We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveller rating
93
67
38
18
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
67
38
18
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages nature trail old florida french doors small lake covered porch lakeside cottage ceiling fan cooking utensils close to downtown busy road tile floors laundry facilities edison ford estates visit fort caloosahatchee river ice machine
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 241 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2018

We decided to pass up our usual high-end hotels and my wife selected this place. It's old (the manager said it was built in 1946), but it is well maintained and clean. And, it also had a deck right next to the water -- a little lake with concrete dolphins spitting out water. It was really cool. We were a little worried about traffic sounds but the dolphins sort of blocked that out. And, it's a half block to the free trolley stop which was great. Able to ride into town, eat and have a couple of drinks and not worry about driving. It rained most of Saturday but we were able to get pizza delivered and sat on the deck and watched the rain come down. An enjoyable stay and will go back.

Room tip: All the rooms look the same. They are circled around the little lake.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Florida charm at its best. If you like to stay in a place with character and history, this is it. Cabins are clean, nicely updated. The dolphins around the pool added so much to the ambiance. Free shuttle to downtown stops right around the corner. Don't miss historic downtown Fort Myers.

Room tip: Get a cabin on the lake - you won't be sorry.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FLRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

The Rock Lake Resort is an offbeat throwback to an earlier era of roadside accommodations. In the shadow of modern condos, here one feels like it's back in the 1950's. Though using the term "resort" might be stretching it a bit, this is an interesting (and relatively inexpensive) alternative to the norm. There are some units on the other side of the road by the office that don't look terribly appealing from the outside; we stayed in a lakeside unit that is equipped with a small kitchen as well as a porch overlooking the small lake. There is an outdoor pool available in this area too. The rooms could use a little sprucing up, but they were clean and adequate. The woman in the office was cheery and helpful in directing us to restaurants. Overall, our short stay here was good and certainly different than our other stops.

Room tip: The lakeside units are more scenic and near the pool.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ddaborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

We were in town only for the night and wanted inexpensive accommodations. Plus, my preference is always for food or lodging which is "off beat" - not one of the national chains where it's always exactly the same.

Enter ... the Rock Lake (Resort) Motel. Clearly an older property, but worth the reasonable night's rate we paid. The room was clean, efficient, and quite satisfactory. It opened onto a landscaped courtyard, and parking was nearby.

We were going to the Edison Winter Estate the following morning and that's just a couple of miles away. For dinner we went to the historic district - just a mile or so away - which was quite busy and obviously popular. Lots of options there.

Were I back in Fort Myers again, I'd definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OrlandoRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

If you want a Hilton with all the amenities Hilton provides, by all means go to one and spend the money. If you want a decent, clean room with a decent, clean bathroom and a decent, clean bed for a decent price consider the Rock Lake Resort.
We were in the motel across the street from the waterside cottages, but the rooms were fine. The only complaint, if that, was the noise made by the air conditioner, but it was more a white noise backdrop to mute the street sounds than an annoyance.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spk52819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews