We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“right between 2 national parks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Gateway To The Keys
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Florida City
Certificate of Excellence
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“right between 2 national parks”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel in January because we thought it would be a good home base to visit the Everglades, and Biscayne National Parks. We were right.I was the perfect place.It was close to good restaurants, the room was clean and plenty big enough.The staff was very friendly and helpful. AND, I used my Best Western points to get one night FREE!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GATEWAYBW, General Manager at Best Western Gateway To The Keys, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you so much for the kind reveiw. We strive to keep our guests happy. I also do apologize for the pool having some leaves and sand in it. Sometimes on a windy day those leaves love to fly.

Again thank you and I hope to see you back soon.

Felix Camacho
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    615
    210
    38
    33
See reviews for
552
650
55
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
169 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Very clean and nice. Stayed one night on our way down to Key West. Friendly staff. Large rooms, bathrooms. Nice AM breakfast. Close to dining. Fabulous pool area, but the pool was not very clean. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegasgod_slcut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed here 28th Jan 2012, we were in the area for the Homestead Rodeo but it would be a good location as a launch point for the keys. There were two main negative points that come to mind, firstly there are no safes in the rooms and its noisey, the noise were cars parked outside the rooms arriving late and leaving early also you could hear people in other rooms more than expected, minor negatives are the breakfast wasn`t the best. The plus side is the location which is about as far south you`ll get a room before the Keys, the room was also clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GATEWAYBW, General Manager at Best Western Gateway To The Keys, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for the review.

I apologize for not having safes in the room, but in room safes have been know to have some fault security features easily seen on online videos. So for absolute security we offer guests the availability of safes at the desk with 24 hour staff near the safes and a security system monitoring them. And in concern for the second issue in regards with loud noise from trucks outside. I'm sorry they disturbed you, normally we don't have that issue, being our hotel was built for a hurricane. Solid concrete walls, category 3 doors and windows, sometimes loud trucks can be heard. With the rodeo in town we had a lot of trucks and trailers leaving early for the show.

Again, I appreciate your stay and review. I hope to see you again.

Felix Camacho
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
181 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The hotel was generally OK, but in a pretty crappy area -- we wanted a nice dinner, but Applebee's seemed to be the height of local cuisine. My major complaints about the hotel were three:
* The room's A/C worked, but it came on like a jet engine for about two minutes every twenty. Very noisy.
* The hotel's laundry's dryer vent was into the stairwell going up to the second floor at the end we were staying at. It ran all day and spewed lint and hot, moist air around. The stairwell as open to the outside at top and bottom, so this wasn't intolerable, but it was not reasonable.
* The in-room Internet turned out to be wired and the cable was plugged in between the beds and just barely reached the table where I had to put the computer, and that was tightly enough wedged in that I couldn't get the chair near it without the A/C blowing right on me (see #1, above).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkLOlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GATEWAYBW, Manager at Best Western Gateway To The Keys, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Hello and thank you for your review.

In reference to Applebees, there are several local restaurants. We actually have a Captain's Seafood house located at the entrance of the Hotel. This restaurantl is a local favorite as well with the Mutineer Restaurant. Both specialize in seafood, but also offer some wonderful steak options. Six intersections north of us we have Olive Garden, Red Lobster, Longhorn, and Chili's.

I'm sorry this information was not available in the lobby. But because of your review we added this information for all guests to see.

Thank you, and I hope to see you again,

Felix Camacho
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I was very satisfied with my stay at this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The front desk staff could tells us about restaurants in the area and driving directions. I called a couple times before arriving to make reservations and ask questions and they were very nice and patient with me. Our room was clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable. We had a queen (or king?) size bed, couch, table, kitchenette and bathroom. The pool area was nice with palm trees and flowering bushes. Sat outside, but didn't swim.Not quite warm enough. A few people were in the whirlpool. The continental breakfast buffet was good. Had bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, fancy muffins, toast, cereal, juices, etc. Good location to drive to the Everglades and Key Largo. Drove down to Key West one day, took about 3 hours to get there. They had a business room with a computer in it that I was able to use to check on my plane reservation.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingWolffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florida City
0.3 km away
Quality Inn Florida City - Homestead
0.8 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florida City
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florida City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
#6 of 12 in Florida City
951 reviews
5.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami-South-Homestead
4.3 km away
Floridian Hotel
Floridian Hotel
#4 of 14 in Homestead
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gateway To The Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gateway To The Keys

Property: Best Western Gateway To The Keys
Address: 411 South Krome Avenue, Florida City, FL 33034-4913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florida City
#5 Family Hotel in Florida City
#6 Business Hotel in Florida City
Price range (per night): $60 - $307
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Gateway To The Keys 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Florida City/Homestead, Florida, close to attractions such as the Everglades National Park, the Florida Keys, Miami Speedway, and Biscayne National Park. Best Western Gateway to the Keys’ guests will find friendly helpful staff, newly renovated accommodations and convenient access a variety of key area attractions. Located in Florida City, adjacent to Homestead this Southern Florida area hotel features well-appointed guest rooms, each equipped with Flat Screen LCD television, refrigerator, microwave and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will enjoy an array of amenities including a complimentary hot breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, Free guest laundry, free boat and RV parking and meeting facilities. Guests staying at the Best Western Gateway to the Keys will find an array of shopping nearby at the Prime Outlet Shops, the Cutler Bay Shopping Mall and The Falls Shopping Mall. NASCAR® fans staying at the hotel will appreciate being 5 miles from the Homestead/Miami Motorsports Complex, home to a variety of racing events throughout the year. This Homestead area hotel is also located less than 10 miles from key area attractions such as the Everglades National Park, Biscayne National Park and the John Pennekamp Underwater Stone Park. Visitors our hotel will also enjoy a day of fun in the sun at the beautiful Florida Keys or at Miami Beach, just a short drive away. The friendly, helpful staff at the Best Western Park Gateway to the Keys is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Florida City, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Gateway To The Keys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway To The Keys Hotel Florida City
Best Western Florida City
Florida City Best Western
Best Western Gateway To The Keys Florida City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing