We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't get closer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Ranked #32 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Can't get closer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Beautifully located near to Port Everglades. there is a great shuttle service right at the hotel to whisk you to your cruise in just a few minutes. Also, very convenient to the water taxi.
Hotel was pleasantly decorated. The morning brunch was delicious and generous. The front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Would ask for an east facing room so that you can see the in port cruise ships.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leawooddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    422
    186
    70
    46
See reviews for
247
417
73
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We arrived late to this hotel as we were going on the cruise the next day; the location is very convenient as it is within minutes from the cruise port and the Airport. The reception and the Staff were great. The nightmare started after we came back from our dinner and. Just look at the pictures. This is unacceptable in any grade hotel. The linen on the bed was dirty with some red marks (Could be old rust). The Bathroom was so dirty that my wife decided to wait and shower on the cruise ship. This room suppose to be an upgrade, very disappointing especially on our first night as a married couple. We had no time to argue with the manager,We will experience a different Hotel next time.

Room Tip: Facing the Port is Nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ottawazaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FTLRenaissanceGM, General Manager at Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
My name is Ryan Sistare and I am the General Manager for the Renaissance Fort Lauderdale. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about a recent experience at our hotel.

I would have to say that the level of cleanliness indicated in your review is not indicative of the way we conduct business. Please accept my personal apologies for your stay.

In addition, I would like you to know that we have used your pictures and thoughts as a training for our Room Attendants to ensure that this was an isolated incident.

As a team, we are committed to delivering on the guest experience and I again, apologize for the inconveniences with any issues you experienced and hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We booked this hotel not really knowing the area, but we were very pleased. Part of the Marriott chain, it's a very nice hotel, perfect for our needs. We stayed here the night before our cruise. It's located 5-mins. from Port Everglades where all the cruise ships dock. Very convenient. Signed up for a shuttle to the pier ($6/pp), in the lobby of the hotel. Close to Ft. Lauderdale airport also - about $11 cab ride.

Everyone at the hotel was great. Room was clean but not very big for three people. Lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Intercoastal is only a short walk. Well worth it to check out all the incredible privately owned yachts. Ft. Lauderdale beach is a few miles away. We took a free tram that runs every 15 mins., and stops just outside the hotel. The beach is a great people-watching place.

Hotel has a nice pool area but it backs up to 17th street, a busy/noisy road. Not the place to sit if you're looking for peace and quiet.

Overall, very nice. We would definitely stay here again, but only for a short stay. Perfect for pre-cruise hotel.

Room Tip: Weekends in Ft. Lauderdale are very busy. There are usually a lot of cruise ships in port and thousa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S Wales
Level Contributor
346 reviews
247 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Stayed for two nights in late Jan for a conference at the rate of $219 + tax.

It's fine - a standard Renaissance really. You know what you are getting. I'm a Marriott gold member so didn't pay for the wifi which worked fine. Rooms decent standard.

Didn't really have time to use any of the hotel facilities. The hotel staff were fine, professional and friendly. The conference was in the hotel itself and food was decent and everything went well.

There are various shops and foods outlets in the vicinity. However, the key thing to my mind is that it's a bit 'in the middle of nowhere'. So, unless you are using the cruise port (I assume it's close by as we kept hearing the ship's horns), or at a conference there, or you get a great rate, there seems little point in staying there.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drc225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

i was amazed at the professionalism, caring and going that extra mile of service of your staff Mr. Nat Greene, from the moment we walked in, very early am, tired and cranky, his smile and inviting personality made us feel so welcomed, i wanted to ask you please to take a moment to recognize him and thank him for everything, and please ask him to keep up the great work ethics that he is blessed with, (which is very hard to find nowadays!!!),
thank you from the bottom of my heart.
Shoushan Baghboudarian
a very satisfied customer/guest.

Room Tip: any room is great, make sure your guests find out about the businesses across the street from your f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shooshana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.5 km away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#53 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,508 reviews
1.1 km away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#42 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,632 reviews
1.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.6 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#39 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,899 reviews
0.3 km away
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Extended Stay America - Ft. Laud...
#79 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Property: Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Address: 1617 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price range (per night): $173 - $432
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Marriott, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing