We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A wee gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Cafe

Island Cafe
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cafe, Diner, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A wee gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We were going along CR 29 towards Everglades City feeling a bit peckish when we came upon this unprepossessing building on the right hand side of the road. What a find!! We had some of the best food we had tasted on our whole trip to Florida allied to fantastic Pink Lemonade which my wife can thoroughly recommend!! My "shrimps in a basket" were to die for and the chicken sandwich in a basket was of the same standard. The icing on the cake however was the friendly staff who topped the whole experience off with a smile.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AberdeenMusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    277
    97
    28
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Everglades City, Florida
1 review
“good family food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

quick service ,good food , family place with burgers and fries with out the big price.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank katieskountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinos
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good lunch or breakfast choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Clean with good basic food served quickly and fairly priced.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank padredave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBelle, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“good food, fast service, friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

Food was good, timely service, friendly staff, food tasted good.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VLawton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome food !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

My family of 4 ate breakfast at this little, casual diner. Although it was just everyday breakfast menu the flavor of EVERYTHING was incredible. My children ages 12 and 9 both kept praising the food and they cleaned their plates ( something they rarely do ) . Wish we could have stayed longer and had lunch and dinner.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank houseofwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Cafe also viewed

Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
Everglades City, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Island Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing