We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fascinating, modern approach to remodeling a Victorian mansion.”
Review of Stetson Mansion

Stetson Mansion
Ranked #1 of 78 things to do in DeLand
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Stetson Mansion is a spectacular Victorian mansion built for famed hat maker and philanthropist John B Stetson in 1886. Situated right between Orlando and Daytona in DeLand makes it convenient for all visiting the central Florida area. This is Florida's first luxury estate and houses some of the most beautiful and intricate parquet floors in the world. The mansion is one of the first homes in the world to be designed and built with Edison electricity. The owners have painstakingly renovated every square inch of the 10,000 sq foot masterpiece while incorporating today's modern conveniences. All this was done without compromising the architectural or historical integrity. Every room on every one of the three floors is magnificently decorated and every room features a different style floor and window design There is Reservations are required $20-$30 per person and children are $15. Payment is cash at the door and we do charge applicable sales tax. See you at the Mansion!!
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Complete tour of a beautifully updated and remodeled, three story Victorian mansion built originally by J.A. Stetson, creator of "Stetson Hats." The kitchen is now an award winning kitchen with the latest appliances. Livingroom, library, bedrooms retained all the original wood floors, moldings, only walls and ceilings were updated by artisans. Kent our tour guide smoothly gave us all the background of the man and his family and mansion with fascinating anecdotes and ties to other historic people and events. A delightful tour and a real value!

1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCT2464, Owner at Stetson Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you so much for joining one of Kent's tours and learning about the mansion and all the influential and renouned guests that have walked the very same hallways. Kent leads a fantastic tour that is fun, informative and personal. We are very lucky to have someone with such a passion for the mansion as him. Thank you for posting about your experience with us we appreciate your time and effort in doing so!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"christmas tour"
in 564 reviews
"christmas decorations"
in 465 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 635 reviews
"grand tour"
in 158 reviews
"christmas season"
in 154 reviews
"parquet floors"
in 130 reviews
"current owners"
in 124 reviews
"different theme"
in 86 reviews
"labor of love"
in 75 reviews
"wonderful christmas"
in 37 reviews
"historical home"
in 61 reviews
"central florida"
in 143 reviews
"spectacular tour"
in 37 reviews
"wonderful home"
in 34 reviews
"thomas edison"
in 42 reviews
"jt thompson"
in 45 reviews
"winter home"
in 41 reviews
Filter

3,202 - 3,206 of 3,343 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

The Stetson Mansion is a must-see attraction for those visiting Central Florida. I have never seen more beautful wood floors of basketweave, parquet, and decorative insets. The antique, leaded glass windows are fit for a king! The grounds and architecture are inspiring and gave me a glimse of how some of the wealthiest early settlers of Central Florida lived. Hospitable owners J.T. and Michael have restored the estate to its original splendor using the finest artisans and craftsmen. If you are lucky like I was, they will personally give you a guided tour. It is significant that the Stetson Mansion is one of the first homes in the United States designed and built with Edison electricity. The old school house on the grounds has now been transformed into a guest house that is truly amazing! If you appreciate history and quality, add this tour to your list of things to do while visiting Central Florida! I'm glad I did.

1  Thank 278Megan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCT2464, Owner at Stetson Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

That's some pretty impressive company to be part of..thank you very much! Michael and I have worked dilligently to bring the Stetson Mansion to the forefront and with the help of people like yourself the word is spreading. We can't thank you enough for visiting the mansion and than posting your thoughts and feelings about your experience. Because of you future guests will take the time to make the Stetson Mansion part of their central Florida experience. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Great restoration of an older Mansion with some original and some modern themes.
The original old flooring is near perfect and different in each room. The old doorways and windows are just amazing. Very easy to find and close to Daytona, Orlando, Jacksonville
and many East coast locations. I found it my word of mouth visiting another Mansion. The best way to know is a great place to visit.

1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCT2464, Owner at Stetson Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

That is fantastic that you heard about us from a past guest! Thanks for taking their word and seeing for yourself the mansion's amazing grandeur. We are right between Daytona and Orlando so it is not that much of a inconvenience for visitors or residents. We would like to thank you for your visit and your comments on Trip Advisor, this little wxtra gesture really makes a huge difference for us and our potential visitors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed touring this historic mansion ca. 1886. It has been lovingly restored and our guide was one of the owners with unlimited historic knowledge of John B. Stetson and the building of this luxurious estate. We included lunch at the Main Street Grille (highly recommended) and a stop at Key West Key Lime Pie Shoppe for some local flavor. A great town to visit with out of town guests.

1  Thank ocalaresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCT2464, Owner at Stetson Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Thank you for booking a tour with and visiting our quaint little downtown! There really is so much to see and do in our area. I have sent hours and days researching as much as I could find about Mr Stetson and his family and it has been quite a learning experience, but I loved every minute of it. Thank you also for taking the time to post your comments we greatly appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Tour is great, a diamond in Deland, FL! The mansion is restored to perfection!

1  Thank Sonja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCT2464, Owner at Stetson Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you so much for commenting on our treasure! Michael and I really appreciate your visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stetson Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Stetson Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing