We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Presentation”
Review of Bocas House - CLOSED

Bocas House
Price range: USD 12 - USD 18
Description: Bocas House is a Latin American Restaurant where you can taste de different flavors from the latino flavors that make Miami a multi cultural experience.
Restaurant details
Description: Bocas House is a Latin American Restaurant where you can taste de different flavors from the latino flavors that make Miami a multi cultural experience.
Reviewed 15 October 2018

An upscale restaurant with a nice ambiance and prices to match but that's not to say that they are unreasonable. Started with the Mixed Ceviche which I thought was very good and more than ample for two people to share. My entree was the 24 Hour Slow Cooked Short Ribs served cut up as bite-size pieces in their own juice. I prefer my short ribs served on the bone but I guess if you slow cook them for 24 hours they just aren't going to stay on the bone. Nevertheless, they were delicious. We had the Golden Milkshake for dessert. Had we realized how big and chocolatey they were we never would have ordered two especially at $20 a pop! They were delicious and a chocoholics dream before having a heart attack or instant diabetes - share one. the restaurant is located in downtown Coral Gables with valet parking out front or you can park in the street or a nearby public garage or lot. This restaurant may not be a regular stop but definitely a nice place for a special occasion or just as a treat.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alanme44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bocas H, Propietario at Bocas House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Hi, Alanme44. Thank you for visiting us. We are glad to know that you liked our food so much. Regarding the prices, we set them based on the quality and quantity of the food that you find in the market. We always use quality products and prepare the dishes at the moment so that everyone has a great gastronomic experience. We're very happy you really enjoy the food you ordered at our House. That's one of our main goals, to make people have the best time when they visit us. Thank you so much for sharing your experience, we hope to have you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2018

Ceviches, steaks and huge dessert shakes! Had a great early dinner here with the wife. Definitely the kind of place you have to visit a few times, so many things on the menu I wanted to try. Definitely try the mac'n cheese appetizer and save room for dessert.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Manny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bocas H, Propietario at Bocas House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Manny! What a pleasure to have your visit, thank you for coming to enjoy a delicious meal and share your experience. We hope you visit us again very soon. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Where do I begin, the food was amazing the macaroni and cheese was beyond belief it's a serving for at least two people and the steak was melt in your mouth. I was hoping to get dessert but we were so full after lunch that we couldn't even dream of ordering anything else. A+++

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Mari V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bocas H, Propietario at Bocas House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Mari! Thank you so much for joining us, we're really glad to know that you were here enjoying our flavors and a good time. We hope to see you soon so you can enjoy our desserts. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

I ate last night the Pesacado a lo Macho. This dish was cold, bland, tasteless. I cook better rice at home. Overpriced....waste of money. Not again. Dessert was good, although again way overpriced for what it been offered..

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bocas H, Propietario at Bocas House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Hi, Roberth. Thank you so much for visiting us, we're so sorry to know that you experience wasn't as good as you expected and we offer you our most sincere apologies. We usually don't receive these kind of comments about our food and we're really worried. Could you please tell us the date and hour of your visit? Do you remember the name of your server? These details will help us to take the corrective measures and improve for you. You can contact us at bocashousesocialmedia@gmail.com. best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

So it’s friday, i needed to relax a bit. While searching for happy hours I saw that bocas has happy hour all day! Their food is great. The tostones rellenos with crab salad and arepas criollas are to die for. The are aren’t that small nor to big. It was enough for the two of us. The drink were delicious too. Especially the sour apple martini the bartender was a sweet heart and helped us with everything. All in all the happy hour is great. Yeah they don’t have a variety of foods but what they do have is delicious.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank taniatrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bocas H, Propietario at Bocas House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Tania, we're so happy to know that you were here! It's a joy to know that you came by our place. It's so good that you liked our food and enjoyed a great time! Our doors will always be open for you. Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bocas House also viewed

 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing