room was fine, nothing extraordinary. Everything worked just fine. The decor was ok nothing very modern. But the beds were comfortable and the view was spectacular. 3 TV's, one in each bedroom and one in living room. Most of our time was spent on the beach which was quiet and family oriented. The pool was good, for the little time we spent in it, not overly busy, was always able to find a chair and not crazy loud. We took advantage of the grills, when we wanted to stay in, very nice provision. Would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandybX7998KE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

We returned to Smuggler's Cove after a four year hiatus, we certainly did not stay away by choice. I might add our chosen rental unit had been remodeled in the interim, everything was bright and clean.
We "lived" on the sreened lanai, totally private, perfect views of the Gulf and sunsets, constant sound of the surf. Don't know if all units have this but ours had hurricane shutters which we could partly lower to get some afternoon shade. This coupled with the ceiling fan made it totally comfortable.
It seems to me that the waters edge has moved out from where I remember, also there not so many shells to be found; I suspect due to hurricane Irma. The sand felt sugary soft, I didn't require water shoes to step over sharp rocks and shells.
Our unit had 2 bedrooms, one with a king, one with two twins, also 1 3/4 baths, a fully equipped kitchen, ceiling fans in every room, central A/C if you need it (we didn't thanks to the sea breeze), dishwasher, microwave, typical small appliances, cable TV in every room. No ensuite laundry, there is a laundromat near the office and pool.
The first time we tried the pool it felt a little cool at first, but soon learned to love it. Between the building and the seawall to the beach there is a little lawn area with three tables with thatched roofs. There are plenty of chairs and loungers to be used only on the lawn - not on the beach.
There is also a really nice little thatched roof pavilion near the barbecue grills. It has a bar/counter and stools where you can sit with your favorite beverage watching the sun set or gazing at the stars.
The person in the office showed me the computer and printer where I could retrieve departure boarding passes.
"Post Irma", I would say Smuggler's Cove is fully operational.

Room Tip: If you don't have much to buy you can actually walk to the Publix supermarket and return by the beach. NICE.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Miike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

We have rented at Smuggler's Cove in the past and have been very happy dealing with the owner. This time we decided to rent a different condo that seemed more updated - 4B5. We scheduled the paid-for vacation for September 23 thru October 4 in May, 2017. Obviously, this was prior to Hurricane Irma.
After Irma hit, September 10, we were without power and a/c for 12 days. Shortly after Irma hit, we called the owner and told him our circumstances, what was the possibility of a refund? We were told all was fine at the condo. No sympathy of just surviving a Cat 4 Hurricane. We were forced to go to FMB.

Upon arrival, the pool was drained. Entering the unit, there was mold on one of the a/c vents. Red tiny ants were on the floor of the master bathroom. It hadn't been vacuumed. The ice dispenser on the freezer door didn't work but at least the ice machine produced ice. The chairs on the lanai were the most uncomfortable I've ever sat in.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank beaching_mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

We love Fort Myers Beach and have been coming here for the last 10 years. We have o stayed on both ends of Estero and in all types of places. 1B5 is our favorite and we book it whenever we get a chance. We love to run on the beach, walk to Happy Hour, ride bikes to get up and down the boulevard. It really is a great, central, QUIET location away from the busier areas, but close enough to join the fun when desired. We travel as a couple, but notice this is a family friendly unit with lots of DVDs for rainy (rare) days and a cute kid sized table/chairs. They also have an adorable Smuggler's Cove book featuring Annette Funicello-what a sweet touch. Owners are easy to communicate with and love the place as much as we do (ok, probably more). Lots of amenities and grocery store VERY close by as well as a CVS. Easy to stock this place up. Fun to grill out a couple nights as well when we just want to relax and hang at "home". Treat Yourself!

Room Tip: Room has a great unobstructed view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallymae2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews