We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You should NOT miss this spot!”
Review of Wicked BAO

Wicked BAO
Price range: USD 10 - USD 14
Description: Asian Street Food served in a fast-casual atmosphere! Located in downtown Fernandina Beach, Wicked Bao aims to bring Southeast Asia regional street fare to the local community and visitors of NE Florida. Small plates, noodle bowls, rice bowls and our signature Baos -steamed bun filled with choices of protein, garnished with veggies, and finished with dressings. Draft beers, Asian beers, wines.
Restaurant details
Description: Asian Street Food served in a fast-casual atmosphere! Located in downtown Fernandina Beach, Wicked Bao aims to bring Southeast Asia regional street fare to the local community and visitors of NE Florida. Small plates, noodle bowls, rice bowls and our signature Baos -steamed bun filled with choices of protein, garnished with veggies, and finished with dressings. Draft beers, Asian beers, wines.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wow, what an amazing place in an off the beaten path location! Beautifully decorated, outdoor patio seating, amazing friendly/helpful staff. Daily specials, LOTS of food options, more than generous portions. SOOO glad we had this on our list of places to hit! Line was to the door when we got there & we we're pleasantly surprised to find out why!

Thank mikelU2884KW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathalieWu, Owner at Wicked BAO, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much for visiting with us! Wicked BAO strives to be The Place for tasty Asian Street Food in Fernandina Beach. Come back soon for more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wicked BAO has quickly become my wife’s and my favorite restaurant on the island. We have returned many times since Natalie Wu first opened her fantastic restaurant.
A BOA is a type of steamed bun, and quite tasty I might add.
You really can’t go wrong with anything on the menu board. But, if you are unsure, try the BOA trio; a fried chicken boa, a beef boa and a pork belly boa. ALL exceptional. We were in the other night and a sashimi tuna poke with rice tots was the special. Well, special it was. It quickly became my all-time favorite on the menu. Upon talking to Natalie, she told us that it was so well received that it will now be on the permanent menu. Be still my heart.
Dee at the desk has been there since they opened and will go out of her way to assure a great dining experience.
I can’t emphasize enough, this place is great.

Thank DRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathalieWu, Owner at Wicked BAO, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much for visiting with us again and again! We love our Regulars, visitors, and we love family with young ones ... Come back soon for more tasty Asian Street Food. And yes, we love the Ahi Tuna Poke with Crispy Rice Tots!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is at the very end of north 2nd street so you will have to drive but it is well worth it. I just love octopus and it usually cannot be found where the preparation is perfect. This dish usually is rubbery but the Wicked knows how to make it. They have noodle bowls and are kind of a fusion place. I highly recommend it.

Thank Fonda2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathalieWu, Owner at Wicked BAO, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much for visiting with us! Charred Octopus is one of my favorite dishes on Wicked BAO menu. Come back soon for more tasty Asian Street Food!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Advertised as Taiwanese street food, but if that bothers you, don't think twice about it....go to Wicked Bao and have a wonderful meal and dining experience with friendly and accommodating staff surrounding you. You will find that the food at Wicked Bao is far more than just street food, and delicious.

As you walk in the door, you will see the menu on the wall to the left with daily specials in a boxed-in area on the board. Different selections of food and drink are listed and priced with happy hour 4pm-6pm price reductions on some of the foods and beverages. They offer soft drinks, wines, beers, and sake concoctions. (Suggestion: go online to their nice website before going to the restaurant and familiarize yourself with the menu. It will speed up the ordering process when you arrive and you can see the large variety of dishes from small plate tapas to noodle bowls to seafood, meats and chicken dishes).

Once you've decided on your food and drink selection, one of the nice staff people will greet you at the board at the hostess stand, where you will ask any questions, order, pay and take a number to put on your table. Credit cards are accepted and seating is open or at a nice sized bar. Shortly, your drinks will arrive, and your food not long after. They are very prompt with beverage and food service, however, if you order tapas style (small plates), they may not all arrive at the same time. So, enjoy each plate as it arrives.

Dee, the hostess at the time we were at Wicked Bao for happy hour, was very friendly, professional and informative. All of the staff were congenial and welcoming. Makes the dining experience so enjoyable with a staff like this who enjoy working with the public.

Within minutes of ordering and taking a seat, our drinks arrived and almost immediately afterward food started arriving. We decided to enjoy and share some tapas plates, including pot stickers, chicken wings, fried chicken bao, and grilled octopus. All were delicious. The wings were coated in a dry rub with a slight spiciness, which was delicious, but were moist and tender. For dessert, only one offered, we really enjoyed the green tea and mango Mochis. We opted not to try the red bean Mochi but everyone said that it was their favorite, so next time we will order all three. They are small balls of ice cream covered with a great tasting pasty rice covering. They are enough to share between two people or you might want a bowl of the three for yourself. A great end to an outstanding meal.

To get to the Wicked Bao just walk or drive a few blocks north of Cenre out 2nd Street North. The restaurant is located near the end of 2nd Street North in sort of an industrial/residential area, very deceiving. Parking is on the street, and across the street perpendicular to the metal building.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gdt655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathalieWu, Owner at Wicked BAO, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much for visiting with us & for your wonderful review! Wicked BAO strives to be The Place for tasty Asian Street Food in Fernandina Beach. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have traveled all over and Florida can be difficult to find certain types of good food. Wicked Bao is the exception. Great staff. Absolutely delicious and great presentation.

Thank 672justinq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathalieWu, Owner at Wicked BAO, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much for visiting with us! Wicked BAO strives to be The Place for tasty Asian Street Food in Fernandina Beach. Come back soon for more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wicked BAO also viewed

Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Wicked BAO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing