We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“laid back fun, close to the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Worthington Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
li ny
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“laid back fun, close to the beach”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

the worthington gay guest house is a nice clean comfortable place to stay in ft lauderdale. good pool area, clothing optional with access to the adjacent property the alcazar resort.combint the both and you have 2 pools hot tub and alley for nite time amusement. the beach is a 5 minute walk (2 blocks) there's resturants and shopps in walking distance. dont really need a car. prices vary but i'm told the alcazar is less expensive, and quieter.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    160
    44
    12
    10
See reviews for
1
355
232
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

About what you would expect in a gay guest house in Fort Lauderdale. Nothing special. Rooms are clean, grounds are nice. There is a cat that roams the premises, so beware. Friendly staff though maybe a bit too eager. Its a bit dated.

Room Tip: The rooms on the Worthington side feel more part of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I had booked a room earlier at the Worthington when sadly a death in the family forced me to cancel my visit. Though I gave ample notice I was told that I would be given a room credit. That seemed fair to me. A couple of months later I returned to Fort Lauderdale and stayed at the Royal Palms. What an amazing and wonderful place the Royal Palms is. The property, the rooms, the restaurant and bar are exceptional. But what truly makes it fantastic is the quality of service and the staff. They define service. From the handwritten welcome note, and fresh-baked cookies to every little detail, you are totally pampered and served. After a short stay at the Royal Palms I decided to use my room credit at the Worthington. I guess that was my mistake. When I went to check in, the difference was immediately glaring. The front desk was a cluttered mess and the staff seemed as though I was an interruption to their work. One of them never even got up from his desk. I told them that I would like to use my credit. The manager said "You can use half of it." Stunned I said,"can you repeat that?"
"I already told you!" he barked. "I don't understand." I said. "I already have paid for one night" "We'll lose money on you. You pay the difference when I give you half" I should have leff but I didn't. The hotel is old, tired, and has a nothing besides a tiny crowded pool. No staff was ever present. There were rude signs scattered throughout the place barking orders at guests. I have now returned to the Royal Palms. From nightmare to dreams come true.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank RT312939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdurhanFt_Lauderdale, Owner at The Worthington Guest House, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
I would like to clarify a couple things. His reservation was for Christmas Holiday, we have a 30 day cancellation policy. A reservation canceled under 30 day Holiday policy the deposit is forfeited. The 3 night reservation was canceled 10 days prior to arrival, under the circumstances, as a courtesy we informed the first time guest that we would forward his deposit to a future stay. We also informed him at the time that a forwarded deposit can not exceed 50% of a new reservation. The reason for this is , when a guest cancels with short notice, the resort may incur a loss due to the room being vacant for one or more of the canceled nights, just as we don't want a guest to loose their deposit, we on the other hand don't want to sustain a loss either. It's fair for both parties.

This person shows up at the front desk without a reservation, states he is staying at The Royal Palms and wanted to use his deposit for 1 night and then go back to RP. Well that shows real gratitude towards us for forwarding his deposit, we reminded him that he could use 50% of his 163.00 credit towards the 199.00 room since his credit was more than 50% of the nights stay. The remainder could be used another time. He got a little upset, he was the one barking. He couldn't understand why, I tried to explain but he kept cutting me off. Finally I gave him the suite for 50% off just to end the drama.

The rest of his comments as well about the resort are down right untrue. We have two large pools, both are larger than the RP's, Our resort is kept in excellent condition. We have won Superior Small Lodgings " White Glove Award" year after year in both buildings, which represents meticulously clean rooms with the highest standards for guest accommodations. Both building have been recently repainted, new fencing, all new windows etc...I'll agree we have a nice crowd at our pools unlike some other resorts, we are always busy.

I'm sure He did get "hand written notes", that may be due to the fact there are no room phones at the RP, so I believe that line. He also states " No staff was ever present", well the resort does not run itself. I am there 6 days a week myself. We are fully staffed during business hours. I live 2 minutes away and am available at any time should there be a need.

We have no "rude signs barking orders to the guests", the only signs that are posted are the mandatory pool/spa rules, no lifeguard sign which is also mandatory. Outside of those signs we have only one sign on each gate that states parking is for "registered guests only, visitors may be towed". We like for our guests to have a place to park when they get home at night. That's not really barking in my book.

We tried to be nice in the first place by forwarding his deposit, sometimes you can't win.

I would suggest to you, that since this guest didn't get his way, this is his retaliation. 99.9 % of our guests absolutely love our resort, the others are probably where they belong.
Thank you,
Jim Durhan- Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

First time here and have a great time. The accommodations are great and the court yard is very private and tropical. This is what coming to Florida is about. Definitely will be planning a return trip.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathedral City, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed at this Gay clothing optional resort in early Feb 2012. Have only good to say about the staff, room we had, ambience of the resort, cleanliness and over all friendly atmosphere of the resort. Our room was clean, spacious and always ready for us when we returned. Staff went out of their to assist guests. Ground were well groomed and buildings appeared fresh as though they had just been painted. Will stay there again when in Ft. Lauderdale

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor, of the Worthington building with semi private balcony, nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,705 reviews
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdal...
#2 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,615 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Worthington Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Worthington Guest House

Property: The Worthington Guest House
Address: 543 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price range (per night): $190 - $250
Hotel Class:3 star — The Worthington Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Worthington is the largest Gay clothing optional men's resort in North America. Three buildings, 63 rooms, 3 pools, two Hot tubs, free Continental breakfast, free parking, and just steps to the Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Booking.com so you can book your The Worthington Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Worthington Guest House Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing