We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandpiper Gulf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Downers Grove, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Our room was nicely decorated and the staff was always helpful and cordial. The Publix is just down the street, so we were able to stock up on a few basics and use the kitchenette for breakfasts and lunches. Loved the lobby's coffee bar! We filled our mugs at least once each morning and took them back to enjoy on our balcony. We're looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    205
    38
    20
    7
See reviews for
312
297
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at the Sandpiper for the first time last week with my two boys, ages 10 and 7. We had a wonderful stay. The room was clean and nicely decorated, with a large balcony overlooking the beach. There were 2 queen sized beds, a small sleeper sofa and chair with a coffee table, and a kitchen table with 4 chairs in the kitchenette. The furniture appeared in new condition and so did the carpeting. The room is much like a small studio apartment. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and meticulously clean. Because it is a smaller resort, it is much less crowded than other places we've stayed on Ft. Myers Beach. I loved the kitchenette which has a full sized refrigerator, a sink, a microwave that appeared to have other cooking functions, and a 2 burner cook top. All the pots and pans, silverware, cooking utensils, glassware, and plates, etc. are provided. There is a small coffeemaker in the room, but the resort has free coffee at the main building, so I would just bring my small coffeepot down there in the morning and fill it with coffee compliments of the resort. There is dish soap, a dishcloth and hand towel in the kitchen, but they don't supply paper towels, napkins, or any condiments of any kind. This is standard for all of the condo type places we have stayed in the past. There is a Publix grocery store just north of the Sandpiper. We popped in there and stocked up on all of the extra food, snacks and necessities. Mid Island Watersports is right on the beach and from there you can rent jetskis, set up to go parasailing, do dolphin tours, and rent nicer beach chairs and umbrellas. The pool is not extremely large (we only used the family pool), but it was very rarely crowded and I never had a problem finding a lounger while the boys were swimming. Everyone on the staff at the Sandpiper was extremely helpful and accommodating.

The property is a sister resort to the Pink Shell which is about 4-5 miles north on Ft. Myers Beach. When you stay at the Sandpiper, you get to use all of the amenities at the Pink Shell, and your parking pass at the Sandpiper allows you to park as well. We went up to the Pink Shell and used their dock on the intercoastal waterway to fish, but didn't take advantage of the pool, restaurant, spa, etc. We have stayed at the Pink Shell a few times in the past. It has many amenities to offer, but we were happy with our beach stay at the Sandpiper.

I would love to see them add a small gift/convenience shop so that if you forgot something, you could pick it up at the resort.

All in all I would be happy to recommend the Sandpiper to anyone looking for a place to stay on Ft. Myers Beach. It is an excellent value on a beautiful beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank winedr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Love this place and have stayed here probably 10 times in the last 10 years. There is not another place to watch the sunset like here.
They need BIGGER tvs!! And better channel selection!! AC can get hot in the summer - it is not sufficient for someone who likes it frigid, especially in the summer. Publix is down the street and we always stock up and eat in the room as there are not many good take outs or deliveries available and Estero Blvd can be very crowded at times.

Room Tip: Specify BEACH FRONT to get one of buildings on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovingflorida14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brampton
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

we recently returned from our annual family holiday to the hotel and i must say i am dissapointed in the treatment of long term renters at this hotel (10 years). Our reservation was bothched and after much discussion we reserved our room that we wanted . The new management was very unaccomodating and there seemed to be a stategy to refer guests to another hotel managed by the same group. We were also informed that there will be a substantial price increase for next years reservation if we were to reserve the same room . All in all very dissaponting considering the amount of years and family vacations we have spent here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happycanuckbrampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We just returned from a five day stay at the Sandpiper. the hotel is very nice, the grounds were immaculate. Didnt like that there were very few ammenities, such as no coffee in the room. Having the kitchen facilities is nice, but not even napkins or paper towels are provided. Make a trip to Publix before checking in. We did not have maid service for 2 days, despite putting our service flag out. other than that, the place is great. Staff at front desk are very polite and friendly, beach is beautiful, pools are kept very clean. A good place to stay for the rate they charge.

Room Tip: Book a gulf front room. the views are amazing and the sunsets are beautiful from the third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msBeadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
2.0 km away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
5.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
#3 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
7.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#11 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#7 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
6.1 km away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,359 reviews
3.7 km away
The Neptune Resort
The Neptune Resort
#8 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Gulf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Gulf Resort

Property: Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Address: 5550 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4196
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price range (per night): $237 - $532
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper Gulf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a truly charming and intimate Gulf front oasis on the white sands of beautiful Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Sandpiper Gulf Resort is a seaside escape set on the softest 315 feet of sand in Fort Myers Beach, Florida. With just 63 suites, newly remodeled in classic British West Indies style, the Sandpiper sits on a breathtaking stretch of beach in the heart of Estero Island. Stroll the perfect white sands. Grab a wave runner and fly across the calm Gulf waters. Take a refreshing dip in our Gulf front pool. Wake up each morning and sip your coffee on a private balcony or lanai overlooking the turquoise waters. The Sandpiper is your tranquil paradise. Yet, we're also just minutes from all sorts of activities including championship golf, fishing and boating charters, tennis clubs, shopping centers and movie theaters. You enjoy the best of both worlds - a Florida vacation that truly feels like an escape with all the conveniences you desire right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sandpiper Gulf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Gulf Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Hotel Sandpiper Gulf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing