We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“3rd visit. It just keeps getting better.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Addison on Amelia Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Addison on Amelia Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Music City, USA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“3rd visit. It just keeps getting better.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

I am writing this review while relaxing on a covered porch overlooking the courtyard. A cooling breeze is making its way in from the mainland. The fountain is burbling away and a squirrel is making his way up and down the oak trees. If the Addison isn't on your bucket list, your list is wrong.

This is our 3rd visit to the Addison and this place keeps getting better. The Addison was our first BnB and we have tried others since, but nobody does it like Bob, Shannon, and Lee. New complimentary bikes have been added, various bits of decor are updated, and the already great menu has added more fresh ingredients. I didn't think the breakfasts could get better. I was wrong.

Every innkeeper should be begging this family to lead a seminar in how to do this right.
Keep up the fantastic work.

Room Tip: 1-5 are in the main house. 6-15 are in the carriage houses overlooking the courtyard. 6 -9 are downs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeylizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    32
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
61
740
33
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lima
Level Contributor
708 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Everything about The Addison was top notch. From our greeting by Shannon (owner) when we arrived, to our lovely room, to the happy hour, to the incredible breakfasts, to the location and to the entertainment provided by Bob (owner). We stayed in room 7 which was very large with a huge bathroom including a two person jacuzzi. All amenities were provided. The happy hour was a great way to meet other people and get information about Amelia Island. Bob made sure that everyone got their fill of food and drink. He also made sure that everyone had dinner plans and reservations. If not he made the time to take care of them. We borrowed bikes to ride the the fort. The bikes were almost new and in better shape than any other bikes we have used at other B&Bs. The walk into town is only a few small blocks so you could get anywhere in a matter of minutes. Overall the Addison is one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: We loved room 7. It was on the first floor with a view of the courtyard. It was easy to tote in ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sket101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We love staying at the Addison. This was our third visit and we stayed five days. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, very nicely appointed and very clean. We enjoy sitting on the porch outside our room; it's a great place to read or just relax. The breakfasts are delicious. Wine, beer and appetizers at Happy Hour are a nice touch and it is an opportunity to talk with other guests who come from across the country. The location of the inn is perfect; a quick walk into town to go to restaurants and shopping, but just a couple blocks away so that it's quiet and relaxing. The innkeepers were very accommodating by providing us with a very early (delicious) breakfast when we had a ferry to catch on a day trip to Cumberland Island. Lots of little special touches that make you feel at home: snacks and drinks available during the day in the dining room, bottled water in the room, beach chairs and towels and bikes available any time. Bob and Shannon and their daughter Lee do a wonderful job. We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snbvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Good points: impeccably clean, unbelievably good food, great courtyard, excellent location.
Bad points: had to park on the road, small room, no refrigerator in room, only 2 chairs outside of our room and when had guests over, did not have seats for them on our balcony (warned by owner not to " borrow" unused chairs outside of another room without asking first ...thought that was a little ridiculous)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jvspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

This B&B is just lovely. we stayed here for 4 nights in August 2011. The rooms are incredibly clean and are decorated with a very good taste The room we were in was also very big. The breakfast was delicious, everyday something different and the happy hour was real fun, don't miss any of them! The owners were also most firendly and sociable, sitting with us during the happy hour and giving as lots of useful advice about were to go or visit and interesting facts about AMelia Island. Great place to relax and enjoy.
The house is also walking distance from the city center and only a very short drive to the beach. They give you chairs and towels for the beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fernandina Beach
2.8 km away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#3 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
2.8 km away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#4 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
12.8 km away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
0.1 km away
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
Blue Heron Inn - Amelia Island
#1 of 6 in Fernandina Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Addison on Amelia Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Addison on Amelia Island

Property: The Addison on Amelia Island
Address: 614 Ash St, Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island, FL 32034-3933
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island > Fernandina Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fernandina Beach
Price range (per night): $304 - $381
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Addison on Amelia Island, a romantic Bed and Breakfast Inn nestled in a historic seaside village in Northern Florida. Three antebellum style buildings surround a central courtyard containing a three-tier fountain, lush gardens and winding brick pathways. The verandah, the social center of the inn, overlooks the courtyard. This is where you enjoy a delicious breakfast that is prepared and served by your innkeepers each morning and where you can join us for a glass of wine and appetizers while making new friends at the afternoon Happy Hour. Fourteen guest rooms seamlessly blend the elegance of a bygone era with the modern amenities, services and conveniences that today’s discriminating traveler expects. Each guest room has a private bath, some with oversized jetted tubs, with thirsty Turkish cotton towels and Green bath amenities. Luxurious bed linens, lots of large down-filled pillows and comfortable mattresses provide a good night’s sleep so that you awake refreshed and ready to enjoy your day. All guest rooms are air conditioned and free WiFi is available throughout the property. Complimentary bicycles and beach gear, including towels, chairs and umbrellas, are available for our guest’s use while exploring our beautiful island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Addison On Amelia Island Hotel Fernandina Beach
The Addison On Amelia Island Fernandina Beach, FL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing