We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
25
25
12
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
25
12
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages crystal beach neighborhood feel destin commons fresh paint high rise condos a wonderful stay paper towels beach access resortquest furniture unit awning laundry tp bunk sofa
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

The Nantucket Rainbow Cottage community in Destin is very picturesque and cozy. Convenient parking and walking paths through the community with a nice community pool. Close proximity to beach...just a short stroll so if you have smaller kids or you want to be beachfront then this may not be your best bet. But we found them to be very clean and cozy and very affordable. Some have amenities such as dishwashers that the one we rented this time did not unfortunately have. Really missed not having a way to sanitize dishes between different renters. Overall it is a nice choice for families who don't mind a short stroll to the beach and the affordability factor is very nice. Would definitely recommend. The neighborhood is located just across the street from the Inn at Crystal Beach.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank kwelch46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

We have stayed in luxurious cottages and condos over the years but we needed another get away this year and this time it had to be an affordable get away. We stayed in Cottage 9-A.It had a stainless steel refrigerator and stove, cook top, microwave, coffeemaker, (NO dishwasher) and flat screen tv's, modern furniture along with free wifi and community pool.
It was a beautiful 2 minute walk to the public beach. My husband and I slept in the master suite with comfortable queen bed. The children slept in the bunk beds right outside our door.
When entering the cottage you must climb very steep steps. Add water and sand and it can be slippery.
I was prepared by other reviews that the cottage would not be very clean. The reviews were correct so I did a little cleaning when we arrived and all week.
The cottage was still great for the price and location. Can't beat it.
The pool is NOT nice. Locals use it.
The laundry building it right by the pool and it costs $1.50 to wash and the same to dry. The machines hold a lot and dry quickly.
Our unit had a nice view of the other expensive houses. There are no loud cruisers driving by. The children played ball in the grass in front or we sat on the deck reading and watching.
The outdoor furniture is cheap mildewed plastic. But we didn't mind. We were only paying $85 a night.
We rented umbrella chairs on the beach for the week for $35 a day at the beach. There is NO bathroom at the public beach you must use and the pool has NO bathroom either.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pnutbeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

Overall, we were pleased with our condo. It was clean, but is in need of some updating. The mattress in the bedroom is in dire need of an upgrade. Our backs are quite sore. Otherwise, you have everything you need to cook simple meals in the kitchen, which was a money-saver for us. TVs with cable in the living room and bedroom were nice for some downtime with the kids. Shower is roomy and the towels were nice and soft. The toilet is another opportunity for improvement. It needs to be replaced, the tank is wobbly and the plunger is needed often.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Holli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016

The unit we stayed in was cute, and reasonably clean. I wiped everything down with bleach as I found some dead caterpillars next to the couch. This unit could really use a facelift to look less dated. For example, the furniture, rugs and wall art need to be replaced. And, the shower needs to be deep cleaned to remove the scum in the corners. Honestly, the property itself needs to be revitalized; each cottage could use fresh paint. This property is a diamond in the rough, just needs some TLC. I would be remiss not to mention the awful smell right outside of our unit; it seemed like a small animal died or something. Maintenance needs to keep an eye on the brush as lots of things can hide down below. Overall, if you are on a tight budget, this is a good value for the location, which is on the scenic route, and a five minute walk to the beach.

Room Tip: Avoid the bottom units (except for 3A which I read had mice).
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

Nice place we are in unit # 14 everything u need.from pots and pans to towels nice place.Beach across the street.blue water white sand. Bring your beach chairs and umbrella.restaurants plenty near by to choose from.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank santa38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews