We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
Ranked #14 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Solon, Ohio
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Overrated hotel”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The first night we were awaken by someone pounding on our door at 1am!! Had to call security. Location is good for beach access, but be aware the surrounding bars can be loud at night with their music.
Check in was annoying. I understand the issues with getting rooms clean and available but, I find it unacceptable when a representative says they will call when the room is ready and does not call. I also find it unacceptable to be told it will take 10 - 15 minutes to get a room "inspected" and then left sitting waiting for 20 minutes only to find out the room was available!!
Another day at 11am I told the rep. at the front desk that a toilet was backed up. He said he would take care of it right away. Upon returning to the room at 6pm NOTHING was done. Had to call again. Bottom line on service, the front desk staff is young, they smile a lot, but do not get anything done.
The rooms are okay. Good size, clean and comfortable but nothing exceptional.
The only saving grace for this stay was the concierge, Sheryl. Her recommendations were spot on.
The restaurant at the hotel was a bit pricey for the menu offering, but was adequate and convenient.
Overall, the service was a disappointment particularly for a hotel in this price range, and the facilities were just average.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raymon7746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer U, Director of Front Office at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Raymon7746,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to read that Sheryl was a great help and saving grace during your stay with us. We take a lot of pride in the amazing service our concierge team gives to each guest. However, we truly apologize that you had some inconsistent service from our Front Office team. We have a wonderful team and have addressed your concerns with them.

We hope we are able to welcome you back in the near future and turn around those mishaps you experienced.

Best Regards,

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,191
    445
    156
    90
    52
See reviews for
405
953
81
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WV
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This hotel is comfortable, clean, and well appointed. The bed and linens are awesome. Staff are attentive. Pool is small but adequate. Lobby coffee and lemon water are a nice touch. Biggest downside is the location. It's a couple of blocks to other restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boardthedogandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer U, Director of Front Office at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Boardthedogandgo,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are happy to read that you had a great time with us and hope to see you very soon so that our amazing concierge team can assist you further with recommendations to more great restaurants and shops that are not too far away. Please reach out to us when you are ready to return to sunny Ft. Lauderdale.

Best Regards,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at the Atlantic Resort and Spa for three nights in January following a cruise. it is a short taxi ride from the cruise terminal and has a lovely outlook across the beach. it is convenient for both the water taxis and the "trolley bus".

The rooms were spacious and clean although there was a rather strangely equipped kitchen area which was a bit obsolete. All staff were excellent and Jeanette, the Concierge was particularly helpful making bookings and researching trips for us.

I used the spa once, booking a massage which was outstanding and delivered by a lady of Eastern European origins whose name I am afraid I cant remember, but who I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer U, Director of Front Office at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear Lynda,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We take great pride in our customer service from all departments and are happy to know Jeanette was very helpful. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards,

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny area
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The hotel staff (John the Manager, the front desk, the engineer, everyone) was excellent. Both Concierges, Jeanete and Sheryl) were outstanding!

Room Tip: the suites provide the best room arrangement, but not the best view; the ocean front had the best vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jilleg100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Stayed at the W and Marriot's on the beach and this place has both beat. Much more affordable than both the amenities and location were excellent. Kitchenette in our oceanfront studio facing the water. Walking distance to the nightlife and restaurants. Staff members were friendly and accommodating. Property is not huge but adequate and easy to get in and out of with the beach directly across the street.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vilmar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,615 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,709 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel & Spa

Property: The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
Address: 601 N Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#12 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price range (per night): $245 - $547
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Atlantic Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for the discerning traveler, the resort is devoted to the pursuit of service and elegance, affording the perfect balance for business and pleasure. Recreationally speaking: The hotel is situated across from Fort Lauderdale's Blue Wave Beach, our full-service Spa,lap pool and fifth floor sun deck overlooking the ocean are indeed relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Atlantic Resort And Spa
The Atlantic Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing