We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Interesting” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bonnet House Museum and Gardens

Bonnet House Museum and Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Ponds with bonnet water lilies and tropical gardens surround this historic 35-acre 1921 courtyard style waterfront home, whose artistic and innovative owners, famed artist Frederic Clay Bartlett and his wife Evelyn, made equally beautiful inside.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

A good place to visit on a rainy day. Spend time at the beach if it's sunny.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank RSVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    688
    317
    85
    13
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“a nice walk in history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I always enjoy this sort of thing, and I was not disappointed.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MarthaA2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Overrated estate on original coastal barrier island”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I just walked the grounds, and did not visit the house itself. I was hoping for vistas or areas of charm and beauty. Instead I ran into valets for traffic, preparations for a society wedding, ugly signs, and clutter. There was little of interest to photograph, and I felt I had wasted $10, the admission charge. Some original Florida terrain has managed to survive here, but overall I was disappointed.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank belami27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A Florida Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

This place is what Florida is all about. A piece of old Florida History right in Ft Lauderdale. Would highly recommend for someone who wants a cheap interesting thing to do in So Fla.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bonnet House is worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

This is an old Florida privat estate now open to the public. The house tour is great as well as the garden tour. Recommended.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sedonadann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bonnet House Museum and Gardens also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Bonnet House Museum and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing