We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our honeymoon at Cocoa Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Discovery Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Cocoa Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our honeymoon at Cocoa Beach”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Let me start off from my first impression. Honestly, I was concerned. The resort looked worn from the outside and not very clean. I thought the lobby smelled. The elevators flat out stunk. I looked at my husband and we sort of exchanged an uh oh look. Still, we had driven all the way to Florida and we were tired and decided to approach with a positive attitude. My first impression of the room was that it was very spacious. I loved the large balcony. We were on the second floor so we could see the ocean and the foliage that seperates the dunes from the hotel property.I will say both of our bathrooms needed help. There was some rust and the fans were super loud. Our bedrooms seemed more updated. The linens and the mattresses seemed new. Our washer and dryer worked but again, rusted. One thing about the resort which I loved were the wild cats. There are wild cats that live in the foliage outside. They are fed by the resort and are protected by the Brevard SPCA. They dont go near you but they are fun to watch. The resort was very close to the ocean and it was nice to hear the waves and be such a short walk from them. We were also pleased that we didnt have to go far at all for groceries. There is a store within walking distance. There were plenty of places to eat on Merrit Island, which is a very short drive. Olive Garden, Carrabas, Outback, Longhorn Steakhouse.. I dont know if we would stay at Discovery again but we did enjoy Cocoa Beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ladybug_91982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    96
    20
    7
    7
See reviews for
124
58
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Our family has been going to Discovery for about 16 years now. We love it! Staff is very friendly. So close to do so much from the pier to Ron Jons to grocery shopping and resturants. We park our car for the week except for the one day we will take a trip to an Orlando park. The views are AMAZING in all the rooms as long as you are above the second floor. Pool side can get a little noisy from kids playing but just open the patio door and hear the ocean instead and you are fine! :) Units are good sized and clean.

Room Tip: Above second floor and away from pool side best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We spent a week. Very accommodating and friendly staff. Units spacious and tidy. Beach just a few meters away. All rooms have ocean front balconies. Convient to shopping places and grocery stores.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My sister and I stayed at the Discovery Beach Resort and had the BEST time! One of our favorite vacation spots to date!
First off, the place is clean,well kept and inviting.Great time of yr to visit, not as crowded and the weather is still good.
The room we had was wonderful. Great view!( the furniture could have been a little more comfy).
Location,Location,Location! Just a SHORT walk to the beach.
We were only 1 hr from Disney/seaworld, etc,which was nice. The activities director ( Maureen) was very helpful and had a variety of activities available at the resort .
The front desk staff were so courteous and helpful, and so friendly.Esp, Veronica and Soliea ( sorry, if i spelled it wrong! )
You could walk to the grocery store, restaurants ,etc. Actually, the restaurant on site was good. Would go back tomorrow!

Room Tip: I feel by being on the 6th floor we had the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tetertina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We enjoyed our stay the view was perfect. You are close to the pier and can see the cruise ship leave and return to port. The rooms are a fair size. Good for a few days at the beach. Restaurants,shops,and grocery stores are real close.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanayoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cocoa Beach hotels
3.6 km away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
0.3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
0.2 km away
Best Western Ocean Beach Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Inn at Cocoa Beach
Inn at Cocoa Beach
#1 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
912 reviews
2.4 km away
Hampton Inn Cocoa Beach/Cape Canaveral
1.8 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Cocoa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Beach Resort

Property: Discovery Beach Resort
Address: 300 Barlow Ave., Cocoa Beach, FL 32931
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cocoa Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Cocoa Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cocoa Beach
Price range (per night): $220 - $408
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Discovery Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Beach Hotel Cocoa Beach
Discovery Beach Cocoa
Discovery Beach Resort Cocoa Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing