We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”
Review of Dolphin Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dolphin Beach Club
Ranked #60 of 103 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Douglasville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We are from Atlanta and we stayed for a week on our vacation and it was nice. The staff was very friendly.The outside pool area was nice also. The hot tub was not clean enough and my kids got itchy from the hot tub so they stayed out of it after that. The condo was small but nice for us - two bathrooms made the condo even better. Could have spent a little more money on a TV for the master bedroom. The dryers need to be better, and I think that is the only complaint I have. You did have to go on Mondays and/or Wednesday's to get fresh towels and other essentials.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Douglasvillemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    26
    6
    11
    4
See reviews for
26
34
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Dolphin Beach Club is a small, older (converted motel) type resort located right on the Beach in Daytona Beach Shores. If you're looking for a casual laid back resort with a nice pool and beach access you will find it here. Nothing fancy so don't expect the Ritz... our room was an efficiency (1 queen bed and sofa sleeper, one room with divider) we were staying with our 5 year old grandson, and although it was smaller than other resorts, there was enough room for us to get by comfortably.... after all we spent 90% of the time out on the beach. Might be tight with 4 adults. The rooms have recently been updated and the furniture and bed were nice, clean and attractive. Bed was comfortable enough for us. Kitchen very small but I was able to make Mac/cheese, sandwiches, etc with no problem, full size fridge was nice too. Also have gas grills in the pool gazebo for grilling out if you want. Beach resorts always tend to show wear and tear more so than other resorts but they look to be trying to keep this up and in good shape. It is nothing fancy though. Of course the best thing about this resort is the Beach... and second best is the pool and pool area. There was a nice mix of guests during our stay, some elderly people along with some families with younger children and teenagers and there were a couple of young adult groups and honeymooners, so a good mix. Not alot of "planned activities" but after all we are there for the beach. They did provide some pool floats, etc for the kids and Monday morning free coffee and donuts were nice too. The staff was friendly as were most of the guests. Very causal atmosphere. We were on the 3rd floor and had a great view of the ocean, pelicans and even a few dolphins. I am a Bluegreen points member and had leftover points that could only be used at a "red" resort which is why I chose the Dolphin Beach Club. It is not as fancy as the Seabreeze, that is why it is classified as "red" but I would stay here again in the future, would probably try to get two rooms if I was coming with older grandkids or with other adults though.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ally4900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnsville
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

The resort pool pic on this sites main page is from another resort and state. There are no mountains in Daytona. The actual pool is very nice and is right above the beach. During our stay, even though vehicles are allowed on the beach, the beach was uncrowded and beach auto traffic was minimal. The sand is very fine and when damp or wet, packs hard. Wet or dry, it is a great walking beach, even barefoot; no seaweed, trash, or hard shells to avoid.

The resorts beachfront units face Southeast, and the pool is btwn the resort and ocean, so by 4:30PM the sun has crossed to the front of the building, shading the pool. Our unit faced the parking lot rather than the ocean. There is a gazebo bar with 2 gas BBQ grills for guests to use. There is also a hot tub and sauna.

The unit was created by combining two motel rooms. There were 2 bathrooms, a bedroom, kitchen and living area with fold out sofa. The unit seemed clean and well maintained with the exception of the stove which had loose burners that wouldnt lay flat. Full fridge, micro, coffee maker, blender, toaster, small elec range and oven (stove top burners were loose and wouldn't lay flat), pans and dishes, dishsoap, and bath soap were included. The kitchen is only big enough for one person at a time. The living area is small because the standard motel room needed to include the kitchen, dining table, livingroom sofa & chair, end tables, TV and dresser. A lot of furniture in a small area. Overall, the unit is quite comfortable for two adults, and maybe an additional small child or two. It would be cramped for four adults. The staff is friendly and accomodating.

Daytona Beach Shores is a quieter location than central Daytona Beach; fewer restaurants, bars, stores, etc. Walk a couple blocks and there are three fun eateries under the bridge to the mainland, providing waterfront dining. About a mile north of Dolphin, is Publix supermarket where we found what we needed for preparing our beachfront grilled meals back at the resort.

The only significant disappointment was the humidity. Our unit had an air conditioner in the livingroom and one in the bedroom, but although we were able to create a chill in the room, we could not reduce the humidity to a comfortable level. It was so increadibly damp in the room that we could not sleep or get comfortable. We vacation in Florida regularly and we have never had a humidity issue like this before. As nice as the location, pool, and oceanfront location was, I will seek accomodations with better humidity control on my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2views
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

I've stayed at the Dolphin Beach Club twice - in June 2008 for a week and again for two weeks in August 2009. I got a fabulous deal for under $200 a week, so as long as the place was safe and clean, I wasn't going to complain much.

It's not the Ritz, but the place is well-run. I had to move from one room to another this time - which was a major pain. The first one's bathroom was nice. The second one's bathroom was... disgusting and very old and in desperate need of updating. The kitchens are 'basic' and the utensils, etc are hit and miss.

I had a 'studio' type room - there's a queen bed with an accordian-like room divider if needed. A sofa bed in the other half. It is comfortable for two people. The people next to me had FOUR adults in their room. (I have NO idea how they could manage that.) There is ample storage. I was fortunate to have a ground-floor room - larger balcony - the views were fabulous.

However, the convenience of the beach/pool was fabulous. I walked the beach most mornings at sunrise, laid out in the sun all day, came back for a late lunch & shower, and then walked for the sunset. There is a couple of gas grills for use in the pool area - great added feature. Problem is that some people let their music go a little too loud.

First week was like the retirement home's version of spring break. Was sort of creeped out by some of the older men staring and making comments when I was minding my own business laying out (in a tasteful bikini). The 2nd week (Labor Day Week) was completely different. Much younger crowd - woman about 200lbs strutting around in a thong. (There were children ALL over the place.) The dynamic of the other guests is quite diverse.

The staff is amenable enough. The people that are in charge of the massive cleaning undertaking on Saturdays was... scary and colorful. (Again, if you are coming for one week, won't be an issue.) They provide beach towels for use but they are like complete towel nazis about it.

Depending on what you pay for the place, it's decent enough. If you are there for the beach, having a fairly clean and safe place it's okay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NativeAtlantaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitwell, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2009

Well, I have been an owner in Bluegreen for about 4 years and this by far is the worst place I have ever stayed that was considered a resort! The front of the building looks like a run down MOTEL not a resort. The room was a nice size, but for what it costs to be a Bluegreen owner, this was pitiful. The kitchen was so small that two people could not be in there together. The stove wobbled and the burners did not lay flat,so you couldn't cook anything evenly. The bathroom looked "nasty". The wood room divider had spider webs all over it and the electric outlets where not in the wall. The GOOD parts of this trip was being able to see the shuttle launch from the beach, the beach was beautiful and the view from the balcony was great!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeachBabe47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daytona Beach
0.9 km away
Tropical Suites Daytona Beach
Tropical Suites Daytona Beach
#71 of 103 in Daytona Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.3 km away
Beachside Motel
Beachside Motel
#42 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 km away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#14 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Pirates Cove
Pirates Cove
#66 of 103 in Daytona Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Express and Suites O...
#1 of 2 in Daytona Beach Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
1.2 km away
Bluegreen Daytona Seabreeze, Ascend Resort Collection
Bluegreen Daytona Seabreeze, Asc...
#36 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach Club

Property: Dolphin Beach Club
Address: 3355 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-6395
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 103 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dolphin Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach Club Hotel Daytona Beach
Dolphin Beach Hotel
Dolphin Beach Club Daytona Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing