We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than New Orleans!”

Seafood Seller & Cafe
Ranked #2 of 110 Restaurants in Crystal River
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 7 - USD 35
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are a family based cafe.All our products from fish, chicken, steaks are all fresh and prepared to order.We donot take reservations however our turn time is fairly quick.We have been known to stay open late to feed our guest.Please come give us a try .We also have a retail market so you are able to buy fresh seafood to go.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This was the best Cajun/New Orleans food we ever had, and we've been to New Orleans several times. What a special place this is. We met the owner, and want to compliment him and his wife on creating this wonderful restaurant. Our server was cheerful and a hustler. Our food was incredible. I had the best crab cakes - huge chunks of sweet crab meat, only enough filler to keep it together. Really - they were the best I ever had, anywhere. My side was Cajun corn, and it was so tasty and different. Husband had two appetizers because he couldn't decide - crab balls (like hushpuppies with crab meat) and bacon oysters. He loved both. He had the scallops for dinner and he said they were just delicious. All food was prepared perfectly. Cooked just right, and flavored delectably. Then the cheesecake - oh my. So different, so yummy. My last comment is on their coffee. I've never had coffee so mellow, smooth, yet full-bodied. It's similar to the chicory coffee served in New Orleans, and Jimmy the owner said he had to search and sample before finding a coffee he would offer in his restaurant. Well, he found it. Thank you to Jimmy, his wife, and his staff for giving us a meal we won't forget.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank LynnM137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cajuncook001, Owner at Seafood Seller & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thanks for the great review its customers like you that keep us going!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 1,118 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

We read about this and are so glad we stopped in for lunch! I won't complain about the wait-everyone knows that if it's busy, there is a good reason for it! The smoked fish dip was spicy and really good. The blackened grouper sandwich was perfect. I do wish they had better crab claws-ours were super hard to eat and had to send them back. The next time we go, we are going in for a couple of pounds of the crawfish! They fly these guys in live a couple times a week, so you know they are not frozen and cooked just like they do in the bayou!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jessehly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cajuncook001, Manager at Seafood Seller & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for the nice review...Certain times when crabs molt their claws can be a little hard to get off the shell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We have eaten here before and called today to make reservations for this evening. We were told that reservations have to be made a day in advance. Have 7 people so we’re not going to wait. Going to Peck’s instead. Very stupid rule.

Thank sprucecreekfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cajuncook001, Manager at Seafood Seller & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Our Stupid rule works for us ..Try calling early next time Thanks have a GREAT DAY!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Everyone had raved about this place so we were excited, but it was my 2nd to least favorite meal while we were visiting Crystal River. We got the gumbo and the cajun quesadillas. They were pretty good. Our server was quite annoying standing over us telling unsolicited stories. I was excited about the beignets, but they were just hard chewy flavorless balls of dough.

1  Thank JGr00ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We were skeptical about this restaurant due to its location in the middle of a shopping center. However, the inside ambience was lively and fun. There are no reservations so come early or prepare to wait! Seafood is great and service excellent! (The fried green tomatoes were awesome)

1  Thank AKY201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cajuncook001, Manager at Seafood Seller & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thanks for your patience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seafood Seller & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Seafood Seller & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing