We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice walk for little children”

Ranked #40 of 70 things to do in Destin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A nature trail and playground.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
124 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice walk for little children”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We did treasure hunts here and often take ocean kayaks across bay to Jolee.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank photographersabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    11
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
525 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Not fancy but fun”
Reviewed 25 December 2011

A fun way to spend a few minutes, but nothing particularly exceptional.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not impressed either”
Reviewed 6 April 2011

As another poster stated, there are little bugs that bite all over the place. The playground is second rate as well. You're better off skipping it and going a few more paces to the north to the Village. The playground is much better, and there are no bugs there. On top of that there are many restaurants (although expensive) and other attractions such as a carousel and zip lines.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank GoemrPyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Sandestin is by far one of the best places to be, the beaches anywhere else in the gulf cannot compare. My kids love the island and had a blast. Anyone who doesn't like this area and resort is probably not a very happy person! Magical place!

Helpful?
1 Thank rustresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wasn't impressed”
Reviewed 14 April 2005

In May 2004, my family and I stayed in Sandestin and inevitably my kids (6 and 3) wanted to know where the nearest playground was located. I asked at the front desk and was directed to Jolee Island. (If I have one complaint about the Sandestin resort, it's the lack of playgrounds for kids. We couldn't even locate a swing.) Jolee Island is really a charming setting. However, a much better job could have been done on the play structure. You cross a small bridge to the island and there are trails and a wooden structure for playing. The structure itself looks very old and it's supposed to resemble a pirate ship. My kids spent about 5 minutes on it before they wanted to explore the trails. I was disappointed because the island itself is quite large and it seems a very elaborate play area could have been built. Another recollection I have about Jolee Island is the biting insects. I was bitten several times by some sort of flying bug (not mosquitoes). Take bug spray!

Helpful?
24 Thank houstonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jolee Island Nature Park also viewed

Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Jolee Island Nature Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing