We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
USD 165
USD 143
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 83
USD 80
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 109
USD 102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Crystal River)
Book now, pay at stay
USD 65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Crystal River Resort(Crystal River)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 207
USD 172
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
USD 98
USD 94
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River(Crystal River)(Great Value!)
USD 118
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 75
USD 73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (1,771)
Filter reviews
1,771 results
Traveller rating
700
646
251
100
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
700
646
251
100
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursedive shopbeautiful propertyadventure centermanatee tourcaptain rossshuffle boardsunset cruiseswim with manateeswet suitsmain buildingwater viewhot tubold floridascallopsmusty smellthree sisters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 1,771 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We did not know what to expect from the hotel in Crystal River, and were very pleasantly surprised. The room was comfortable, spacious and the grounds were pleasantly situated on the Crystal River (more accurately a canal as it runs by most of the hotel). What impressed us the most, however, was Sandra at the front desk. She was not only extraordinarily knowledgeable about the area, but her recommendations for sightseeing and eating were as good as any local guide could ever provide. The breakfast buffet was the only part of the stay that came up a bit short in terms of choices, and don't bother ordering eggs - the chefs "don't have time."

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg2G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra W, Guest Relations Manager at Plantation on Crystal River, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to complete our online survey, we truly appreciate your feedback and I have shared the information you provided with our food and beverage director. I am so pleased you enjoyed some of our local activities and hope you created some wonderful memories!! I look forward to your next visit and sharing some more information about the amazing things we have in this area. Our goal is to provide our guest with a fun family friendly environment with plenty of amenities and activities to enjoy in the relaxed old Florida atmosphere with all the southern charm we are known for.

Kindest Regards,
Sandra Whitesell
Guest Service Manager
The Plantation on Crystal River

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We stayed two nights. The room was spacious with a king bed and a pull out. The bed was comfortable, the pull out (obviously) less so, but acceptable. There is ample parking. The surrounding is pleasant with a river or canal next to the buildings. There is a medium sized swimming pool for kids and games like croquet, etc.
We had one dinner and one breakfast in their restaurant. The dinner food was better than average, but the service was slow (no complaints about the pleasantness of the service, just that it was slow). Breakfast was at best average. The variety and quality left much to be desired. We could not get any milk other than whole milk. This was for coffee and it wasn't there on the buffet table - we had asked our waitperson. Food that ran out was not replenished quickly. After one morning of this, we decided to eat breakfast and dinner out - there are many better choices nearby.
We had a disappointing experience with getting our room cleaned. We were out the whole day and came back at 7 pm to find the room still not cleaned. When we called they cleaned it promptly. I don't know if there is a problem with getting enough staff.
So overall, a 3.5 star experience.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndySafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra W, Guest Relations Manager at Plantation on Crystal River, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey, we appreciate your feedback and I have shared the information you provided with our food and beverage director. Our goal is to provide a fun family friendly environment with plenty of amenities and activities for guest of all ages to enjoy in a relaxed old Florida atmosphere with all the southern charm this area is known for! We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Sandra Whitesell
Guest Service Manager
The Plantation on Crystal River

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

So the positives first. Great property - right on the water, lots of big trees, green grass and plantings. Nice pool area, volley-ball courts, croquet etc. Marina right on the property with manatee tours, kayak and boat rentals etc. The exterior of the buildings were nice - southern plantation type feel. Rooms were large, clean and had little patios and chairs. Staff was very friendly. However the property is old and dated and needs a refresh (think about a dated Comfort Inn). The access controlled exterior doors to the hotel did not work. The bathtub backed up, the fixtures were low end. The breakfast buffet was as uninteresting/uninspired as they come. The service (while friendly) was mediocre. Housekeeping was understaffed so rooms did not get serviced until late afternoon, no towels at the pool etc etc. That all said the The Plantation is the best option in the area, it was clean, things largely worked and the staff was friendly and trying to do the best they could with what they have. Crystal River is definitely worth the trip for a long weekend to see the manatees, go fishing, do the Segway tour, take an airboat/eco tour and the Plantation is probably the best place in the area to stay.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank daddyo-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra W, Guest Relations Manager at Plantation on Crystal River, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to complete our online survey, we truly appreciate your feedback. We have begun several renovation projects throughout the resort starting with new wood floors and soon there will be new furniture and decor in all the guest rooms, we have also started renovating many of the common areas. We have recently completed the fun new sports bar theme for the 19th Hole Pro Bar, as well as a wonderful new outdoor seating area for the West 82 Grill, and there are still many more wonderful things still in store for our beloved resort! Our goal is to provide a fun family friendly environment with plenty of amenities and activities for guest of all ages to enjoy in a relaxed old Florida atmosphere with all the southern charm this area is known for! We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Sandra Whitesell
Guest Service Manager
The Plantation on Crystal River

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Had an amazing trip on Crystal River with Captain John Spann with my wife. His knowledge of the river, the manatees and the wildlife was beyond what your normally expect. His ability to make the trip a success for everyone was outstanding.
The size of the group 10 persons and the gear provided by the company made the trip a huge success that only can be highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Erikjuhlmogensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra W, Guest Relations Manager at Plantation on Crystal River, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to complete our online survey, we truly appreciate your feedback. We are so pleased you and your wife enjoyed the manatee adventure and I have shared you kind words with Captain John. Our goal is to provide a fun family friendly environment with plenty of amenities and activities for guest of all ages to enjoy in a relaxed old Florida atmosphere with all the southern charm this area is known for! We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Sandra Whitesell
Guest Service Manager
The Plantation on Crystal River

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Great spot for a spring break vacation with the family. Rooms were clean and staff were friendly. The kids love the pool area and lawn games. WiFi was not the greatest but otherwise I don’t have a complaint. Very nice experience. We would definitely come back.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank awildasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra W, Guest Relations Manager at Plantation on Crystal River, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete our online survey, we truly appreciate your feedback. We are very please you and your fmaily choose us as your spring break vacation destination!! Our goal is to provide a fun family friendly environment with plenty of amenities and activities for guest of all ages to enjoy in a relaxed old Florida atmosphere with all the southern charm this area is known for! We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Sandra Whitesell
Guest Service Manager
The Plantation on Crystal River

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews